User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  0
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: CS3 re-install

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    13 Mar 2008
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    686
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    CS3 re-install

    Looks like I might have to re-install my CS3.

    I need to ensure I keep my actions that I have saved if possible. Going to do some reading but thought I'd pop up a quick question here for a potentially faster answer. Anyone know the quickest way?

    Also anything else I need to think about?
    Michael.

    Camera: Canon EOS 400D w/ Battery Grip (BG-E3)
    Lenses: Sigma 10-20, Sigma 24-70, Canon 50 f/1.8 & Sigma 70-200
    Software: Adobe Photoshop Lightroom 1.4 and Photoshop CS3
    Photos: http://www.flickr.com/photos/mrjorge/

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    09 Aug 2006
    Location
    Echuca
    Posts
    461
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Why do you have to reload CS3? What is the problem you're experiencing?

    An honest C+C please!


    "I started life with nothing and I still have most of it left"

    Nikon D300
    Photoshop CS4 Extended



  3. #3
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    13 Mar 2008
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    686
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Am getting this error and have worked through nearly all the steps without success so far.

    http://kb.adobe.com/selfservice/view...nalId=kb401528

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    09 Aug 2006
    Location
    Echuca
    Posts
    461
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Sorry I can't help you with that. Mine is doing something different, I thought it may have been a similar issue.

  5. #5
    Administrator ricktas's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    15,138
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    All actions (as long as you didnt change the path when installing cs3) are stored in <hard-drive>:/program files/adobe/adobe photoshop cs3/presets/actions

    Just copy them all from there to somewhere else, maybe My Documents/photoshop actions

    Remove and re-install CS3, then copy them back to the above directory. If CS3 is running when you do the copy back, you will need to restart cs3 to make them available.
    "It is one thing to make a picture of what a person looks like, it is another thing to make a portrait of who they are" - Paul Caponigro

    Constructive Critique of my photographs is always appreciated
    Nikon, etc!

    RICK
    My Photography

  6. #6
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    13 Mar 2008
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    686
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks anyway Harves.

    Thanks Rick for the info. Am chasing down a possible solution though...

    #266 on this page is exactly what happens for me too... digging for the minus in my registry as we speak:
    http://www.adobeforums.com/webx?14@@.3bc2542c/266

  7. #7
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    13 Mar 2008
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    686
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yup found a few minus signs at the start of registry entries for the FlexNet service. Removed them all and it works fine now.

    Found a few minus signs around the place. Think the virus/trojan/malware/whatever must have messed with my PC a bit.

  8. #8
    Administrator ricktas's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    15,138
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Glad you sorted it Michael.

  9. #9
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    13 Mar 2008
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    686
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks Rick.

    Still have concerns about the sanctity of my PC at the moment. But cleaned up most of the odd symptoms and done numerous virus scans/malware scans with various products/techniques. Hopefully all is good.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •