PDA

View Full Version : Tripods - what use does yours get

kiwi
15-10-2010, 12:53am
My poor tripod is sooooo lonely, stuck in the boot for months on end. I'm thinking this is sad, its not good, it's not fair on mr manfrotto

Should I feel guilty ?

peterking
15-10-2010, 1:58am
Yes you should.
It needs company.
Get a monopod for it!.
Since meeting Xebadir mine gets a lot of use.

MarkChap
15-10-2010, 2:11am
Not nearly enough, just rolls round behind the front seat of the car, getting scratched and dirty, poor old thing

ricktas
15-10-2010, 7:15am
Mine gets used quite a bit, though I'm a landscaper, not sure why you even own one kiwi! Sport photography isn't really tripod territory.

OzzieTraveller
15-10-2010, 8:13am
G'day kiwi

doing heaps of panos, my tripod does get lots of use
also, doing lots of after dark stuff, the tripod gets lots of use there too
and doing a bit of portraiture, the tripod gets used as well

poor ol' tripod needs a rest 'n a holiday

as an aside --- I find that as I am wandering around with tripod over shoulder, people look at me and often ask 'you a perfessional fotografer mate?'

I answer " 'no' just a bloke enjoying myself "(I don't want to get into a long conversation when the sunset is happening)
Six months or so ago, in Qld, I had a fella with a D90 come up to me and started asking me Qs about his new, straight out of Hardley Normal twin-lens kit, then invited me back to his caravan "coz I got-tha instruction book there - ya can look it up for me"

I smiled, said various things to myself about fools, nodded politely and walked off
Wasn't going to buy into that one
Regards, Phil

Cage
15-10-2010, 8:26am
I use mine 90% of the time which is why I've just lashed out and bought a new carbon fibre model.

It probably won't make me a better photographer, but the lighter weight will allow me to spend more time getting frustrated with my efforts. :confused013:confused013

Cheers

Kevin

kiwi
15-10-2010, 8:32am