PDA

View Full Version : Beginner wanting to learn.

Manda74
01-11-2021, 8:42pm
Hi all I’m a beginner I have a Nikon D500 and I’m in way over my head with this camera. But I want to learn. Any advice would be really welcomed. I love all photography but macro and wildlife is my favourite.

tandeejay
01-11-2021, 9:10pm
Hi Manda, thats a nice camera you've got. That will have plenty of scope for you to grow in your photography journey.

What lenses do you have?
How do you prefer to learn? Some people like YouTube videos, some people like books, some people like being shown. All valid ways of learning.

I'd say which ever is your preferred learning style, learn about the exposure triangle; that is the relationship between ISO (how sensitive is the sensor/film?), Aperture (impacts depth of field by changing how big the hole is that lets light through the lens) and shutter speed (how long the shutter is open and impacts how much any motion in the frame affects the image)

Don't try and learn everything at once, but stick to one or two new concepts and go out and photograph focusing on how the concepts your currently learning affect your end result.

But most important of all, take photos, and then look at those photos you've taken and try and see what you like about the photo and how you might improve it (also taking into consideration the one or two new concepts you are learning about), And if you're not sure if/why a particular photo is good or bad, post it here and ask for advice.

I have a couple of Tom Ang books that I really like. Each chapter is quite short and covers a single topic, and they have an "assignment" where you go out and take photographs based on the content of the chapter.

Also if you can find a local photography club, they can be helpful as well.