PDA

View Full Version : Hello everyone! :)

st87
24-04-2019, 11:19pm
Hey everybody,

My name is Shaun. Nice to meet you all. Ended up here because I heard this was the most active photography forum.

Just a bit about myself: I'm an engineer, so I'm a bit of a techie. I chose photography as one of my high school subjects for all the wrong reasons. I liked the camera more than the art (teacher hated me for that). I liked what goes on in them; the optical physics, the electronics engineering, the telecommunications engineering, the digital signal processing etc.

I would say I understand most (if not all) of the logic and technicals to do with photography, but I feel that I am too 'robotic' and lack creativity as if my right brain is non-existent.
I envy those of you who would just randomly take a stroll and manage to capture pictures that just blow me away. The type that makes me go "whoa... how the heck did you manage to capture so much beauty in an otherwise very ordinary scenario??"

So, when I joined this forum, one of the questions in the registration form was my skill level. And I don't even have any idea how I would rate myself on that one.

Do I know how to use a camera? Yes. Quite well I think. In fact, during my pre-wedding photoshoot, I was making my photographer's job much easier because for the slight adjustments (e.g. power level of an off-camera flash that I was holding), she could actually tell me what she wanted and I would be able to understand and do it for her.
Do I have the ability to capture beauty? No. This is the part where I struggle.

Let's just say I'm someone who can probably tell you how a picture was taken, using what equipment and what settings, what the (artificial) lighting situation was, etc. In fact, I wouldn't be surprised if I can even reproduce the image as well. But, to this day, I wouldn't be able to take an original shot where I actually foresaw the beauty before the shutter release.