PDA

View Full Version : Hey all newb here ;)

Kramertron2000
25-08-2018, 10:23pm
Hey everyone, first post.

Im a total newbie to photography in general. Jumping in the deep end, I got myself an old SLR camera and lens (Nikomat FTn and Nikkor 50mm f/2 lens), and a few rolls of film.

Be interesting to see how my first rolls turn out. Im interested in developing myself as well, but to start with Im just learning how to take good shots.

ameerat42
25-08-2018, 10:38pm
Welcome to AP, Kramerton. I suppose you mean a "Nikkormat FTn..."

Well it's interesting that you bought a film camera, and that you will start by learning to
take good shots. The turnaround time for seeing your results may get to be a bit long.
You'll have to finish the roll, get it developed and printed, and, hope that the results are
good enough to allow you to evaluate your efforts.

Presumably you will wish to post some of your pictures here for evaluation and CC, all to
help with your learning process. That will involve digitising the images somehow, and that
introduces other variables into the process...

Kramertron2000
25-08-2018, 11:00pm
Indeed.

Nikomat is the Japanese name for Nikkormat (mine came from Japan, and has Nikomat on the plate above the lens attachment).

Its just a bit of a hobby really, so turnaround time isnt too big a deal (cost is a bit high though, especially until I start developing the film myself). I do have a point and shoot digital (and my phone of course), and Iv taken many pictures on them over the years, but without any real attention to technique etc.

As for digitizing pictures I have thought about purchasing either a film scanner to at least check which negatives are worth printing (a cheaper one) or a flatbed or better quality second hand film scanner to do that.