PDA

View Full Version : Full Frame Nikon Recommendations?

LittleSparrow
06-01-2015, 1:03pm
Howdy,

I am a Beginner/ Intermediate photographer. I got my first SLR 2 yrs ago and have gone from shooting auto mode to shooting full time manual mode. At the moment, I shoot for hobby only although since my photos have improved I have been asked by friends and family for a photo session. I most photograph my children outdoor and indoor (candid or with studio lighting).
I currently have a Nikon D3100 and use a 35mm 1.8 lens 99% of the time. It has been great to learn on and I love it. But as I improve my skills and start to find my style I'm noticing that the cropped sensor is not working for me. It's great for up close portraits, but I hate having to back up a lot to get more in the frame. I also find i lose a lot of bokeh too. So i'm wanting to upgrade my camera body to a full frame model.
As i said, im beginner/intermediate so all of the nook and crannies of a camera are still quite new to me and i'm still learning, so i'm hoping for some recommendations. I'd like to stick with Nikon, my budget is around $1500 - $2000. Something that is good in low light situations. Can anyone help?

ameerat42
06-01-2015, 1:18pm
Hi and welcome.
The first Q that comes to mind is: Why do you use that lens 99% of the time?

To consider a full frame system on the basis of how you use a lens is an unusual approach.
I would have expected it to be based on perhaps any dissatisfaction with image quality of your present camera.

Presumably, you have other lenses. If so, are they of wider angle. Have you tried them to overcome the limitations you
have mentioned? What other benefits - apart from overcoming the use of that lens problem - do you expect to gain with
a full frame system?

Am.

ricktas
06-01-2015, 1:28pm