PDA

View Full Version : Composition/cropping. For you or us?

Mark L
14-01-2014, 12:11pm
This quote by CAP got me thinking ;
“Thanks for the comments Mark, funny you say that about the portrait crops, I actually have edits cropped this way and personally prefer them.
Haven't posted because they are a lot tighter than most here appreciate.”

It was in response to a cropping suggestion I made.

Do you crop and present your photos in the way you like, or are you influenced by how you think others would like to see them?

Granville
14-01-2014, 12:22pm
I crop and present them in a way that I like them. Then, if someone comes up with a suggestion I think is worth a try, I'll try it. That's why I post in a Constructive Critique forum.
:)
But it will still finally end up how I like it. Not how others like it.

Ionica
14-01-2014, 12:24pm
Generally - the way I like.

ricktas
14-01-2014, 1:17pm
Definitely the way I like them. Often, being a landscaper, I crop to remove stuff on the edges that I did not want in the scene, but using my widey, sometimes you just have to have it in the frame to get the shot, knowing that it will be cropped.

ameerat42
14-01-2014, 1:56pm
Basically, the way I think they look "best" at the time. Then I consider any other opinions given.
Am.

JoPho
14-01-2014, 2:11pm
Crop trying to keep compositional "rules" in mind and to emphasise the important features.
Sometimes it goes out of whack when there's distractional junk in the image.

I quite like cutting off the top of people's heads, but have kept them on, against my better judgement, to please others here.

JJM
14-01-2014, 2:22pm
Always do what I think but I am always open to suggestion.

bowjac
14-01-2014, 9:50pm
I always crop for composition.
I also posted heavily cropped photos, and was critiqued saying that the context was cut out. That person was right, and realised I was in a rut of tight cropping. I probably present a wider variety of images now, as a result.

Glenda
15-01-2014, 8:47am