PDA

View Full Version : Total Beginner, please be kind :)

Debbie
28-06-2013, 11:59pm
Hi Everyone,

I am a total novice to photography. My partner on the other hand has formal training, and a camera permanently attached to him. My 17 year old son has also been bitten by the bug - between them they have some serious Canon equipment, I am usually the photographers assistant, well, I do a bit of editing and hold the spare lenses on the photo hunts :p I love those photo hunts!!

For my birthday this week I was presented with a Samsung NX300 which I am trying to learn, I know it's not a Nikon or a Canon but seems impressive to me, so I look forward to hearing any advice you may have and sharing my 'snaps' with you and to the inspiration I am sure you can give me. I am very interested in macro, black and white and altered images.

Warmest Regards,
Debbie

CandidTown
29-06-2013, 5:56am
I hear that this is a superb camera. Don't be intimidated by the fact that it's not a Canon or Nikon. It can produce images of the same quality as the big toys.
Your first challenge is to find a way to disable all the gimmicks and auto shooting modes. face recognition, blink recognition etc... and take control of your camera. Otherwise it will be the camera which will decide what you shoot and how.
I'm a mirror-less shooter myself who migrated from a big Canon to a Fuji and I can promise you that with my little Fuji I produced some of my best images.
Good luck with your new camera. Im sure you'll have a lot of fun with it.

ricktas
29-06-2013, 6:13am
welcome to AP Debbie. pull up a chair and join right in.

Kym
29-06-2013, 9:15am
:gday: & Welcome
- lets see some photos in the main CC forums (http://www.ausphotography.net.au/forum/forumdisplay.php?5) maybe try a competition or 2 and have fun!

ameerat42
29-06-2013, 9:34am
Hi Debbie. I'll be even kinder: Hang around AP and you'll soon be showing them some ropes - Canon or not.
That's not a bad camera you've got there.
Am.

Mary Anne