PDA

View Full Version : Can anyone recommend a good Camera/Photography Magazine?

jasonmal
10-07-2012, 12:18am
Hi all,

Can anyone out there could recommend a good Photography / Camera Magazine to subscribe too. I am a keen amateur looking to, most importantly, learn but also keep up to speed with the new gadgets / lenses / gear and techniques in the world of photography.

I know of ‘Australian Photography’ and ‘Camera’……I am sure there are heaps of others.

Cheers, Jason.

xxdrakexx
10-07-2012, 12:53am
id also like to know :D

fess67
10-07-2012, 1:04am
ooooohhhhh here is my piece of string....... |___________________________________________________| hmmm how long is that? :rolleyes:

It is a very difficult call because we all like different things. Let me give you an example. I like Better Photoshop Techniques. I was about to subscribe but then they changed the way they did things. I hated it and did not buy a copy for a year (it is a quarterly mag). I looked at it on the shelf but it did not grab me enough to buy it. Funny because I had bought every copy prior to that for the last 2 years. I bought the last copy because it interested me again. I wait in anticipation to see what the next edition will be - will I buy it or will it turn me off?

Hell, I don't know!! What I do know is if I had recommended it to you just before I stopped buying it I would be totally embarassed. I would have recommended something I no longer believed in.

Maybe something like dpreview may be of benefit, maybe, perhaps, maybe.....;)

ricktas
10-07-2012, 7:21am
If all you want to do is be a gearhead then dpreview is the place. Lot of discussion about gear. Whether those discussions are accurate or reflect actually using the gear is sometimes debatable as well.

OH and this site is here for learning how to use your camera and take better photos. It just needs you to join in and start posting some of your photos to get the feedback, assistance and advice.

Ms Monny
10-07-2012, 9:56am