PDA

View Full Version : Hi Everyone!

Cupcake
13-04-2012, 3:26pm
Hi everyone!

I am new to the Forum and i'm just wanting to introduce myself.
I live in Perth Western Australia and i am still in High School
i am a complete amateur with no photography experience whatsoever. :o but everyone has to start somewhere right!
At the moment I don't have an good photography gear, hence the reason for me joining this forum - i need some good advice.
I am looking into buying an entry level slr camera. My budget is not huge but it is pretty decent sized. i've been looking at buying a canon 1100D with a single lens which is available from JB-hifi for about $577 - however it does not come with the image stabilized lens is it still worth it? or am i better off looking somewhere else to get the IS lens with it? or am i better off spending a bit more money and getting the 600D which has some pretty cool features but i don't know if i can get it with the single lens kit or how much more expensive it is?
i am really interested in photography and i am planning on really getting into it.
Would really love some help from the pros!;)

Thanks Cupcake

Kel
13-04-2012, 3:32pm
G'day and welcome to the site

ricktas
13-04-2012, 3:47pm
Welcome to AP.. Pull up a chair and join in.

re Image Stabilisation. This has only been available for the last 10 or so years, photography has been around for nearly 200 years. You don't need IS to take good photos, its just one of those things that, in some circumstances, make it easier, but it certainly isn't a must have.

PaulM
13-04-2012, 3:57pm
Welcome Cupcake. This is a great site and you will learn heaps if you have a thirst for knowledge. Check out the "New to Photography" forum to assist with your decision on a camera

You could also talk to your local camera store and maybe hire various models/brands to find one that suits your needs and budget

Also...check out Check out http://www.dpreview.com/ for reviews on the 1100D and heaps of other cameras