PDA

View Full Version : 2012 National Portrait Prize Winner

Bear Dale
20-03-2012, 10:41am
What's your opinion on the winning photo?

http://www.abc.net.au/news/2012-03-19/actors-image-takes-out-national-portrait-photography-prize/3899438

orientalfox
20-03-2012, 11:01am
Great Image, i had a quick look at it's competition and there is some very nice work in the collection.

Xebadir
20-03-2012, 1:28pm
Pretty flat and average image IMHO - seems like the marketability of an image and the background story on something that can be socially opinionated has dominated the competition rather than the image being a particularly good portrait - The portrait really should not require an accompanying storm but convery something in what it shows.

CapnBloodbeard
20-03-2012, 3:00pm
Absolute crap. The only thing I can think is that there must be something in print that didn't translate to screen.

The image (scroll down for the uncropped image) is as boring as they come. I have some knowledge of the struggles of Jackie Charles, and nothing in his face conveys any of that.

I can't see anything good at all in this image - especially compared to other images there which manage to tell a story while demonstrating just a touch of creativity and technical skill, which this image achieves none of.

Bear Dale
20-03-2012, 3:03pm
It just doesn't do a single thing for me. I don't feel the slightest spark of anything looking at it.

geoffsta
20-03-2012, 4:15pm
The poor bloke looks like a stunned mullet. And excuse the reference, but I have seen better mug shots. As said above, there is no feeling, or story in this image.
But judges are judges, and no-one knows what goes through their minds. :umm:

ricstew
20-03-2012, 9:07pm
I think he is a very white black man in that image.........was this deliberate?
cheers
Jan

Danielle10
20-03-2012, 9:31pm
Ooh, ummm... I do not like it, agree that it is flat and well boring.
It doesn't really show any emotion it just looks like a mug shot

Xenedis