PDA

View Full Version : Website Security

camerasnoop
14-03-2012, 11:33pm
Anybody know how to beat Pixel Grabber in their website coding? I'm on a Zeus Server, so no cPanel Console. People are using Pixel-Grabber to download my right-click protected images.

Xenedis
15-03-2012, 12:29am
Disabling right-clicking is completely ineffective. It's an unquestioably bad attempt at security through obscurity, and would fool only absolute beginners, who are arguably not the kind of people determined to get their hands on your images.

People need to understand that if a Web browser is displaying an image, then it has already downloaded a copy, which is present in its cache, and which can be easily extracted.

Alternatively, anyone viewing your image can simply perform a screen capture.

Some people use Flash to display images, but again a screen capture can easily circumvent that approach.

camerasnoop
15-03-2012, 1:48am
Yes I realise that, but I still like to slow them down a bit. Male 'em work for it. They're cowboys not computer wizards. The images are small and watermarked as well.

Anybody else?

ricktas
15-03-2012, 8:03am
All you need to do is ALT+PrtScr and copy into an editing package to get any photo that displays on your screen. There is no way to stop people getting it, if they want it. Bung a decent size watermark over your photos.

There is no way to stop them, if they really want to. Other than not putting your photos onto the net.

However, does your website software allow you to capture the visitors to the site and what they do? Maybe you can block the IP addresses of the main offenders from accessing your site.

Xenedis
15-03-2012, 10:42am
The only way to avoid having your images used in an unauthorised manner is to refrain from publishing them.

Obviously that undermines the entire point of having an online gallery.