User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  2
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Lightroom Q's

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    17 Aug 2011
    Location
    Thornton
    Posts
    381
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Lightroom Q's

    Howdy all

    As you may have read somewhere over the forums i have recently purchased LR . I have been self teaching but want to learn more.

    I have a few things that i would like to do, i was wondering if anyone could tell me if it were possible to do these in Lightroom (and with an EOS1100d lol)


    • Stitch images together to make a pano.
    • Layer images like they do when shooting star trails.
    • Im also struggling a little with selective colouring.



    Any help, direction, assistance or mockery most welcome


    Wayne.




  2. #2
    Member Rockwallaby's Avatar
    Join Date
    28 Jun 2009
    Location
    **Suburb/Town Required**
    Posts
    2
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Lightroom help

    Hi Wayne,

    You cannot stitch images together within LR, however if you have Photoshop you can from LR by doing this -

    Select images to stitch in the filmstrip
    Go to the "Photo" menu at the top
    Go to "edit in"
    Select "merge to panorama in Photoshop.

    It will open Photoshop so you can stitch away.

    No layers function in LR but doing similar to the panorama you can open Photoshop with each image as a separate layer.

    * removed- see the site rules, in particular 3-7*

    Cheers,
    Ian
    Last edited by ricktas; 01-02-2012 at 6:24am.

  3. #3
    Member Rockwallaby's Avatar
    Join Date
    28 Jun 2009
    Location
    **Suburb/Town Required**
    Posts
    2
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi again Wayne,

    the above reply was my first post here and apparently I have been a naughty boy for posting a helpful link.

    The link was to videos by Julieanne Kost which I have found very helpful in learning LR. I wanted to give you a direct link to her website but that is not allowed, I suggest you do a google for Julieanne Kost.

    Cheers,

  4. #4
    It's all about the Light!
    Tech Admin
    Kym's Avatar
    Join Date
    15 Jun 2008
    Location
    Modbury, Adelaide
    Posts
    9,641
    Mentioned
    18 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    @Rockwallaby -- please refer to the site rules #4
    BTW the reason for that rule is fundamentally anti-spam and also to prevent people either promoting or dissing another site.
    regards, Kym Gallery Honest & Direct Constructive Critique Appreciated! ©
    Digital & film, Bits of glass covering 10mm to 500mm, and other stuff



  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    25 Mar 2010
    Location
    Buderim
    Posts
    1,260
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If you already use pano editing software that's not photoshop, you might be able to create an export profile or alternate external edit profile to export images out to your select editor in a format it understands properly (eg. tiff).

    Also newer versions of AutoPano Giga contain an export profile which will take the images over to AutoPano for you. I can't give specific help at the moment as I'm not on a computer with LightRoom - if you want more details on how to do either of the above just shout and I'll type it out.

    As Ian said above, Pano and Layering ability is not present natively. You could simulate layering with the adjustment brushes, by painting the same area with multiple brushes to give the effect/s you want. Note however this only applies to the local adjustment brushes, no other tools have this ability.

    Selective colouring works by a similar process. Use an adjustment brush, set the saturation slider to -100 and paint around what you want to remain in colour. It's a bit clunky but gets the job done.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    12 Feb 2008
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    7,831
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Wayne, check out the Lightroom plugins available.

    I'll make it easy re selective colouring - just dont :-)
    Darren
    Gear : Nikon Goodness
    Website : http://www.peakactionimages.com
    Please support Precious Hearts
    Constructive Critique of my images always appreciated

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    31 Oct 2008
    Location
    Edithvale, Victoria
    Posts
    11
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi Wyane,

    As stated above you can not stitch or have layers in Lightroom. There is a plugin call Perfect Layers which is the only way to have layers in Lightroom. The best way to stitch is within photoshop.

    Regards, Andrew

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •