User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  3
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: PhotoShop CS4 doesn't recognise this type of file....??

  1. #1
    Member Chimbu's Avatar
    Join Date
    28 Dec 2011
    Location
    Penrith / Sydney
    Posts
    166
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    PhotoShop CS4 doesn't recognise this type of file....??

    This message popped up when I tried opening an image (eg. labelled as : IMG_3085.CR2) shot in RAW with my Canon G10. Note, it opens with 'Digital Photo Professional' (a software program that came with the G10) but I want to process my digitalised old 35mm colour slides using PhotoShop instead. A possible solution would be greatly appreciated.
    Cheers, Ross.

  2. #2
    Ausphotography Regular Brigitte's Avatar
    Join Date
    28 May 2011
    Location
    Eastern Suburbs
    Posts
    989
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Not sure if this will help but my Nikon D7000 raw files are not recognised by Photoshop CS3. The work around for me was to down load the free DNG converter from Microsoft. Use this to convert the files to DNG format and they should then open in Photoshop. Hope it works.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    30 Oct 2006
    Location
    Bris Vegas
    Posts
    1,102
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    yeah... the newer cameras are not supported by the raw editor in CS4 the updated version which will do those raws will only work with CS5

    sadly you have to upgrade...

    M
    www.pbase.com/mcphotographics loooots of pictures!
    hmmm Eq list... 1D II, 5D II, 7D, 100-400 LIS F4.5-5.6, 70-200 F2.8L, 135 F2, 85 F1.8, 24-70 F2.8L, 16-35 F2.8L, 420EX, 580EX II x2 ST-E2 Cir polar filters and much much more all in a neat back pack that kills my back!

    Adobe CS5
    Week 16 Sheep Winner
    If you have a question about car / action / sports photography or Canon Cameras PM me...

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    09 Nov 2009
    Location
    Kalgoorlie
    Posts
    1,153
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    What version is your ACR? I read that the G10 has been supported since version 5.2

    Check if it is up to date.

  5. #5
    Arch-Σigmoid Ausphotography Regular ameerat42's Avatar
    Join Date
    18 Sep 2009
    Location
    Nthn Sydney
    Posts
    16,821
    Mentioned
    21 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Dunno if you can get a plug-in for that camera and CS4. NO program will (easily) read my Sigma X3F files, so if I really need to PP them more than the raw converter does I save them out at max 16-bit tiffs and then use CS2 Photoshop. The X3Fs are 12-bit raws, so they "fit" well into 16-bit tiffs.
    Am.

    PS. I just read Clubmanc's closing comment, and -ILY, you won't have to upgrade to CS5.
    Last edited by ameerat42; 27-01-2012 at 5:38pm.
    CC, Image editing OK.

  6. #6
    Ausphotography Regular agb's Avatar
    Join Date
    15 Sep 2010
    Location
    Cleveland
    Posts
    825
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Clubmanmc View Post
    yeah... the newer cameras are not supported by the raw editor in CS4 the updated version which will do those raws will only work with CS5

    sadly you have to upgrade...

    M
    Or you could download the Adobe DNG converter, which is free, convert the CR2 to DNG and then that will open in CS4 .
    The age of entitlement isn't over, it's just over there where you can't get to it.
    When several possibilities exist, the simplest solution is the best.
    "There are no rules" Bruce Barnbaum, The art of Photography
    Graham


  7. #7
    Ausphotography Veteran
    Join Date
    08 Nov 2009
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    3,303
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It sounds as though your raw file format is newer than the version of ACR that comes with CS4.

    I run CS4, and when I've had to reinstall it, I've needed to run an update to bring the various software elements (including ACR) up to the latest version (for that software) to support the raw files from my Canon EOS 5D Mark II.

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    09 Nov 2009
    Location
    Kalgoorlie
    Posts
    1,153
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Xenedis View Post
    It sounds as though your raw file format is newer than the version of ACR that comes with CS4.

    I run CS4, and when I've had to reinstall it, I've needed to run an update to bring the various software elements (including ACR) up to the latest version (for that software) to support the raw files from my Canon EOS 5D Mark II.
    and from what I read the G10 was supported in the same update that brought in support for the 5D2. Worth exploring.

  9. #9
    Ausphotography Veteran
    Join Date
    08 Nov 2009
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    3,303
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by fess67 View Post
    and from what I read the G10 was supported in the same update that brought in support for the 5D2. Worth exploring.
    The version of ACR which shipped with CS4 does not support the raw files from the Canon EOS 5D Mark II.

    The version to which I upgraded (v5.7.0.213) does support them.

    As far as I know, only ACR v5.x will work with CS4; you cannot upgrade to ACR v6.x with CS4.

  10. #10
    Member
    Threadstarter
    Chimbu's Avatar
    Join Date
    28 Dec 2011
    Location
    Penrith / Sydney
    Posts
    166
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    A sincere thanks to all for your very much appreciated replies - problem solved following the related download and installation of the Adobe Camera Raw 5.2 update. Fantastic.
    Cheers, Ross.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •