User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  3
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 21

Thread: 60d off camera flash and Hi Sync HELP

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    10 Nov 2010
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    595
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    60d off camera flash and Hi Sync HELP

    Ok so im trying to photograph moving water and I want to freeze it and use off camera flash with my 60D and 580 exii.

    I want to use a shutter speed of 1/500 but not sure if I can do hi sync wirelessly. is that correct??
    "I press buttons and hope for the best!"
    Check out my Flickr page


  2. #2
    A royal pain in the bum! arthurking83's Avatar
    Join Date
    04 Jun 2006
    Location
    the worst house, in the best street
    Posts
    7,927
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Does the Canon do native wireless flash, or is this via a third party wireless device?
    This may be a question that the external Canon lighting gurus may need to know before they reply.

    If you are having issues with doing this, and it's via a thirdparty device, the brand and model of device is going to be important.

    Just a suggestion for while you wait for a correct answer.
    Have you set the camera to 1/XXXs FP mode?
    Nikon D800E, D300, D70s
    {Nikon} -> 50/1.2 : 500/8(CPU'd) : 105/2.8VR Micro : 180/2.8ais : 105mm f/1.8ais : 24mm/2ais
    {Sigma}; ->10-20/4-5.6 : 50/1.4 : 12-24/4.5-5.6II : 150-600mm|S
    {Tamron}; -> 17-50/2.8 : 28-75/2.8 : 70-200/2.8 : 300/2.8 SP MF : 24-70/2.8VC


  3. #3
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    10 Nov 2010
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    595
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'm just using the flash and the camera no third party bit. The 60d can trigger the speed lights wirelessly but It won't let me go above the cameras sync speed of 1/250.

    Sorry what's fp?

  4. #4
    A royal pain in the bum! arthurking83's Avatar
    Join Date
    04 Jun 2006
    Location
    the worst house, in the best street
    Posts
    7,927
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Sorry maybe Nikonspeak.

    Hi speed sync mode.
    ( I'm not 100% sure but I think the FP stands for Focal Plane .. dunno, I'm still a bit of a flash noob myself)

    Have you found the menu setting to enable this.

    it'd be somewhere in the menu where you set all manner of flash variables.

    If you find the option to set sync speed for flash in the camera's menu, it should be there for [Hi Speed] mode as well.
    Some manufacturers may limit the sync speed on thirdparty devices, simply for the purpose of facilitating users in making an easier choice when purchasing external flash gear!

    Nikon's using Nikon external flashes work very well with at high speed modes(if the camera is capable of doing so).

  5. #5
    In Training MarkChap's Avatar
    Join Date
    09 Jan 2008
    Location
    Widgee, Queensland
    Posts
    2,241
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Danielle, NO, you can't, the onboard or built in wireless controll on Canon will not let you do High Speed Sync.
    If you want HSS you will have to have a 580 on camera s the master and a second flash, 580/430 of camera as the slave
    Smoke Alarms Save Lives, Install One Today
    I shoot Canon
    Cheers, Mark


  6. #6
    A royal pain in the bum! arthurking83's Avatar
    Join Date
    04 Jun 2006
    Location
    the worst house, in the best street
    Posts
    7,927
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Aha! finally!

    what took you so long

    anyhow, I just assumed that it was like a Nikon(which does) .. so if it definitely can't do HiSpeed wireless sync, does that mean a third party wireless device is required if a 580EX is too much of an expense?
    Do Canon have an equivalent to the Nikon SU800, which is an IR emitting device to signal flash commands wirelessly.

    Just tested the D300 with built in flash as commander and SB800 and it does up to 1/8000s without any trouble .. apart from absolute flash power limitations from the SB800.

  7. #7
    are you serious? Shelley's Avatar
    Join Date
    09 Nov 2008
    Location
    Secret Harbour
    Posts
    4,403
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I am interested in if I can get hi speed on my studio lights - I have been using my 580 exII with success, but not my studio lights. I am a little frustrated with this.
    Shelley
    (constructive criticism welcome)

    www.shelleypearsonphotography.com


  8. #8
    are you serious? Shelley's Avatar
    Join Date
    09 Nov 2008
    Location
    Secret Harbour
    Posts
    4,403
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Also Danielle, I highly recommend Sly Arena "Speedliter's Handbook" - its specifically aimed at canon speedlights. I have learn't so much from this book.

  9. #9
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    10 Nov 2010
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    595
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by MarkChap View Post
    Danielle, NO, you can't, the onboard or built in wireless controll on Canon will not let you do High Speed Sync.
    If you want HSS you will have to have a 580 on camera s the master and a second flash, 580/430 of camera as the slave
    Thanks mark figured as much, just wanted to check if it's something I was doing wrong.

    Bloody Nikon Arthur

  10. #10
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    10 Nov 2010
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    595
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Shelley View Post
    Also Danielle, I highly recommend Sly Arena "Speedliter's Handbook" - its specifically aimed at canon speedlights. I have learn't so much from this book.
    Sounds great Shelley, cheers

  11. #11
    In Training MarkChap's Avatar
    Join Date
    09 Jan 2008
    Location
    Widgee, Queensland
    Posts
    2,241
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Shelley View Post
    Also Danielle, I highly recommend Sly Arena "Speedliter's Handbook" - its specifically aimed at canon speedlights. I have learn't so much from this book.
    Shelley, you won't/can't get HSS with your studio lights

    Sent from my GT-P1000T using Tapatalk

  12. #12
    In Training MarkChap's Avatar
    Join Date
    09 Jan 2008
    Location
    Widgee, Queensland
    Posts
    2,241
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yes Arthur Canon have the ST-E2, but it is an over priced piece of [so]jun[/so] equipment, and I don't think it allows HSS either

    Sent from my GT-P1000T using Tapatalk

  13. #13
    are you serious? Shelley's Avatar
    Join Date
    09 Nov 2008
    Location
    Secret Harbour
    Posts
    4,403
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks Mark and that is one of the reasons Sly Arena stays with speed lights - high speed, which you cannot get with studio lights. I watched a great two hour presentation by him on YouTube.

  14. #14
    In Training MarkChap's Avatar
    Join Date
    09 Jan 2008
    Location
    Widgee, Queensland
    Posts
    2,241
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Shelley View Post
    Thanks Mark and that is one of the reasons Sly Arena stays with speed lights - high speed, which you cannot get with studio lights. I watched a great two hour presentation by him on YouTube.
    And the link to that is ?

  15. #15
    Member
    Join Date
    26 Aug 2010
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    252
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Danielle10 View Post
    I want to use a shutter speed of 1/500 but not sure if I can do hi sync wirelessly. is that correct??
    High speed sync on the 60D is up to 1/250, you won't get it to do 1/500, wireless or otherwise.
    It's the duration of the flash that'll freeze the water anyway, not the shutter speed.
    Mark

    Canon 70D w/Grip l Canon 60D w/Grip l EF 100-400 f4.5-5.6L IS USM l EF 70-200 f4L IS USM l EF-S 15-85 f3.5-5.6 IS USM l EF 100 f2.8 USM Macro l EF-S 18-55 f3.5-5.6 IS STM l EF 50 f1.8 II l Canon EF-S 10-22 f3.5-4.5 USM l 430 EX II Flash l Rode Stereo VideoMic l Manfrotto 055XPROB + 498RC2 Tripod l Benro MP-96 M8 Monopod l Lowepro Vertex 200 AW Backpack l Lowepro Pro Runner 300 AW Backpack l PS CS5 Extended l Lightroom 4.3

  16. #16
    In Training MarkChap's Avatar
    Join Date
    09 Jan 2008
    Location
    Widgee, Queensland
    Posts
    2,241
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by unistudent1962 View Post
    High speed sync on the 60D is up to 1/250, you won't get it to do 1/500, wireless or otherwise.
    It's the duration of the flash that'll freeze the water anyway, not the shutter speed.
    Yeah, um, no, you can get HSS up to 1/8000 of a sec on a Canon, with a 580 or a 430 on cmaera, or with a 580 on camera as a master you can then control either a 580 or a 430 off camera remotly at upto 1/8000 of a sec HSS

  17. #17
    are you serious? Shelley's Avatar
    Join Date
    09 Nov 2008
    Location
    Secret Harbour
    Posts
    4,403
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Sorry Mark - the link is here and its presented by B&H

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hk7IR...ature=youtu.be

    I have been practising a lot of flash control, referring to Sly's books and I watched this today - I now understand flashes how canon works. It helped that I had some prior knowledge of the flashes - he really is a good speaker.

  18. #18
    are you serious? Shelley's Avatar
    Join Date
    09 Nov 2008
    Location
    Secret Harbour
    Posts
    4,403
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by unistudent1962 View Post
    High speed sync on the 60D is up to 1/250, you won't get it to do 1/500, wireless or otherwise.
    It's the duration of the flash that'll freeze the water anyway, not the shutter speed.
    On your speedlight you select hi-speed (zoom button on the 580exII or on camera menu shutter sync - select hi speed - you then can use shutterspeeds higher than the usual speed light restrictions eg. 1/250 on the 60d. As Mark said re: shutter speed. Its brilliant for controlling light outside - something I am practising.

  19. #19
    In Training MarkChap's Avatar
    Join Date
    09 Jan 2008
    Location
    Widgee, Queensland
    Posts
    2,241
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Shelley View Post
    On your speedlight you select hi-speed (zoom button on the 580exII or on camera menu shutter sync - select hi speed - you then can use shutterspeeds higher than the usual speed light restrictions eg. 1/250 on the 60d. As Mark said re: shutter speed. Its brilliant for controlling light outside - something I am practising.
    Actually Shelley the HSS button is the 3rd button from the left, it allows you to choose either HSS or second curtain sync (which is only active at less than 1/30), the zoom button doubles up as the wireless funtion button, to turn wireless on and off

  20. #20
    are you serious? Shelley's Avatar
    Join Date
    09 Nov 2008
    Location
    Secret Harbour
    Posts
    4,403
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    , oops your right - sorry about that - I think I will be using camera menu mostly as Sly showed this in his presentation - its pretty good.

    Forgot to say still "in training".

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •