User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  2
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Resizing for Ap or Web - without losing details or quality? Compress or resize? Help needed.

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    20 Dec 2011
    Location
    Labrador Gold Coast
    Posts
    873
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Resizing for Ap or Web - without losing details or quality? Compress or resize? Help needed.

    Hi All

    Can someone please help me and tell me how to resize to maintain quality.

    When I try to resize by reducing pixels ( 4288 down to 1024 example) my photo seems to shrink dramatically on the screen and then quality seems lost ( and at beginners stage I need to keep all I can!) And then worst I still hold 400+ kbs as the size.

    How does one maitain a good pic with in small sizing? Like for loading here to AP...250kb with 1024 max.....Compress ? But then it seems so tiny...


    any help appreciated

    cheers

    K



    Pentax K-r
    Da 15mm & 70mm Ltds, Fa 35mm f2, F 50mm f1.7
    Da*200mm, Tamron 90mm Macro, Sigma 28-105 f2.8
    _______________________________________________
    ***cc welcomed and appreciated***



  2. #2
    Arch-Σigmoid Ausphotography Regular ameerat42's Avatar
    Join Date
    18 Sep 2009
    Location
    Nthn Sydney
    Posts
    16,814
    Mentioned
    21 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Kerrie.
    What program are you using to do the re-sizing? Waht What steps in that program?

    Have you seen this library article?
    Am.
    Last edited by ameerat42; 28-12-2011 at 10:12pm.
    CC, Image editing OK.

  3. #3
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    20 Dec 2011
    Location
    Labrador Gold Coast
    Posts
    873
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi ameerat

    Im using gimp to pp.....I have windows pic manager too and I can compress to web on that, but it shrinks it tiny.

    Does gimp have a feature similar to the article you mentioned ( I read it). I don't see those drop downs when save it just asks quality.

    I guess I can make a new image and choose the sizing there.....my concern is that it seems to lose my pic detail..or is that just my perception and all pic o. Here are the same size?

    Cheers for your help

  4. #4
    Administrator ricktas's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    15,643
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    any resizing is going to affect quality. You are taking pixels away when you reduce from 4000 to 1000. Its just a fact of the way resizing works.
    "It is one thing to make a picture of what a person looks like, it is another thing to make a portrait of who they are" - Paul Caponigro

    Constructive Critique of my photographs is always appreciated
    Nikon, etc!

    RICK
    My Photography

  5. #5
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    20 Dec 2011
    Location
    Labrador Gold Coast
    Posts
    873
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Got it. Thanks Rick.

  6. #6
    Arch-Σigmoid Ausphotography Regular ameerat42's Avatar
    Join Date
    18 Sep 2009
    Location
    Nthn Sydney
    Posts
    16,814
    Mentioned
    21 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I have Gimp 2.6 installed just for..., and it has similar features, though not as comprehensive as those of Photoshop.
    Below are two screen shots of how to do it using Gimp. It does not have a Bi-cubic option, only Cubic (whatever that equates to), but that would be the optimum for most "re-scaling", or re-sizing. Furthermore, you have to apply your own sharpening afterwards. Use "Unsharp Mask", settings not exceeding those shown.

    The image used went from 5000+ pixels to 1024 pixels. I'm not too pleased with the subsequent sharpening results.

    You'll find the Unsharp Mask under the Filters menu.
    Am.

    1. Re-scaling using Gimp
    Gimp-1.jpg

    2. Unsharp Mask using Gimp
    Gimp-2.jpg

    I agree with what Rick said, you lose image quality. It would be better if you could link your pictures from a hosting site, like Flickr, though I use Skydrive, where they are only slightly reduced in size.

  7. #7
    Member Puzz1e's Avatar
    Join Date
    26 Dec 2011
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    52
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    There is a reason why the file size smaller when you compress. It will always be a trade off between file size and acceptable quality.

  8. #8
    Ausphotography Regular bobt's Avatar
    Join Date
    22 Jun 2009
    Location
    Blackburn
    Posts
    1,724
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If you'd like a very easy re-sizing program that's free, go here.

    http://www.####es.com/ezthumbs/

    I've been using it for years, and I enter competitions with images re-sized using this software, and it's always worked well. You can choose the image dimensions and overall resolution quite easily.

    Edit ... I just noticed that the software here has found this web address offensive, so if you replace the #### with f o o k (no spaces) it should work.

    (Sheesh ...... what the ####s wrong with the world!) 8*)
    Last edited by bobt; 29-12-2011 at 10:09am. Reason: the software censored my web address!

  9. #9
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    20 Dec 2011
    Location
    Labrador Gold Coast
    Posts
    873
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thank you sooooo much guys! I will give it a go on gimp and see what I get

    AP stands for Awesome People

  10. #10
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    20 Dec 2011
    Location
    Labrador Gold Coast
    Posts
    873
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks Am....really appreciate your help on this

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •