User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  1
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: In camera flash control

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    04 Dec 2010
    Location
    Bayside, Brisbane
    Posts
    328
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    In camera flash control

    Hi Folks,
    I am venturing into the world of strobe and have 1 x SB700.
    You know how you can control the flash output from the camera, well can I do this with any of the 3rd party flash units floating about?
    I only ask this because I want another couple of speedlights but its friggin' hard finding used SB600, 700, etc at reasonable prices.
    Fred
    Fred
    D600, D300, D5100, F100
    Sigma 50mm f/1.4; Sigma 24-70 f/2.8; Sigma 70-200mm f/2.8; Nikon 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6 VR.
    3 X Nikon SB-700 Speedlights; Battery Grip; Manfrotto 679B Monopod

  2. #2
    In Training MarkChap's Avatar
    Join Date
    09 Jan 2008
    Location
    Widgee, Queensland
    Posts
    2,241
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Fredo, yeah, no

    The cheaper units normally don't have the built in proprietary wireless system.
    You can try the new Sigma EF610 DG Super - has to be the super model though, they will work on the Canon system, and I think they run with the Nikon as well.
    Some of the Nissen models I think also claim to work with the built in wireles.

    Ahhh, one last thought, have a look at the YN-565 from Yongnuo, they claim it will work with the Canon, never investigated the Nikon
    Smoke Alarms Save Lives, Install One Today
    I shoot Canon
    Cheers, Mark


  3. #3
    Member Tommo1965's Avatar
    Join Date
    03 Oct 2010
    Location
    Perth Hills Mundaring
    Posts
    1,028
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    not sure Fred..but the SB 700 can be had for $325 from DWI.. that's the best price ive seen and generally better than most used prices.

    if you want to use three flashes using the CLS on the D300, you wont be able to control the output separately on all of them, as you can only control A & B using the camera..another route might be a cheaper radio trigger and some cheap basic flashes

  4. #4
    Moderately Underexposed I @ M's Avatar
    Join Date
    04 May 2007
    Location
    Marlo, Far East Gippsland
    Posts
    4,899
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Fred,
    my recommendation would be to use 3rd party flashes and wireless triggers with everything set to manual control.
    One or two more flashes and a set of trigger / receivers will cost substantially less than the genuine flash units and will allow you to gain a better understanding of lighting and ratios etc.
    After all, the majority of studio work is done that way, just with different monobloc heads. Once you have an understanding of controlling the lights and using them creatively I feel that you will ultimately get better results than the semi "auto" approach that the Nikon system gives even though it is a very handy way of doing off camera flash work outdoors or when you don't have a "studio" environment.

    Have a look through the yongnuo range of speedlights, modifiers and triggers at site sponsor Protog, Hypop and Fotogenic for starters to get an idea of what is available and pricing.

    http://www.ausphotography.net.au/for...te-Advertisers
    Andrew
    Nikon, Fuji, Nikkor, Sigma, Tamron, Tokina and too many other bits and pieces to list.



  5. #5
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    04 Dec 2010
    Location
    Bayside, Brisbane
    Posts
    328
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks Blokes.
    I will be using them in manual but its the idea of being able to change output settings of the flash, from the camera, that appeals to me.
    Fred
    Last edited by Fredo; 10-12-2011 at 9:52am.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    12 Feb 2008
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    7,831
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    you can two flashes via the sb-800 for example, or three I think using the su-800

    I would think that the new Pocket Wizards with ETTL would be able to manage multiple as well
    Darren
    Gear : Nikon Goodness
    Website : http://www.peakactionimages.com
    Please support Precious Hearts
    Constructive Critique of my images always appreciated

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    14 Jul 2009
    Location
    NorthWest
    Posts
    723
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    you could use your sb 700 as master and run some Metz 50 af1's as slaves. the metz are good flashes, at least equal to the nikons, they support i-ttl etc. and i've seen them for as low as $245 grey, so why buy cheap manual only flash + radio controllers, which would end up costing more than a quality metz unit
    Successful People Make Adjustments - Evander Holyfield

  8. #8
    Account Closed Wayne's Avatar
    Join Date
    07 Dec 2009
    Location
    Eastside
    Posts
    1,639
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by kiwi View Post
    you can two flashes via the sb-800 for example, or three I think using the su-800

    I would think that the new Pocket Wizards with ETTL would be able to manage multiple as well
    Yes 3 groups with the SU-800, also see if the SB-700 does the same as master on camera, although that eats up one of your off camera strobes and is a bit of a waste to use it as master. I own a fleet of SB-900's and so not sure what the SB-700 can do as master. I also have the Pocket Wizard MiniTT1 and FlexTT5 units which give remote power control using FEC, and further control over separate strobe units on different groups can be had by adding the AC3 on top of the MiniTT1 in the hot shoe.

    There are plenty of SB-600's used on the US market for sub-US$200 in excellent cond, which I would have thought cheap enough...

    If you want to play with the Pocket Wizard gear, let me know and I can meet up with you in Bris at some point and you can see how good they are.

  9. #9
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    04 Dec 2010
    Location
    Bayside, Brisbane
    Posts
    328
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Very generous offer Wayne.
    I do have 4 X Yongnuo triggers on their way but thanks for the offer.
    Found a couple of Yongnuo 560's for about $50 each but the seller is mucking me around.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •