User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  5
Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Nikon D5100

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    19 Oct 2011
    Location
    Stratford
    Posts
    51
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Nikon D5100

    The man in the red suit has my D5100 wrapped up ... and hidden awayHello Dug, we'll have to go out for a shoot in the new year
    Last edited by Banjo; 04-12-2011 at 12:49pm.
    Cheers
    Banjo

    D5100, AF-S 18 105, AF-S 10 24.

  2. #2
    A. P's Culinary Indiscriminant mongo's Avatar
    Join Date
    21 Mar 2009
    Location
    Cronulla, Sydney
    Posts
    8,592
    Mentioned
    12 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Glad Santa is bringing you something. Mongo thinks he as been bad again this year and is not on his list. Mongo had thought about a 5100 and probably would have bought one except that they do not function sufficiently with older Ai and AI-s lenses which Mongo still likes to use often.

    BTW - just slip Santa Mongo's address anyway. If Mongo cannot get a present, he can at least taste his reindeer.
    Last edited by mongo; 04-12-2011 at 4:50pm.
    Nikon and Pentax user



  3. #3
    Administrator ricktas's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    15,605
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    I've been naughty this year too, Mongo, but by god, it was worth it...hehehe

    Enjoy the 5100 banjo!
    "It is one thing to make a picture of what a person looks like, it is another thing to make a portrait of who they are" - Paul Caponigro

    Constructive Critique of my photographs is always appreciated
    Nikon, etc!

    RICK
    My Photography

  4. #4
    Member Crystal's Avatar
    Join Date
    03 Dec 2011
    Location
    Narrabri
    Posts
    63
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I got mine last week for my birthday.... I love it. (no idea what I'm doing with it yet though!)
    I took a photo of my Christmas tree, and when I zoom in I can see my reflection in one of the baubles! Big improvement on my iPhone 3GS camera!

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    08 Oct 2010
    Location
    Greenwich
    Posts
    1,708
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You'll enjoy the 5100 Banjo.

    Do you know why Santa Claus is such a happy guy?

    Because he knows where all the bad girls live!

    If I'm lucky, I might get a kiss from my wife for Xmas...................................
    Guess I haven't been naughty enough!
    All my photos are taken with recycled pixels.
    Knowledge is knowing that a tomato is a fruit.
    Wisdom, is knowing not to serve it in a fruit salad.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    10 Dec 2011
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    100
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Greetings all

    I recently got a 5100 and was wondering if anyone had tried to fit older lenses on the body. I have an AI-S lens and a pre 1970 lens and while they both fit, the shutter does not release. I have seen info on the net saying that they should work. Any one else with the same experience?

  7. #7
    Administrator ricktas's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    15,605
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by CarmineD View Post
    Greetings all

    I recently got a 5100 and was wondering if anyone had tried to fit older lenses on the body. I have an AI-S lens and a pre 1970 lens and while they both fit, the shutter does not release. I have seen info on the net saying that they should work. Any one else with the same experience?
    What mode are you trying to use (on the camera), you need to be in complete manual mode

  8. #8
    A. P's Culinary Indiscriminant mongo's Avatar
    Join Date
    21 Mar 2009
    Location
    Cronulla, Sydney
    Posts
    8,592
    Mentioned
    12 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by ricktas View Post
    What mode are you trying to use (on the camera), you need to be in complete manual mode

    and it is possible that you will have to manually meter the light reading ?? - other than that, it should work Mongo thinks (but has not tried it himself). The spec sheet should tell all if you have got one . Look under "non-cpu lenses"

  9. #9
    Ausphotography Regular J.davis's Avatar
    Join Date
    17 Dec 2008
    Location
    Willowbank
    Posts
    1,142
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Make sure tha lenses are set to their smallest apeture (ie F22) or the camera won't recognise them.
    Regards
    John
    Nikon D750, Sigma 105mm OS Macro, Tokina 16-28 F2.8, Sigma 24-105 Art, Sigma 150-600C,
    Benro Tripod and Monopod with Arca plates

  10. #10
    A royal pain in the bum! arthurking83's Avatar
    Join Date
    04 Jun 2006
    Location
    the worst house, in the best street
    Posts
    8,164
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by J.davis View Post
    Make sure tha lenses are set to their smallest apeture (ie F22) or the camera won't recognise them.
    This is only for CPU lenses.

    For full manual lenses, you choose the aperture via the aperture ring on the lens.

    Camera needs to be set to manual aperture value needs to be set prior to shooting and shutter speed needs to be set by the operator to a value that gives a good exposure.

    Exposure meter in the camera won't work, so as Mongo said, you have to predict the exposure.

    Easy as, just get a reference reading via a cpu'ed lens to begin with so you have a rough starting point.

    Note that I've noticed that (in general), most older ais type lenses are brighter than current kit lenses.
    That is, if you only have kit lenses to play with, and you mount an ais lens after your reference meter reading, you may find that your ais lenses may be as much as 1 stop faster.

    There are models higher up in the product range that allow the user to set manual lens info into the camera and this allows most of the usual functions to work properly.
    I think this now begins with the D7000 body, and all the pro bodies offer this feature.
    Nikon D800E, D300, D70s
    {Nikon} -> 50/1.2 : 500/8(CPU'd) : 105/2.8VR Micro : 180/2.8ais : 105mm f/1.8ais : 24mm/2ais
    {Sigma}; ->10-20/4-5.6 : 50/1.4 : 12-24/4.5-5.6II : 150-600mm|S
    {Tamron}; -> 17-50/2.8 : 28-75/2.8 : 70-200/2.8 : 300/2.8 SP MF : 24-70/2.8VC


  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    10 Dec 2011
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    100
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks all, you were all correct. Now that I have had a bit of time with the camera, when you fit the lens you get prompted to hit the ? button. When you press it, it tells you that you can only use it in M mode. Now I have to find an easy way to get an exposure reading, let you know what i come up with.

  12. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    09 Nov 2009
    Location
    Kalgoorlie
    Posts
    1,153
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by mongo View Post
    If Mongo cannot get a present, he can at least taste his reindeer.
    Talk to Kiwi - I think his kid is done with santa, maybe he will divert the reindeer!!

  13. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    08 Oct 2010
    Location
    Greenwich
    Posts
    1,708
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Or you can just buy an old light-meter.
    There must be hundreds of old, used ones around.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •