User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  2
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: How to reduce noise??

  1. #1
    Member fairy bombs's Avatar
    Join Date
    10 Sep 2009
    Location
    south east QLD,Australia
    Posts
    377
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    How to reduce noise??

    Hello

    Looking for some help,re PP,I mainly use CS5 sometimes DPP.

    I am not at good at PP. I usually open up RAW and adjust temp,then may be recovery slider,then clarity
    and vibrance adjust.

    The into layers-Levels seems to make quite a bit of difference for a small movement of slider.then may be
    some curves.

    I the flattern image and adjust in un sharp mask.Then crop .

    See first image in this link,for a basic attempt (the image was not the best,but its a hard to capture hawk)

    http://www.ausphotography.net.au/for...rhoecesphalus)

    There is a noise reduction feature in CS 5 but nor sure how to set it,I got some information on settings for
    un sharp mask-and its seems good (from a bird tut forum)

    I have 'neat image' it does help,but it really reduces the size of file,and changes colour very slightly)

    Starting to learn and use masks-which I am told really helps.

    Any links to tuts on masking or reducing noise levels,would be most helpful.

    Thanks
    Canon 50D and 450D - Canon 10-22 F3.5-5.6, 17-55 F2.8 L, 70-200 F2.8 L, 400 prime F5.6 L, 60mm F2.8 macro, EX 430 Flash,and all sorts of other bits and pieces

  2. #2
    Sunrise Chaser
    Join Date
    10 Jul 2010
    Location
    Gold Coast
    Posts
    6,346
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I use this Plug in to CS5 : http://www.imagenomic.com/nwpg.aspx There is a stand alone free community version as well : Here : http://www.imagenomic.com/download_nwsa.aspx
    Last edited by William; 27-11-2011 at 1:24pm.
    Canon : 30D, and sometimes the 5D mkIII , Sigma 10-20, 50mm 1.8, Canon 24-105 f4 L , On loan Sigma 120-400 DG and Canon 17 - 40 f4 L , Cokin Filters




  3. #3
    Ausphotography Regular agb's Avatar
    Join Date
    15 Sep 2010
    Location
    Cleveland
    Posts
    817
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You could do some noise reduction in Camera Raw first.
    Damien Symonds has good information on how to do it here
    http://damiensymonds.blogspot.com/20...reduction.html
    and you could also read this.
    http://damiensymonds.blogspot.com/20...y-edition.html
    The age of entitlement isn't over, it's just over there where you can't get to it.
    When several possibilities exist, the simplest solution is the best.
    "There are no rules" Bruce Barnbaum, The art of Photography
    Graham


  4. #4
    Who let the rabble in? Lance B's Avatar
    Join Date
    04 Aug 2010
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    7,631
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I second William's suggestion of Imagenomic's "Noiseware" Plug In for Photoshop. Best noise reduction progam I've ever used.

  5. #5
    Arch-Σigmoid Ausphotography Regular ameerat42's Avatar
    Join Date
    18 Sep 2009
    Location
    Nthn Sydney
    Posts
    14,844
    Mentioned
    16 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I had this prepared, then the site went into maintenance as I was posting it. Cannot find anything saved.

    This is from CS2, since you asked about CS5.
    The main NR controls are Strength and Color Noise. Beware of the jpeg artifacts remover: it sometimes appears to add artifacts of its own.

    When you remove colour noise you will notice some slight change in colour - where there was a lot of noise. I have the same Neat Image, but only the free version, that does NR in blocks of 1024 pixels. The full version does the lot.

    Thanks William for that plug-in.

    Noise.jpg
    Last edited by ameerat42; 27-11-2011 at 1:57pm.
    CC, Image editing OK.

  6. #6
    Member
    Threadstarter
    fairy bombs's Avatar
    Join Date
    10 Sep 2009
    Location
    south east QLD,Australia
    Posts
    377
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thank you all who replied,I really appreciate all that useful information.

    I will go forward with all that!.

    I do not have 'neat image',I have some other free down load,think its called noise works.

    I did have a play with that hawk image in it,and it improved it

    here it is in this link

    http://www.iceinspace.com.au/forum/s...ad.php?t=83488

    I then put it through CS 5 and made the file a much larger size-should I wish to print.

    Anyhow thanks so much those AP members that took the time to give advice.and links

  7. #7
    Amor fati! ving's Avatar
    Join Date
    28 Jun 2007
    Location
    St Helens Park
    Posts
    7,275
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I use the noise reduction that is built into Paintshop Pro x3, works fine for me.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •