Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 38

Thread: Post your Computer set-up

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    21 Aug 2011
    Location
    Frankston
    Posts
    354

    Post your Computer set-up

    So most other forums I've ever been on had a similar thread to this, and since there is a section that's party dedicated to computers and we all use them on this site, thought it wouldn't be a bad idea to make a thread for them.

    Simply post your Computer set up/s and tell us a little about them.

    I'll kick it of


    set up by J Cyza, on Flickr

    Computer :
    Graphics card: [ATi] HD4870 RAM:
    Ram: 4GB Corsair, 2x2GB 800MHz
    Motherboard: Gigabyte P35-DS3 Pro
    Power Supply: CM Extreme 600W
    It was a prettyt high end gaming computer about 3 1/2 - 4 years ago, but bought it of a friend in early 2011 for 500 bucks

    Dual Monitors: 1 LG 2360V LCD 23" and 1 View sonic 19"
    Mouse: Razer Copper Head
    Mouse Pad: Razer Control Pad
    KeyBoard: Microsoft Side Winder
    Sound: Logitech x530 5.1 surround sound speakers and Audio Techinca ath-AD700 headphones
    Xbox 360
    Canon 60D - 24-105 F4 L - Sigma 10-20 - Kit lenses - 50mm F:1.8 - Tamron 90mm F:2.8 Macro - 430 exII _ Extension Tube Set


  2. #2
    Thats ummm...very neat. Id be embarrassed to show you what Im sitting amongst at the moment. Crap everywhere.
    ______________________________________________

    Adrian Fischer
    Brisbane, Australia

    Gear: Nikon D80, D300, Nikon 35mm f1.8, 50mm f1.8, 85mm f1.8, 105mm f2.5, 18-200 VR, 70-200 VR, Sigma 28-70mm f2.8, Sigma 50-500, Tonkina 12-24 f4, SB-600, various YongNuo Strobes, various umbrellas, 6 x 300w studio flashes, various softboxes, reflectors, stands, transmitters and receivers.

  3. #3
    another user tittle Mark L's Avatar
    Join Date
    21 Nov 2010
    Location
    Mudgee
    Posts
    8,728
    Nothing much happening here.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    "If you think you can or if you think you can't,
    your right."

    60D, a couple of old lenses.

  4. #4
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    21 Aug 2011
    Location
    Frankston
    Posts
    354
    Quote Originally Posted by Adrian Fischer View Post
    Thats ummm...very neat. Id be embarrassed to show you what Im sitting amongst at the moment. Crap everywhere.
    Believe me when I say it will not stay like that for longer than 2 days.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    28 Aug 2008
    Location
    Adelaide
    Posts
    1,913
    Can Mac users play? Since it states PC only

  6. #6
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    21 Aug 2011
    Location
    Frankston
    Posts
    354
    go for it, probably should have posted "post your computer set up"

  7. #7
    Mines always a bit of a mess lol

    I have a HDR images slideshow desktop...hope no one owns the one in the pic

    Acer 5750G i7
    16.5" HD LED - 8GB DDR3 - 1TB HD - Blu Ray - USB3.0 - Dolby - HDMI

    10M HDMI cable running direct to my 48" TV

    WB 3TB Ext HD

    Acer 24" Widescreen LED Ext Monitor

    Microsoft Ergo keyboard and mouse

    Logitec 5.1 and SkullKandy's

    Last edited by MiniFighter; 26-11-2011 at 11:06am.




  8. #8
    Other side of the hill ... WhoDo's Avatar
    Join Date
    22 Jun 2010
    Location
    Lake Macquarie
    Posts
    4,800
    Quote Originally Posted by Cyza View Post
    go for it, probably should have posted "post your computer set up"
    Fixed thread title.
    Waz
    Be who you are and say what you feel, because those who mind don't matter and those who matter don't mind - Dr. Seuss...
    D7000 | Nikkor AF-S 18-55 DX 1:3.5-5.6G | Nikkor AF-S 55-300 DX 1:4.5-5.6 G ED | Nikkor AF 50 f/1.8D | Optex OPM2930 tripod/monopod | Enthusiasm ...
    My Flickr images ...

  9. #9
    Administrator (Site Owner) ricktas's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    13,287
    Mine

    mine.jpg

    26 inch Acer screen
    Epson R2400 A3 printer
    Epson RX630 printer/scanner
    Wacom Tablet
    Self built system
    Intel 990x processor (Overclocked to 5ghz)
    24GB Ram
    Gigabyte Assassin MoBo
    Watercooled
    120 GB SSD
    Gigabyte Radeon HD6970
    2 TB drive
    2 x Bluray burners
    9 x USB 3 ports
    Logitech G19 keyboard and Logitech mouse

    2 external backup drives (2tb each) and Raid5 box with 12TB storage.
    Last edited by ricktas; 26-11-2011 at 12:59pm.
    RICK
    Constructive Critique of my photographs is always appreciated
    Nikon, etc!

    www.tassiephotos.com

  10. #10
    Sunrise Chaser William's Avatar
    Join Date
    10 Jul 2010
    Location
    Gold Coast
    Posts
    6,335
    Was wondering how you guys deal with "DUST" , I notice your on Carpet Rick, We dont have Air-Con and have a floating floor , No more Carpet , But still heaps of dust , I'll post a pick of my work station shortly tomorrow

    PS : After I clean it up
    Last edited by William; 27-11-2011 at 1:57pm.
    Canon : 30D, and sometimes the 5D mkIII , Sigma 10-20, 50mm 1.8, Canon 24-105 f4 L , On loan Sigma 120-400 DG and Canon 17 - 40 f4 L , Cokin Filters




  11. #11
    Administrator (Site Owner) ricktas's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    13,287
    Quote Originally Posted by William View Post
    Was wondering how you guys deal with "DUST" , I notice your on Carpet Rick, We dont have Air-Con and have a floating floor , No more Carpet , But still heaps of dust , I'll post a pick of my work station shortly tomorrow PS : After I clean it up
    I just open mine up and use a small vacuum (its a pressure pack sized one) on it, every couple of months. All my fans are set to blow air OUT of the box as well, which helps stop dust. I have 4 fans, two on top, one on side, and one on front). A lot of commercial setups, the fans are set to suck air in..(supposedly to cool the unit), and in goes the dust. By setting them up to blow air out, they blow the hot air out of the box, and reduce dust build up as well. At 5GHz, mine runs CPU and RAM around 28-30 degrees (water cooling helps there).

    Inside my box. the two blue fans are the RAM coolers, to the left of that is the watercooler over the CPU.
    box.jpg
    Last edited by ricktas; 27-11-2011 at 4:18pm.

  12. #12
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    21 Aug 2011
    Location
    Frankston
    Posts
    354
    quite a beast you have there Rick, what do you use such a powerful computer for? Rendering,Gaming, or what?
    have always wanted to build my own computer from scratch but could never justify the amounts of money I'd throw at it considering I do so few tasks that would benefit from it :/

  13. #13
    Ausphotography Regular
    Join Date
    09 Nov 2009
    Location
    Kalgoorlie
    Posts
    1,145
    Mine looks lke this



    Home built for gaming primarily but of course I get ot play with photographs now and again. The 30" screen is fantastic with in built SD and HD card readers which work well.

    re the comment about dust, my case has filters on the front fans so I just have to clean them each month. The rear and top fans are set to blow out.

  14. #14
    Administrator (Site Owner) ricktas's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    13,287
    Quote Originally Posted by Cyza View Post
    quite a beast you have there Rick, what do you use such a powerful computer for?
    Mostly photography, occasional gaming. I got fed up with my old PC taking ages to merge pano's. So decided to upgrade and my thoughts were, get the best and fastest I can now, and I won't have to upgrade again for years.

  15. #15
    Member woofie's Avatar
    Join Date
    11 Jul 2010
    Location
    Townsville
    Posts
    81
    To many clean computer area's here.

  16. #16
    A royal pain in the bum! arthurking83's Avatar
    Join Date
    04 Jun 2006
    Location
    the worst house, in the best street
    Posts
    6,375
    Those ergo keyboards(minifighter) are truly brilliant .. to use, that is.

    I got one about a year ago too. Took a while to get used to the goofy key placement but once you're used to it, going back to a standard K/B is a PITA!!
    Nikon D800E, D300, D70s
    {Nikon} -> 50/1.2 : 500/8(CPU'd) : 105/2.8VR Micro : 180/2.8ais : 105mm f/1.8ais : 24mm/2ais
    {Sigma}; ->10-20/4-5.6 : 50/1.4 : 12-24/4.5-5.6II
    {Tamron}; -> 17-50/2.8 : 28-75/2.8 : 70-200/2.8 : 300/2.8 SP MF : 24-70/2.8VC


  17. #17
    Administrator (Site Owner) ricktas's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    13,287
    Quote Originally Posted by arthurking83 View Post
    Those ergo keyboards(minifighter) are truly brilliant .. to use, that is.

    I got one about a year ago too. Took a while to get used to the goofy key placement but once you're used to it, going back to a standard K/B is a PITA!!
    Agree, I had one at home for a while, but what I didn't consider was that my workplace one is not ergo. And swapping between the two styles daily, made my typing slower, more errors etc. If you can use an ergo one all (most) of the time, they are brilliant, but if you have to swap back and forth between standard and ergo with any regularity, it just becomes annoying..sadly!

  18. #18
    here is my new set up,

    Auria Xtreme (built by microtel)
    windows i7 2600k-pro 3.4Ghz overclocked to 4.6Ghz quad core.
    16gb ddr3 1600mhz
    AMD 3 gig graphic card
    60gb solid slate drive
    2tb hard drive
    Blu-ray burner

    heaps of room for add ons

    27" led hd LG screen

    canon pro 9000 A3 printer

    sorry picture taken with my phone.


    Untitled by G.Ganzer, on Flickr


    Untitled by G.Ganzer, on Flickr

  19. #19
    Some Quite impressive machines among the Photographers! Mine is as follows:

    CPU - Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 2.40 Ghz
    Ram - 3GB
    GPU - NVidia 9300GE 256mb (Yes, Please dont laugh)
    OS - Windows Vista 32 Bit
    HDD - 500GB

    So Yes, I really need to do some upgrading. Question is, Before, or after new lens/es?
    Canon 1D Mark II | Canon 60D (Gripped) | Canon 70-200 f/4L IS | Canon 24-105 f/4L IS | Tokina 11-16 f/2.8 | Tamron 18-270 PZD | Tamron 90mm Macro | 50mm F/1.8 | Canon 430 EX II | Fancier BH-04 | - www.samgraudins.com

  20. #20
    well, just put lightroom 3 and photoshop cs5 on the computer.
    The computer doesnt even bat an eyelid at running both programs. from the time i push the power button, it takes 35seconds to turn on and start running CS5 and lightroom.
    every day i find something new about it or to test it.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •