User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  0
Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Can I double up teleconvertors?

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    25 Oct 2010
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    7
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Can I double up teleconvertors?

    Can I put two teleconvertors on a lens?

    Yes it might be slow. Yes it might not be the most crisp image I've ever taken. But I would get a lot of reach.

    I have one TC and all my kit is Canon. Would a second one work?

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    12 Feb 2008
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    7,837
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Sure

    But I think you'd be better cropping
    Darren
    Gear : Nikon Goodness
    Website : http://www.peakactionimages.com
    Please support Precious Hearts
    Constructive Critique of my images always appreciated

  3. #3
    Ausphotography Site Sponsor/Advertiser OzzieTraveller's Avatar
    Join Date
    12 Oct 2009
    Location
    Forster- Tuncurry, eastern Australia
    Posts
    1,600
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    G'day ck

    Tried this way back in film camera days - novelty mainly, got no usable sharp images
    It failed via both general lack of sharpness & heat haze in the atmosphere

    But - try it with a mate's TC but I can't recommend you buy a 2nd one for ongoing use
    Regards, Phil
    Of all the stuff in a busy photographers kitbag, the ability to see photographically is the most important
    google me at Travelling School of Photography
    images.: flickr.com/photos/ozzie_traveller/sets/

  4. #4
    Arch-Σigmoid Ausphotography Regular ameerat42's Avatar
    Join Date
    18 Sep 2009
    Location
    Nthn Sydney
    Posts
    14,818
    Mentioned
    16 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I don't know about the electrical connections, you might have to use some manual mode. In film days I stacked two (and yes, slow and poor IQ).
    As for the "reach", you might (actually, probably) be better off just upscaling an image using Photoshop or such.

    Edit: How about that, Phil! We were knaves!!
    Last edited by ameerat42; 23-11-2011 at 3:08pm.
    CC, Image editing OK.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    17 Nov 2008
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    201
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    As far as I know, two 1.4 canon T.C's will not join together due to mechanical limitations, however you could use an extension tube between them but the IQ could end up out the window
    I tried a canon 1.4 mk111 and a kenko 1.4 which WILL join together, & never bothered again, lousy IQ
    I've just tried the 1.4 & 2x mk111's - they won't mate together at all
    Bryan

  6. #6
    Ausphotography Veteran
    Join Date
    08 Nov 2009
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    3,303
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by commking View Post
    Can I put two teleconvertors on a lens?

    Yes it might be slow. Yes it might not be the most crisp image I've ever taken. But I would get a lot of reach.

    I have one TC and all my kit is Canon. Would a second one work?
    I have both of the Canon tele-converters, and they will stack, but only in a particular order (which escapes my memory at the moment).

    Note that Canon tele-converters are only compatible with certain Canon lenses.

    I presume you know this, and that your lens is one of those lenses.

  7. #7
    Account Closed Wayne's Avatar
    Join Date
    07 Dec 2009
    Location
    Eastside
    Posts
    1,639
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    SarNOP regularly stacks Nikon TC's, but not sure if they have been milled or modified, and whether Canon would have the same ability. With the Nikon ones, Sar gets awesome sharp images.

  8. #8
    Account Closed
    Join Date
    05 Feb 2011
    Location
    CQ
    Posts
    922
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I can stack my Sigma TC's but the 2x has to be on the lens and the 1.4x has to be on the camera.

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    12 Feb 2008
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    7,837
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Wayne View Post
    SarNOP regularly stacks Nikon TC's, but not sure if they have been milled or modified, and whether Canon would have the same ability. With the Nikon ones, Sar gets awesome sharp images.
    It might help that he starts with a 400 2.8 or 600 f/4 or a 200 f/2 etc

  10. #10
    A royal pain in the bum! arthurking83's Avatar
    Join Date
    04 Jun 2006
    Location
    the worst house, in the best street
    Posts
    7,701
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Basically, there are very few TC's that cant' be stacked onto another, but as already said, some can't be stacked due to mechanical limitations.

    Each TC, just as a normal lens) has a front and back. Front attaches to the lens and the back attaches to the camera. Sounds simple because it is.

    The trick to watch out for is that the various lens elements within the innards of each TC cannot clash with each other.
    So watch where each TC mounts, so that for example the front lens element of TC 'X' which may be mounted on the camera doesn't strike the rear most lens of TC 'Y' which may be mounted onto the lens.


    I too have two stackable TC's and they have to be attached to each other in a specific manner. That is, the 1.4x ahead of the 2.0x. You can't do it the other way round because the inner lenses clash.

    I'm sure that somewhere on the net someone has already created a list of which TC's can be mated to which others, and in what order.
    (I think there is a list floating around for the Nikon TC's)
    Nikon D800E, D300, D70s
    {Nikon} -> 50/1.2 : 500/8(CPU'd) : 105/2.8VR Micro : 180/2.8ais : 105mm f/1.8ais : 24mm/2ais
    {Sigma}; ->10-20/4-5.6 : 50/1.4 : 12-24/4.5-5.6II : 150-600mm|S
    {Tamron}; -> 17-50/2.8 : 28-75/2.8 : 70-200/2.8 : 300/2.8 SP MF : 24-70/2.8VC


  11. #11
    Ausphotography Veteran
    Join Date
    08 Nov 2009
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    3,303
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I've just looked at my Canon tele-converters.

    The only way the two types can be physically stacked is in the following order:

    Camera -> 1.4x TC -> 2x TC -> compatible Canon lens (ie, with a rear cavity which supports the TC).

    I haven't tried stacking two of the same kind, as I only own one of each, and wouldn't stack two 2x TCs together anyway, even on my 300/2.8.

    The Canon lenses which I know to be compatible with Canon TCs are as follows:

    1. any L-series prime with a focal length of 135mm or longer;
    2. all of the 70-200mm L zooms;
    3. the 100-400mm L zoom; and
    4. the 400/4 DO IS.


    There may be some newer L-series lenses (ie, new products rather than mark II releases) which also accommodate the TCs, but I'm not across the details of these.
    Last edited by Xenedis; 23-11-2011 at 9:43pm. Reason: Clarified TC models (ie, unique vs. two of a kind).

  12. #12
    Account Closed Wayne's Avatar
    Join Date
    07 Dec 2009
    Location
    Eastside
    Posts
    1,639
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    For those with Nikon gear looking at this and wondering;

    I have;

    TC14EII
    TC17EII
    TC20EIII

    No matter which way you try, they will not mate together. The only way I can see that may work is with the 1.4 or 1.7 mounting into the rear of the 2x, but it still seems like the rear element of the 2x will not be deep enough after you machine the mount/s to allow locking together.

  13. #13
    Ausphotography Veteran Speedway's Avatar
    Join Date
    16 Sep 2008
    Location
    Cowangie
    Posts
    2,491
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I did this years ago with my Zenit EM and 135mm lens + 2 - 2xTC's and got some reasonable results doing long range landscapes. I have 3 hanging on my wall blown up to 20x30 inch poster prints. I still have the camera and TC's but the 135 lens was stolen with my Zenit TTL years ago.
    Keith.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •