Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Home strobe lighting kit

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    19 Nov 2011
    Location
    Oakleigh East
    Posts
    29

    Home strobe lighting kit

    Hiya everyone,

    I have read previous threads about setting up a home studio and done some research.

    I want to set up a little studio in my garage (5mts long x 3 mts wide x 3 mts high) mostly for portraits.

    I have a Nikon D-7000 and a SB-600 with a variety of lenses.

    My idea was to set-up a three light kit studio, so I was thinking about buying the following gear:

    2x Yongnuo YN-560 Speedlight Flash
    1x Nikon SB-600 [No need to buy it as I have already got it]
    1x Sekonic L-358 Flash Master Light Meter
    2x Cactus Wireless Flash Transceiver V5 Duo [1 master and 3 slaves]
    1x Softbox with stand. . . suggestions
    1x 110cm / 43" white umbrella shoot through flash brolly with stand . . . suggestions?

    Thx in advance for your your valuable feedback.
    Andrea

    My gear: Body: Nikon D7000.
    Lenses: Nikon 105mm f/2D AF DC, Nikon 50mm f/1.8D AF, Nikon AF 20mm f/2.8 D, Nikon AF-S 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G IF-ED VR, Nikon DX 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G AF-S VR.
    Strobist: 1 x Nikon SB-600; 2 x Nikon SB-900; 4 x Yongnuo RF-603 Radio Transceivers N3; 1 x Softbox, 1 x Bounce brollie.
    Tripod: Manfrotto 055XPROB Pro Tripod Legs (Black); Manfrotto 496RC2 Ball Head with Quick Release Replaces Manfrotto 486RC2.

  2. #2
    It's all about the Light!
    Tech Admin
    Kym's Avatar
    Join Date
    15 Jun 2008
    Location
    Modbury, Adelaide
    Posts
    8,906
    I have some brollies and a softbox from Protog -- see http://www.ausphotography.net.au/for...te-Advertisers
    regards, Kym Gallery Honest & Direct Constructive Critique Appreciated! ©
    Digital & film, Bits of glass covering 10mm to 500mm, and other stuff



  3. #3
    Moderately Underexposed I @ M's Avatar
    Join Date
    04 May 2007
    Location
    Marlo, Far East Gippsland
    Posts
    4,359
    Sounds like a pretty solid plan Andrea.

    The one thing that I would look at would be to use the Yongnuo RF series flash triggers, they are very reliable and if you are buying that brand of flash as well you may be able to negotiate a better price by buying all at once.

    Have a look through site advertiser Protogs pages for the Yongnuo flashes, triggers and general speed light modifiers.

    www.protog.com.au

    Your source for rechargeable batteries and more
    Andrew
    Nikon, Fuji, Nikkor, Sigma, Tamron, Tokina and too many other bits and pieces to list.



  4. #4
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    19 Nov 2011
    Location
    Oakleigh East
    Posts
    29
    Thank you -- I also found this as an alternative. Any comments?

    http://www.fotogenic.com.au/Flash_St...ing_Studio_Kit

  5. #5
    In Training MarkChap's Avatar
    Join Date
    09 Jan 2008
    Location
    Glendale, Rockhampton, Qld
    Posts
    2,087
    Plus 1 for the Yongnuo, triggers, I use the RF-602's for Canon, they are great and very reliable.
    A friend of mine actually ditched all of her V5 Cactus triggers and bought the RF-602's after using mine.
    Smoke Alarms Save Lives, Install One Today
    I shoot Canon
    Cheers, Mark


  6. #6
    6 months ago I stumbled upon Meking Studio on Ebay ( http://stores.ebay.com.au/mekingequipments )

    Delivery is a bit slow at around 30 days, but so far everything has been better than expected, and their prices make it cheap enough to go strobes instead of flashes.

  7. #7
    Ausphotography Regular Tommo1965's Avatar
    Join Date
    03 Oct 2010
    Location
    Perth Hills Mundaring
    Posts
    1,014
    not not to steal the thread, but if you did go the strobe way rather than flashes, what wattage would be preferable in a home studio the size the OP has suggested

    I wouldn't want to buy 1000w and find they are still too hot after winding down to their lowest setting...

    OP...right now I have two SB 700..I went that way to be able to use auto FP for high speed sync { fired via the pop up flash in commander mode}

  8. #8
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    19 Nov 2011
    Location
    Oakleigh East
    Posts
    29
    oldfart, which kit did you buy, if I may ask?

  9. #9
    I have a pair of LD-600's which do a nice job in my small studio.

  10. #10
    Quote Originally Posted by Tommo1965 View Post
    not not to steal the thread, but if you did go the strobe way rather than flashes, what wattage would be preferable in a home studio the size the OP has suggested

    I wouldn't want to buy 1000w and find they are still too hot after winding down to their lowest setting...

    OP...right now I have two SB 700..I went that way to be able to use auto FP for high speed sync { fired via the pop up flash in commander mode}
    I've used the Gemini 500's on large groups with no dramas, unless you're after something very specific, or in a very large studio I think 1000w is overkill. Don't forget the whole inverse square law; if you're only shooting in a small studio you won't need anywhere near as much power to fully illuminate the subject.
    Ryan

    D800 | Nikkor 24-70mm /2.8 | Cullmann Tripod |Manfrotto 680B Monopod | Lowepro Flipside 400 AW | 2x Yungnuo 560 flash & wireless trigger| FleaBay Lightstand, umbrella and collapsible softbox
    My Flickr site
    RSK Photography - Perth based Motorsport Photography

  11. #11
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    19 Nov 2011
    Location
    Oakleigh East
    Posts
    29
    Ta guys for the help! Still hunting . . .

  12. #12
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    19 Nov 2011
    Location
    Oakleigh East
    Posts
    29
    oldfart just out of curiosity, the pair of LD-600's, how did you mange to make them work in OZ with 220v?

  13. #13
    They are available in both 110 and 240v , depending on country they're shipped to.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •