User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  7
Results 1 to 18 of 18

Thread: "Why cant I Drop and Drag"

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    10 Jul 2010
    Location
    Gold Coast
    Posts
    6,346
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    "Why cant I Drop and Drag"

    Trying to make a Copyright Mark , But cant get to drop and drag the preset on to a new document to add name and date etc Tried , Shift hold, Drag and drop , Got me beat , I did it in CS 2 but not happening with CS5 ?

    I'm trying to drag this Symbol onto a blank Document like this
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Canon : 30D, and sometimes the 5D mkIII , Sigma 10-20, 50mm 1.8, Canon 24-105 f4 L , On loan Sigma 120-400 DG and Canon 17 - 40 f4 L , Cokin Filters




  2. #2
    Ausphotography Regular junqbox's Avatar
    Join Date
    02 Jul 2010
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    710
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I think if you double click on the icon you want, it will copy it to the clipboard which you can then paste into the canvas.

  3. #3
    Who me?
    Join Date
    02 Sep 2007
    Location
    Tweed Heads
    Posts
    2,749
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    never tried to do it that way Bill, I use, select the text tool, click somewhere on your new doc, then hold the alt key and 0169 on the number pad, alt 0169. Hope it helps
    Cheers David.

    Canon 40D/EF-S 17-85 mm IS/Kenko Extenson Tubes/Canon EF 50mm F/1.8 II (nifty fifty)
    Sigma 10-20mm 4-5.6 /Sigma 70-200/ Sigma 1.4 teleconverter/ some Conkin filters | Adobe Photoshop CS6



  4. #4
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    10 Jul 2010
    Location
    Gold Coast
    Posts
    6,346
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Tried both ways , I must be having a senior moment
    Attached Images Attached Images

  5. #5
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    10 Jul 2010
    Location
    Gold Coast
    Posts
    6,346
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I've got the Scott Kelby book out trying this , All goes well till the Drag and drop part , Create new Doc, Create new layer, Get the custom shape tool, Press enter to bring up the custom shape picker, Choose Copyright symbol and drag out onto Document , Thats easy , But it wont Drag and drop ??

  6. #6
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    10 Jul 2010
    Location
    Gold Coast
    Posts
    6,346
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    This is using the Clipboard method, But it's on the clip board with everything else , At least it worked there using Shift and dragging , But I need to be able to do that on a new clean Document
    Attached Images Attached Images

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    20 Mar 2008
    Location
    Glenorchy
    Posts
    4,040
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I use the text tool in Photoshop. I open a tenxt box and type what I want minus the © then go to word, type (C) and when you hit the spacebar after that it converts it to the symbol. Then select, copy and paste into Photoshop in the text box. You can alter the font etc once you have it in there.
    Odille

    “Can't keep my eyes from the circling sky”

    My Blog | Canon 1DsMkII | 60D | Tokina 20-35mm f/2.8 AF AT-X PRO | EF50mm f/1.8| Sigma 150-500mm F5-6.3 APO DG OS HSM | Fujifilm X-T1 & X-M1 | Fujinon XC 16-50mm F3.5-5.6 OIS | Fujinon XC 50-230mm F3.5-5.6 OIS | Fujinon XF 18-55mm F2.8-4R LM OIS | tripods, flashes, filters etc ||

  8. #8
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    10 Jul 2010
    Location
    Gold Coast
    Posts
    6,346
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yah !! I got it , Create a new Document , New layer , Custom shape tool, Click on preset manager , Custom shapes, Highlite the Copyright Symbol, The problem "Click Done" Then Drag and Drop using the Shift Key at the same time , Then put your Info in using the type tool around the symbol , Phew Only taken all day Thanks for all the help guys , Knew it would be something stupidly easy
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by William; 03-11-2011 at 7:41pm.

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    17 Sep 2009
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    822
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    there's a much easier way

    open a text layer - and if you use (on a pc) press down the alt key, and then type in the numbers: 0169

    and that creates this ©

    on a mac is different- and think its Apple key then the letter "g"
    William

    www.longshots.com.au

    I am the PhotoWatchDog

  10. #10
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    10 Jul 2010
    Location
    Gold Coast
    Posts
    6,346
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks for the help everyone , I now have my own personal , One click Copyright Brush tool , I can use any colour I want and change the Opacity to suit each image , And set it to Batch processing This is what I was after if you were wondering - Bill
    Attached Images Attached Images

  11. #11
    Loves The Wildlife. Mary Anne's Avatar
    Join Date
    19 Dec 2009
    Location
    Brisbane Southside.
    Posts
    36,092
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Bill and it looks good too

    I shoot with Canon And Olympus Cameras



  12. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    31 Jan 2010
    Location
    North East
    Posts
    312
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Longshots View Post
    on a mac is different- and think its Apple key then the letter "g"
    Very close - it's Option (alt) g on the Mac.

    Regarding putting copyright marks on pictures, I think you need to put your name to it for it to have any meaning - I'm not sure that just saying it's copyright does anything for you. I'm not a copyright lawyer though.

  13. #13
    Account Closed
    Join Date
    05 Feb 2011
    Location
    CQ
    Posts
    922
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Bill, you know you can put all of the text and the symbol into a custom brush, don't you. You don't have to do the © symbol separately. The downside is that it has to be duotone when it is applied, unlike straight text which can have many colours in it.

    If I've got the wrong end of the stick, just ignore me.

  14. #14
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    10 Jul 2010
    Location
    Gold Coast
    Posts
    6,346
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks Snoop, Your on the right track, The watermark on the above image was applied with a Custom Brush that is now stored in the Brush Pallet , The above Watermark is just a tester, Working on a new one today , Thanks mate

  15. #15
    Member
    Join Date
    29 Jul 2009
    Location
    Cessnock, NSW AU
    Posts
    472
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Easy once you know how eh!
    .
    Cheers, Mal

    crafthouse images - my Flickr

    Canon EOS 5DM3, 7D and a modest collection of "L" goodies

  16. #16
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    10 Jul 2010
    Location
    Gold Coast
    Posts
    6,346
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yep ! It is now Mal

  17. #17
    Member
    Join Date
    29 Jul 2009
    Location
    Cessnock, NSW AU
    Posts
    472
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    and you can change your brush size, colour for your specific application. Way to go!

  18. #18
    Member GBaxter's Avatar
    Join Date
    18 Dec 2008
    Location
    **Suburb/Town Required**
    Posts
    2
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I've had this same problem also.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •