Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  1

Thread: Remove Smoke/Haze from Landscape Photos

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Remove Smoke/Haze from Landscape Photos

Hi All,

I was just wondering if anyone has any knowledge on how to remove/improve smoke haze from landscape photos? I recently went on a trip to Central Australia only to find there were bushfires everywhere and so as a result there is a lot of smoke haze in my photos. Ugh! I am a beginner user of Photoshop CS5 and have limited skills thus far so any help would be appreciated. I have had a bit of a look through other threads but couldn't seem to find anything on this topic. Thanks!

Who me?
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    yep, some where I have a tutorial( step by step instructions) for this. I 'll have to check through one or three hard drive to find it.
    I put it up as soon as I find it unless some one beats me to it.
    I'll get back to you
    Cheers David.

Canon 40D/EF-S 17-85 mm IS/Kenko Extenson Tubes/Canon EF 50mm F/1.8 II (nifty fifty)
    Sigma 10-20mm 4-5.6 /Sigma 70-200/ Sigma 1.4 teleconverter/ some Conkin filters | Adobe Photoshop CS6

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'm sorry the smoke was an issue. When we were there in July & August there was a heap of smoke but fortunately it seemed to get blown away from us during the day, except around Kings Canyon.

It hung around during the night though which played buggery with the sinus's when trying to sleep

I found a few tutorials on youtube a while back that give a good rundown on what is needed.

Who me?
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    ok I cant find the tute I'm thinking of but one way to quickly reduce haze is to use unsharp mask (USM), its in the filters dropdown menu.
    Duplicate your original on a new layer
    Apply USM at settings 30, 60, 0 top slider to bottom