User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  3
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: CS3 camera raw v canon 7D

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    17 Nov 2008
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    201
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    CS3 camera raw v canon 7D

    Hi All
    I have a problem in that any raw image (CR2) taken with my 7D will not open in CS3,
    it comes up with a box saying "could not complete you request because its the wrong kind of document"

    Any CR2 image I've taken with my 40D opens without any grief

    I currently have camera raw version 4.6.0.30 installed, but I note on details supplied with further version upgrade/s the 7D is not included in the upgrade

    is there anything I can do to make it happen with CS3 or would I have to look at buying CS4/5
    Bryan

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    12 Feb 2008
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    7,831
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    That's my understanding too.

    You could use though DPP and save as TIFF then open in CS3 ?
    Darren
    Gear : Nikon Goodness
    Website : http://www.peakactionimages.com
    Please support Precious Hearts
    Constructive Critique of my images always appreciated

  3. #3
    Ausphotography Regular agb's Avatar
    Join Date
    15 Sep 2010
    Location
    Cleveland
    Posts
    825
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'm not sure but I think that CS4 does not have it either,I think that it is only CS5 which has the current raw converter for CR2 files from the 7D,
    Best way if you cannot upgrade is to use lightroom, or if not that then download the adobe DNG converter, and convert the CR2 files to DNG which can then be opened in your version of photoshop.
    The age of entitlement isn't over, it's just over there where you can't get to it.
    When several possibilities exist, the simplest solution is the best.
    "There are no rules" Bruce Barnbaum, The art of Photography
    Graham


  4. #4
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    17 Nov 2008
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    201
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks agb & kiwi
    I converted a CR2 image to tif to CS3 okay, I haven't worked out how to open/convert an image in DNG, any tips would be appreciated
    Cheers

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    19 Jul 2010
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    87
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Damien
    My site

  6. #6
    Ausphotography Regular agb's Avatar
    Join Date
    15 Sep 2010
    Location
    Cleveland
    Posts
    825
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by B D H View Post
    Thanks agb & kiwi
    I converted a CR2 image to tif to CS3 okay, I haven't worked out how to open/convert an image in DNG, any tips would be appreciated
    Cheers
    Damo's link covers it very well.

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    27 May 2010
    Location
    Bellara
    Posts
    147
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thank you, B D H for asking, and thank you to all participants in this thread!

    I am now a proud new owner of a Canon 600D (up from 350D - YES!). I installed Canon software, and then snapped a few test photos. I had the same problem with RAW on CS3, and wondered what I did wrong. It doesn't even always like JPEG, but I got it to work today - still no RAW. I was just about to ask this same question, but did a search here instead and came to this thread. I haven't read the link yet, but am now heading off there.

    I would love to upgrade software to a newer version of photoshop, but my computer can't handle it. I think I have a RAM issue (so says my stepson). So I think my next investment just might be a new computer! : )

    Meanwhile, I hope I can make this one work with CS3.

    Thanks again, everybody!

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    20 Jan 2009
    Location
    geelong vic
    Posts
    323
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I had the same trouble, you have to download an update for raw files can't remember off the top of my head, a google search will find it then add it into the photoshop folder... Its an easy thing to do, then u can open the 7d and such raw files

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    13 Apr 2010
    Location
    Bribie Is Sunny South East
    Posts
    1,047
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I am pretty sure Adobe stopped updating ACR in CS3 before the 7D came out, so maybe the same with the latest batch of xxxD series as well.
    Lloyd
    Canon 5D2+40D+L+Σ+S100
    Never make the same mistake twice, there are so many new ones, try a different one each day
    Flickr

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    28 Aug 2008
    Location
    Adelaide
    Posts
    1,913
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    no point converting them to TIFF when you can convert them to DNG files and remain a RAW! you can search for the DNG converter on the adobe website it comes for free

    another thing, CS3 even updated to its latest Adobe Camera Raw before moving onto CS4 will not be able to open 7D files. The DNG method is the easiest and free solution.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •