User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  2

Thread: How Tough are Cameras?

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

How Tough are Cameras?

Hello all. I am quite new to photography and have recently purchased a D7000 and a couple of lenses, a 17-55mm and 105mm macro, both Nikkors. Hopefully soon I can get a few shots uploaded here! Great info in this forum. My question is, how tough are cameras and lenses with regards constant travel? With my job I do around 80000km/year, and would like to take my camera with me most of the time, however I'm not sure if this is a good idea or not. Our roads arent fantatstic, and about 40% of my driving is done on gravel and dirt, with potholes and general vibration. Will they handle this ok in a good camera bag, or is it not such a good idea? How well do they handle heat in a car? - usually fairly hot summers in western Qld.
    Also, in the bag and backpack I have, the camera sits lens pointing down. Is this the best way for the camera to travel, or would it be better sitting right way up (backpack sitting Flat) ?

Thanks

John

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    They are pretty tough I think, tough enough to handle non impact or drop handling most of the time.

Id get a foam hard case in those conditions I think, and also pack seperately the lens and the camera as there is less chance of camera/lens mount flex if not attached

Yewah, the heat could be an issue but Ive not seen any reports of any damage caused by heat but Im sure there's a maximum temperature for all electronics.
    Darren
    Gear : Nikon Goodness
    Please support Precious Hearts
    Constructive Critique of my images always appreciated

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Threadstarter

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks for the replies.