User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  0
Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Sky Panoramic Problem

  1. #1
    Member MarcusG's Avatar
    Join Date
    14 Feb 2011
    Location
    Perth
    Posts
    8
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Sky Panoramic Problem

    Was recently up north and decided to have a shot at some night sky shots. Only got the kit lens (18-55) on my 60D, and my tripod was rubbish, so there was a lot of blur, did a panoramic though (using 27 odd photos) so it doesnt look so bad, the problem I am having is when I stich it with Microsoft ICE it gets REALLY stretched across the top, and I can't figure out for the life of me how to fix it. Anyone have any tips/help getting it fixed up?
    Thanks in advance,
    Marcus
    Oh, and here is the (scaled down) panoramic.

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    20 Jul 2009
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    415
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    havent used ICE but have played with CS4 and also another free pano stitching software program ( the name of which escapes me) - there are a couple of different stitching options in CS4 so it might be worth playing with those??
    Pentax K-5iis, DA* 50-135 IF SDM | Sigma 18-125 3.5-5.6 | Sigma 70-210 4-5.6 |Sigma 28-80 3.5-5.6 Macro |Pentax-FA 28-80 3.5-4.7 |Pentax A 50 1.7 |Pentax DA 12-24 | Pentax DAL 55-300|Sigma 28-300 3.5-6.3 and other stuff

  3. #3
    Member
    Threadstarter
    MarcusG's Avatar
    Join Date
    14 Feb 2011
    Location
    Perth
    Posts
    8
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by milesy View Post
    havent used ICE but have played with CS4 and also another free pano stitching software program ( the name of which escapes me) - there are a couple of different stitching options in CS4 so it might be worth playing with those??
    Alas, I do not have CS4, I'm a stingy uni student so I've only got GIMP.
    I did try using 'Hugin' but couldn't really figure out what was going on with it...

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    20 Jul 2009
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    415
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    ill have a quick look and see what i used that was free (its on my work laptop) hang 5

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    20 Jul 2009
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    415
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    sorry my mistake it was ICE after all........have you tried changing the camera motion options?

  6. #6
    Member
    Threadstarter
    MarcusG's Avatar
    Join Date
    14 Feb 2011
    Location
    Perth
    Posts
    8
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yeah, "Rotating Motion" was the only one that stuck the shots together how I want, all the planar ones stuck the milky way in a straight line with the ground broken up around the edges of the shot.
    Hope that makes at least a bit of sense.

  7. #7
    Ausphotography irregular Mark L's Avatar
    Join Date
    21 Nov 2010
    Location
    magical Mudgee
    Posts
    16,415
    Mentioned
    22 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You could try doing it with the photo stitch that is in the ZoomBrowser software that came with your camera. See if it does the same thing.
    "Enjoy what you can do rather than being frustrated at what you can't." bobt
    60D, Canon 28-105, Sigma 150-600S, Sigma 120-400, a speedlite, a tripod, a monopod, a remote release and a padded bag to carry things in.

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    14 Jan 2009
    Location
    Perth
    Posts
    148
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    try change your pano settings to cylindrical and see if that works. Also it may be a nodal point error stemming from the tripod
    Website - www.dylanbenton.com.au

    Equipment -
    Canon 5dMk2 | Canon 40D | Canon 17-40L f4 | Sigma 24-70 f/2.8 EX DG Macro | Canon 70-200L 2.8 IS II USM |

  9. #9
    As smooth as hessian undies
    Join Date
    16 Sep 2011
    Location
    Canberra
    Posts
    1,218
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The 60D comes with Canon PhotoStitch software on one of the discs that came with it. I've used it many many times for panoramas quite succesfully.
    Maybe give it a go.

  10. #10
    Member
    Threadstarter
    MarcusG's Avatar
    Join Date
    14 Feb 2011
    Location
    Perth
    Posts
    8
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Photostitch proved no good, I've found it is alright with mine up to about 4 shots across, beyond that it loses it a bit, and given this is about 28 shots needing to be stiched both across an up it didn't really work.
    Doesn't appear to be a "Cylindrical" option on any of the programs I have.
    I'm thinking that seing as the only problem is it getting stretched up the higher end, surely there must be some way to compress the image in by different amounts so it all comes together?
    Thanks for all the help so far too.

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    25 Mar 2010
    Location
    Buderim
    Posts
    1,260
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    First off great shot - I really hope you can get it to stitch as it will look great I reckon!

    Have a look at AutoPano Giga (or AutoPano Pro). You can download a free trial, been a while since I used the trial so I can't remember if it overlays a watermark or not, but it should at least give you an idea of whether or not the stitch will work. I'm very happy with it and am using it more and more now as it's quicker and generally more accurate at getting it right than photoshop.

    Autopano can be downloaded from http://www.kolor.com/

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •