User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  0
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: White Balance Preset Manual

  1. #1
    Member Gunsoftheworld's Avatar
    Join Date
    13 Sep 2010
    Location
    Perth
    Posts
    15
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    White Balance Preset Manual

    I just got a new D5100 Nikon, and was wondering if I need to set the White Balance Preset manual by taking a photo? Or do I need to change anything else for the Preset Manual Setting or just use it as it is?

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    12 Feb 2008
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    7,831
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Why use it ? What are you trying to do. The way to use it is to take a photo while preset is activated of a neutral subject. I use though a white balance lens cap
    Darren
    Gear : Nikon Goodness
    Website : http://www.peakactionimages.com
    Please support Precious Hearts
    Constructive Critique of my images always appreciated

  3. #3
    Member
    Threadstarter
    Gunsoftheworld's Avatar
    Join Date
    13 Sep 2010
    Location
    Perth
    Posts
    15
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    hmm so if I print out a page with white grey and black background and take a photo of that it should be fine?

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    07 Apr 2011
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    316
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    GOTW, as Kiwi asks, it depends what you are trying to do.
    In many cases, auto WB does a pretty good job. If you shoot in RAW, WB can be set after the fact in PP.
    Otherwise, a grey card or white balance lens cap is required.

  5. #5
    Member
    Threadstarter
    Gunsoftheworld's Avatar
    Join Date
    13 Sep 2010
    Location
    Perth
    Posts
    15
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'm just trying to learn how to manual everything :P, only just got a new DSLR so wanted to get outa auto straight away, but auto does do a good job for most things.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    12 Feb 2008
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    7,831
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Your hand is as good as any

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    12 Feb 2008
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    7,831
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Gunsoftheworld View Post
    I'm just trying to learn how to manual everything :P, only just got a new DSLR so wanted to get outa auto straight away, but auto does do a good job for most things.
    I'd suggest not going manual, I'd suggest auto to start with while you get to grips with basic handling, and focus etc

    Then move gradually to say av mode, lath one step at a time

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •