User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  1
Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Elements 9

  1. #1
    Ausphotography Regular J.davis's Avatar
    Join Date
    17 Dec 2008
    Location
    Willowbank
    Posts
    1,070
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Elements 9

    I took pics on sunday from 11am to about 3pm and when I loaded them onto the computer all the images where dated the 28 - 8, but when I went to organise them in Elements 9 the am pics where the 28th and the pm pics where the 29th.
    The camera dates are OK and the computer dates are also OK but elements seems to have a problem.
    Any ideas on a solution?
    Regards
    John
    Nikon D750, Sigma 105mm OS Macro, Tokina 16-28 F2.8, Sigma 24-105 Art, Sigma 150-600C,
    Benro Tripod and Monopod with Arca plates

  2. #2
    For the love of what I see.
    Join Date
    28 Dec 2009
    Location
    Yokine
    Posts
    986
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Simplest explanation is that one of your clocks is wrong.
    My guess is that either the clock on your computer or the clock on your camera is out by 12 hours.
    You show your camera as a Nikon D7000 but what make and model is your computer?
    Peter.

    Some of my photo's are at www.peterking.id.au

  3. #3
    Ausphotography Regular
    Threadstarter
    J.davis's Avatar
    Join Date
    17 Dec 2008
    Location
    Willowbank
    Posts
    1,070
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The computer is a custom box running intel and widoz 7 64 bit home premium - does that help?

  4. #4
    Arch-Σigmoid Ausphotography Regular ameerat42's Avatar
    Join Date
    18 Sep 2009
    Location
    Nthn Sydney
    Posts
    14,870
    Mentioned
    16 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Something's staring me in the face, but what?
    You say all the "dates" are right. Does that include the exact time as well? Could something be set to GMT or something? What about Elements - doesa it have its own date facility? (Odd to think it would.)
    Am.
    CC, Image editing OK.

  5. #5
    For the love of what I see.
    Join Date
    28 Dec 2009
    Location
    Yokine
    Posts
    986
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by J.davis View Post
    The computer is a custom box running intel and widoz 7 64 bit home premium - does that help?
    Look at your time settings. Especially Daylight Savings. Also look at the region. If this is not set to the correct region then it works on a USA region and that will change the time when you import anything.

  6. #6
    Ausphotography Regular
    Threadstarter
    J.davis's Avatar
    Join Date
    17 Dec 2008
    Location
    Willowbank
    Posts
    1,070
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    All the settings I can find in the computer and camera are set to Brisbane - non Daylight saving. Time formats cant be changed, and are correct. Elements hasn't got a date function that I can find.

  7. #7
    Administrator ricktas's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    15,138
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    How long since you did an update to elements (checked for updates) or had a Windows update. Something could need to be done, or has been done, that has affected this.

    With a photo open in Elements, have a look at : <File - Print - More Options - Photo details - Show date>

    What does it say? My guess is it will say : '31/08/2011 8:28:14 GMT' or similar, If it does then GMT is the issue, and you have to go searching for how to restore that to Brisbane time. Note I am just guessing here, and trying to find the cause of your issue, which is the start of finding the solution.
    "It is one thing to make a picture of what a person looks like, it is another thing to make a portrait of who they are" - Paul Caponigro

    Constructive Critique of my photographs is always appreciated
    Nikon, etc!

    RICK
    My Photography

  8. #8
    Ausphotography Regular
    Threadstarter
    J.davis's Avatar
    Join Date
    17 Dec 2008
    Location
    Willowbank
    Posts
    1,070
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I tried this Rick but couldn't see the date - too small to read, but I have taken two snips

    This one is from Bridge and the dates in the EXIF are correct.

    Capture 2.PNG

    This one is from Elements 9 - note the EXIF data is different but the file properties and IPTC are correct.

    Capture.jpg

  9. #9
    Perpetually Bewildered fillum's Avatar
    Join Date
    13 Sep 2009
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    1,119
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    John, the "Date Time Original" is showing in Elements as 12:36am on 1/9/2011 which looks to be 10 hours after the actual shot was taken. This sounds like it might relate to the timezone setting in your camera (UTC + 10). I wonder if when setting up the camera you set the time first then set the timezone, effectively pushing the time 10hrs forward in camera?


    Cheers.
    Phil.

    Some Nikon stuff. I shoot Mirrorless and Mirrorlessless.


  10. #10
    For the love of what I see.
    Join Date
    28 Dec 2009
    Location
    Yokine
    Posts
    986
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    What fillum said.
    Last edited by peterking; 31-08-2011 at 11:11pm.

  11. #11
    Ausphotography Regular
    Join Date
    29 Dec 2007
    Location
    Mansfield, Victoria
    Posts
    856
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It is an elements bug. It applies a timezone correction when it shouldn't. I have the same issue after I downloaded their last patch (.3 or .4 frome memory). It does not affect jpegs (which leads to some pretty odd arrangements if you have shot raw+jpeg!)

    Last time i looked on the adobe forums (7-8 weeks back) they were not acknowledging it exists, in spite of people complaining about it. There was some suggestion that it was only a lightroom bug - but it is an elements bug too. It really pisses me off.
    Regards, Rob

    D600, AF-S 35mm f1.8G DX, AF-S 50mm f1.8G, AF-S 24-85mm f3.5-4.5G ED VR, AF-S 70-300mm F4.5-5.6G VR, Sigma 10-20mm F4-5.6 EX DC HSM
    Photos: geeoverbar.smugmug.com Software: CS6, Lightroom 4

  12. #12
    Ausphotography Regular
    Threadstarter
    J.davis's Avatar
    Join Date
    17 Dec 2008
    Location
    Willowbank
    Posts
    1,070
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The camera is correct, so is the computer.
    The elements bug is a sure thing as farmer-bob sugests as elements shows two different times for the same picture.
    This is a problem in that all I use elements for is a catalogue.

  13. #13
    Ausphotography Regular
    Join Date
    29 Dec 2007
    Location
    Mansfield, Victoria
    Posts
    856
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You can do a mass time zone adjustment after import and take 10 hours (or whatever) off, so that everthing is ok, but it is a PITA and an extra annoyance in the workflow.

  14. #14
    Perpetually Bewildered fillum's Avatar
    Join Date
    13 Sep 2009
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    1,119
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    [deleted - bad idea ]


    Cheers.
    Last edited by fillum; 02-09-2011 at 8:42am. Reason: bad idea

  15. #15
    Ausphotography Regular
    Threadstarter
    J.davis's Avatar
    Join Date
    17 Dec 2008
    Location
    Willowbank
    Posts
    1,070
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Seems the problem lies with ACR's latest release, Adobe knows of the problem and is doing nothing to resolve the issue apart from going back to an earlier version of ACR.
    Not good customer support.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •