User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  1
Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Bowens gemini 500r

  1. #1
    Member donnnnnny's Avatar
    Join Date
    10 Sep 2010
    Location
    Westmead
    Posts
    251
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Bowens gemini 500r

    I have recently bought a 3 strobe Bowens 500r lighting kit for my studio.Purchased from B+H in new york, I have been sent the usa type which at 110v 13amp, when i switch them on i get E1 on the LED panel, which according to the manual is voltage out of range.no charge.
    I have spoken to B+H who are happy for me s to send them all back and replace them.
    They want me to pay for the freight both ways which when i purchased them was $460.
    IS there any reason why the lights wont work with a transformer?? B+H said they will burn out.
    MY dilema is i feel B+H should pay the freight both ways, they say they wont.
    cheers donnnnnny
    Last edited by donnnnnny; 29-08-2011 at 6:37pm.

  2. #2
    Administrator ricktas's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    15,370
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    B&H would send you what you ordered. It is fairly obvious to all these days that different countries use different outlets at different voltages. I think expecting B&H to pay for shipping both ways on this is a bit rough. Maybe talk to a local electrical fitting store about options would be the way to go.
    "It is one thing to make a picture of what a person looks like, it is another thing to make a portrait of who they are" - Paul Caponigro

    Constructive Critique of my photographs is always appreciated
    Nikon, etc!

    RICK
    My Photography

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    28 Aug 2008
    Location
    Adelaide
    Posts
    1,913
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I havent used the new 500R yet as I used to own a 500 classic monolight

    However, with my latest 1000 Pro Bowens, it has the multi voltage system thingy to be used anywhere around the world by plugging in the local power cable and shoot from there without any adapters, Im not sure if the 500R has that capability or not.

    Just curious as to why you did not buy it locally? My 1000 Pro worked out to be only 50 bucks more buying it in Aus than B&H or Adorama when you factor in the shipping costs - and significantly less hassles than what you are facing now, as the shipping fee $460-500 is the norm for a monolight kit from the US.

  4. #4
    I am older than I look. peterb666's Avatar
    Join Date
    31 Oct 2009
    Location
    Tura Beach, NSW
    Posts
    3,597
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The problem with a transformer is that it won't change the supply from the Australian 50 Hz to the US 60 Hz so although you can change the voltage you also need to change the frequency.

    Re the voltage of units, it isn't that unusual for some US equipment to have a power supply that is suitable only for the US while other markets get a multi-voltage, multi-frequency power supply bu it does seem a little rough. An electrical repairer or the local Bowen's agent may be able to convert the units to be able to work in Australia.
    Cheers

    PeterB666


    Visit my 52/2011 My photos on Flickr. On Model Mayhem now (fortunately not as a model) My new blogsite!

    Olympus OM-D E-M5 with Metabones Speed Booster and Nikon 10-24mm f/3.5-4.5 - almost as insanely wicked as sin itself.

  5. #5
    Member
    Threadstarter
    donnnnnny's Avatar
    Join Date
    10 Sep 2010
    Location
    Westmead
    Posts
    251
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks, the 500 r dont have that option. As for buying local i was $1300 cheaper after shipping and GST.
    Quote Originally Posted by JM Tran View Post
    I havent used the new 500R yet as I used to own a 500 classic monolight

    However, with my latest 1000 Pro Bowens, it has the multi voltage system thingy to be used anywhere around the world by plugging in the local power cable and shoot from there without any adapters, Im not sure if the 500R has that capability or not.

    Just curious as to why you did not buy it locally? My 1000 Pro worked out to be only 50 bucks more buying it in Aus than B&H or Adorama when you factor in the shipping costs - and significantly less hassles than what you are facing now, as the shipping fee $460-500 is the norm for a monolight kit from the US.

  6. #6
    Member
    Threadstarter
    donnnnnny's Avatar
    Join Date
    10 Sep 2010
    Location
    Westmead
    Posts
    251
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    YTa i might try and see if i can do that then
    thanks for the help
    Quote Originally Posted by peterb666 View Post
    The problem with a transformer is that it won't change the supply from the Australian 50 Hz to the US 60 Hz so although you can change the voltage you also need to change the frequency.

    Re the voltage of units, it isn't that unusual for some US equipment to have a power supply that is suitable only for the US while other markets get a multi-voltage, multi-frequency power supply bu it does seem a little rough. An electrical repairer or the local Bowen's agent may be able to convert the units to be able to work in Australia.

  7. #7
    Member
    Threadstarter
    donnnnnny's Avatar
    Join Date
    10 Sep 2010
    Location
    Westmead
    Posts
    251
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Well to me i would have thought B+H would have sent me something that will work in australia. anyway thats not really an issue now its a fact. they wont work here.
    Ill keep plugging them and hopefully they will just take the 3 lights back and exchange them which will cut the freight down by a big margine.
    My preference would be to get them to work jhere, so ill also ask a few sparkys i know and maybe bowans repairers in aus
    Quote Originally Posted by ricktas View Post
    B&H would send you what you ordered. It is fairly obvious to all these days that different countries use different outlets at different voltages. I think expecting B&H to pay for shipping both ways on this is a bit rough. Maybe talk to a local electrical fitting store about options would be the way to go.

  8. #8
    In Training MarkChap's Avatar
    Join Date
    09 Jan 2008
    Location
    Widgee, Queensland
    Posts
    2,237
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    As far as B&H paying return freight both ways, to me that is going to depend greatly upon whether you ordered the 110v units or the 240 volt units.
    You haven't told us which you ordered
    If you ordered the 240 volt units and they sent the wrong ones, then yes they should pay the freight.
    If you ordered the 110 volt units or did not stipulate which you wanted, then very sorry, you are out of pocket for the return freight.
    Last edited by MarkChap; 29-08-2011 at 10:25pm.
    Smoke Alarms Save Lives, Install One Today
    I shoot Canon
    Cheers, Mark


  9. #9
    Member
    Threadstarter
    donnnnnny's Avatar
    Join Date
    10 Sep 2010
    Location
    Westmead
    Posts
    251
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    ya i guess i should i ordered a lighting kit as an australian buyer.
    The thread seems to be getting of course,
    im not really interested in who should pay the freight , what i am interested in is wether i can get the lights working here with a transformer or maybe have something done to get them to work on aus 240 v 10 amp.There must be a component from the factory which would make this work?!!!!! i have contacted Bowens in australia and will; wait to see what they say
    Quote Originally Posted by MarkChap View Post
    As far as B&H paying return freight both ways, to me that is going to depend greatly upon whether you ordered the 110v units or the 240 volt units..
    someone mentioned above that its obvious that different countries have different voltage etc, I am aware of that, but how about when you go overseas and get a plug converter so you can charge batteries, to me i would have thought i could do the same with a Transformer,??? seems not
    cheers don
    You haven't told us which you ordered
    If you ordered the 240 volt units and they sent the wrong ones, then yes they should pay the freight.
    If you ordered the 110 volt units or did not stipulate which you wanted, then very sorry, you are out of pocket for the return freight.

  10. #10
    Member
    Threadstarter
    donnnnnny's Avatar
    Join Date
    10 Sep 2010
    Location
    Westmead
    Posts
    251
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by peterb666 View Post
    The problem with a transformer is that it won't change the supply from the Australian 50 Hz to the US 60 Hz so although you can change the voltage you also need to change the frequency.

    Re the voltage of units, it isn't that unusual for some US equipment to have a power supply that is suitable only for the US while other markets get a multi-voltage, multi-frequency power supply bu it does seem a little rough. An electrical repairer or the local Bowen's agent may be able to convert the units to be able to work in Australia.
    Peter checked this and the units work on 50 and 60 HZ, i have also talked to a friend whos an electrician ,who said they will work on a transformer 500 wats X3 =1500wats which will work on 10 amps..
    thanks for pointing this out to me re the HZ

  11. #11
    Moderately Underexposed I @ M's Avatar
    Join Date
    04 May 2007
    Location
    Marlo, Far East Gippsland
    Posts
    4,892
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by donnnnnny View Post
    They want me to pay for the freight both ways which when i purchased them was $460.

    MY dilema is i feel B+H should pay the freight both ways, they say they wont.
    Quote Originally Posted by donnnnnny View Post
    The thread seems to be getting of course,
    im not really interested in who should pay the freight ,
    Sorry, I can't agree about it getting off course donnnnnny, in your first post you state that your dilemma is in your feelings that B&H should pay the freight both ways and Mark's reply about that is pretty valid I reckon.
    Andrew
    Nikon, Fuji, Nikkor, Sigma, Tamron, Tokina and too many other bits and pieces to list.



  12. #12
    I am older than I look. peterb666's Avatar
    Join Date
    31 Oct 2009
    Location
    Tura Beach, NSW
    Posts
    3,597
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    So is the issue you just plugged them into 240v w/o a step-down transformer. BTW, I would suggest you get a higher rated transformer than the absolute minimum rating to provide a little overhead.

    Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk

  13. #13
    In Training MarkChap's Avatar
    Join Date
    09 Jan 2008
    Location
    Widgee, Queensland
    Posts
    2,237
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by donnnnnny View Post
    I have recently bought a 3 strobe Bowens 500r lighting kit for my studio.Purchased from B+H in new york, I have been sent the usa type which at 110v 13amp, when i switch them on i get E1 on the LED panel, which according to the manual is voltage out of range.no charge.
    I have spoken to B+H who are happy for me s to send them all back and replace them.
    They want me to pay for the freight both ways which when i purchased them was $460.
    IS there any reason why the lights wont work with a transformer?? B+H said they will burn out.
    MY dilema is i feel B+H should pay the freight both ways, they say they wont.
    cheers donnnnnny
    How can it be off topic

  14. #14
    Member
    Threadstarter
    donnnnnny's Avatar
    Join Date
    10 Sep 2010
    Location
    Westmead
    Posts
    251
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ya peter it looks like the good people at farrel transformers have helped me out of the dilema, i can get a twin plug transformer with a good and higher rating than needed for $270 and they will fit a 3rd socket for my lights.
    Im hoping to finalize this soon. thanks for your usfull input
    Quote Originally Posted by peterb666 View Post
    So is the issue you just plugged them into 240v w/o a step-down transformer. BTW, I would suggest you get a higher rated transformer than the absolute minimum rating to provide a little overhead.

    Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk

  15. #15
    I am older than I look. peterb666's Avatar
    Join Date
    31 Oct 2009
    Location
    Tura Beach, NSW
    Posts
    3,597
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Not so bad and the transformer will be useful if you acquire any other US gear.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •