User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  5
Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: My lens wont focus on my grey card? Help!

  1. #1
    Site Rules Breach - Permanent Ban mandab99's Avatar
    Join Date
    17 Mar 2011
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    141
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    My lens wont focus on my grey card? Help!

    Hi

    I just purchased a 18% grey card. For some reason my 50mm 1.8 lens wont focus on it?
    I have tried from various angles and distances with no luck....confused

    Please help!!!

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    30 May 2009
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    2,599
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Why do you need to focus?

    The card helps with metering - not focus.
    Canon 7D : Canon EF 70-200mm f:2.8 L IS II USM - Canon EF 24-105 f:4 L IS USM - Canon EF 50mm f:1.8 - Canon EF-s 18-55mm f:3.5-5.6
    Sigma APO 150-500mm f:5-6.3 DG OS HSM
    - Sigma 10-20mm f:3.5 EX DC HSM
    Speedlite 580 EX II - Nissin Di866 II - Yongnuo 460-II x2 - Kenko extension tube set - Canon Extender EF 1.4x II
    Manfroto monopod - SILK 700DX Pro tripod - Remote release - Cokin Z-Pro filter box + Various filters

    Current Social Experiment: CAPRIL - Wearing a cape for the month of April to support Beyond Blue
    Visit me on Flickr

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    28 Aug 2008
    Location
    Adelaide
    Posts
    1,913
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Scotty72 View Post
    Why do you need to focus?

    The card helps with metering - not focus.
    no the card does affect focus lock by lacking colour contrast or having shine on it if shot outdoors. AF works by focusing on contrasts so if u focus on something white, or shiny large surface it wont lock on.

    OP I hope u arent using it inside the minimum focusing distance of the 50 f1.8! Have you tried opening the aperture up to say f2.8 or bigger? Also use the centre AF point as well, if you are using it outdoors or somewhere bright, go in the shade and try again.

  4. #4
    Site Rules Breach - Permanent Ban
    Join Date
    03 Aug 2010
    Location
    Coombabah
    Posts
    1,765
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Maybe you need an edge of the card in view to focus & then move to the centre of the card to snap ?
    Col

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    22 Jul 2010
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    337
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    As colinbm said, point at the edge of the grey card, focus, recompose, take the photo.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    30 May 2009
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    2,599
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Do you want to use the card to help with the camera's settings or do you actually want to take a photo of the card?

  7. #7
    Site Rules Breach - Permanent Ban
    Threadstarter
    mandab99's Avatar
    Join Date
    17 Mar 2011
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    141
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    JM Tran, Definitly not trying to use inside the min focusing distance...
    I am using it for camera settings and would also like a photo of it for reference.
    If I focused on the edge of it then it wouldnt completley fill my image, so wouldnt the metering be incorrect?...Is my thinking wrong? This is all new to me, so I am getting a little confused

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    30 May 2009
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    2,599
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    In order to get the settings, you don't need to have it in focus - just point the camera at it, fill the frame and that's it. Focus is irrelevant.

    If you want to take a photo of the card, then the metering is not really relevant (for the purpose of getting the photo) as if, you are taking a photo of a card (and you want it to look like a card), you'll need to show the edges in order to give it some perspective. Once you do that, the metering may be affected by the light spilling over the edges.

    My head hurts

    Scotty

  9. #9
    Perpetually Bewildered fillum's Avatar
    Join Date
    13 Sep 2009
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    1,119
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Depending on how your camera is set up you might not be able to fire the shutter without focus lock. Just switch to manual focus for this one...



    Cheers.
    Phil.

    Some Nikon stuff. I shoot Mirrorless and Mirrorlessless.


  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    06 Nov 2010
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    197
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Just thought I'd chip in and lend support to Scotty72's posts. You do NOT need to focus on a grey card to use it. Set your lens to MF, fill the frame with the grey card, and take the shot/meter the exposure.
    --=3 In Veritas Lux E=--
    Bodies: Canon EOS 5D Mk II, Canon EOS 550D
    Lenses: EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II USM, EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM, EF 50mm f/1.4 USM
    Strobist: 2 x Speedlite 580EXII, 4 x Yongnuo RF-603 Radio Tranceivers, Yongnuo ST-E2 IR Transmitter
    3 x Manfrotto Light Stands, 2 x Softboxes, 2 x Bounce Brollies
    Tripod: Vanguard Alta Pro 263AT, PH-50 Panhead

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    12 Feb 2008
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    7,837
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Some cameras actually are set not to take a photo if not in focus (unless in full manual) too
    Darren
    Gear : Nikon Goodness
    Website : http://www.peakactionimages.com
    Please support Precious Hearts
    Constructive Critique of my images always appreciated

  12. #12
    Site Rules Breach - Permanent Ban
    Threadstarter
    mandab99's Avatar
    Join Date
    17 Mar 2011
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    141
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks guys...being such a newbie I didnt realize that my camera didnt have to be in focus to get a metering. I also changed over to MF to get the shot of the card for reference.

  13. #13
    Member claytonchatham's Avatar
    Join Date
    21 Aug 2011
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    5
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You don't need to focus to white balance. However, if you want it for reference, get a black pen and put a few dots in the middle. It's quite acceptable and will work just as well. It doesn't need to fill the frame, it just needs to be close. However why you would want it for reference I dont know - you will never have the same light conditions again so why would you want to re use it?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •