User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  0
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Exposure Meter

  1. #1
    Member dmrphotography's Avatar
    Join Date
    06 Jul 2011
    Location
    North West Coast
    Posts
    101
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Exposure Meter

    I not sure what i have done. But was changing some of the settings in my Nikon D7000 camera. And now the +-----0------- is all the way to the right. It never used to be like that. Like from o to the right side it has all strokes. Is there something i have done. Any help much appreciated.

    Cheers Dean

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    12 Feb 2008
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    7,837
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Did you dial in some ev comp ?
    Darren
    Gear : Nikon Goodness
    Website : http://www.peakactionimages.com
    Please support Precious Hearts
    Constructive Critique of my images always appreciated

  3. #3
    Administrator ricktas's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    15,138
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    As Kiwi says, its generally the result of exposure compensation. Look it up in your manual, to see how to adjust it back. If all else fails, you can always do a 'factory reset'.
    Last edited by ricktas; 15-08-2011 at 5:42am.
    "It is one thing to make a picture of what a person looks like, it is another thing to make a portrait of who they are" - Paul Caponigro

    Constructive Critique of my photographs is always appreciated
    Nikon, etc!

    RICK
    My Photography

  4. #4
    Ausphotography Regular
    Join Date
    27 May 2009
    Location
    Northern Beaches - Sydney
    Posts
    748
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ummm... this may be a silly question, but is your lens cap on?

    Otherwise, are you in (M)anual exposure? If so you need to change either shutter speed (slower) or aperture (wider) until the meter is centred.
    David

    Nikon D810
    Nikkor AF-S 24-120VR, Nikkor AF-S 16-35VR, Nikkor AF-S 70-300VR, Nikkor AF 50 f1.8
    Tamron 90mm Macro

  5. #5
    Member
    Threadstarter
    dmrphotography's Avatar
    Join Date
    06 Jul 2011
    Location
    North West Coast
    Posts
    101
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    For some reason when in manual mode when i click the info button on bottom right side of camera the exposure bar is flashing. Looks like something is locked.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    07 Apr 2007
    Location
    Gold Coast
    Posts
    58
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    there is no exposure compensation in manual mode.. you set the shutter speed, aperture and ISO to get the correct exposure..

  7. #7
    Perpetually Bewildered fillum's Avatar
    Join Date
    13 Sep 2009
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    1,119
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    In manual mode on the D300, exposure compensation does affect the little indicator thing ( +-----0------- ), although it doesn't affect the actual settings. I think it flashes when current settings exceed the limits of the indicator (can't remember how many stops off the top of my head). I would think the D7000 would work the same.

    Also sounds to me like an exposure comp issue. Although as Rick suggests, a system reset might be the quickest solution.


    Cheers.
    Phil.

    Some Nikon stuff. I shoot Mirrorless and Mirrorlessless.


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •