User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  0
Results 1 to 17 of 17

Thread: Shutter Button not working

  1. #1
    Ausphotography Regular wideangle's Avatar
    Join Date
    28 Sep 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    1,460
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Shutter Button not working

    I was out taking some photos today when my shutter button didn't respond! I can turn the camera on OK and all the other buttons work fine for looking at photos and changing options etc, expect for
    the shutter button. Interestingly when you review photos and press the shutter button it still turns off the back screen. It's only when trying to shoot that it doesn't work.

    Can anyone let me know if they have had similar experiences and if this is likely to be a shutter issue or a mirror issue?

    Does anybody know what you would be looking at to get it repaired?
    Last edited by wideangle; 13-08-2011 at 6:32pm.
    please ask before PP my images

    "Life is what happens to you while your busy making other plans"

  2. #2
    Serial Truant.... phild's Avatar
    Join Date
    01 Jun 2008
    Location
    Launceston
    Posts
    515
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The immediate thought that comes to mind is that the shutter mechanism has stopped working. Does a half press on te button activate AF etc??
    Last edited by phild; 13-08-2011 at 6:44pm.
    Phil

  3. #3
    Ausphotography Regular
    Threadstarter
    wideangle's Avatar
    Join Date
    28 Sep 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    1,460
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by phild View Post
    The immediate thought that comes to mind is that the shutter mechanism has stopped working. Does a half press on te button activate AF etc??
    I didn't check if the red buttons illuminate the AF Phil. When I press half way when reviewing images on the back of screen the shutter is responsive. Any idea on how much it would cost to get the shutter mechanism replaced if that's what it is?
    Last edited by wideangle; 13-08-2011 at 6:46pm.

  4. #4
    Ausphotography Site Sponsor/Advertiser OzzieTraveller's Avatar
    Join Date
    12 Oct 2009
    Location
    Forster- Tuncurry, eastern Australia
    Posts
    1,600
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    G'day WA

    Lots of possibilities here mate ...
    As the pressing of the shutter button controls a myriad of sequential events, it is near impossible to give a categorical yes/no to anything
    So - sorry to say ... it seems like a job for the Canon repair centre to examine & quote on

    Regards, Phil
    Of all the stuff in a busy photographers kitbag, the ability to see photographically is the most important
    google me at Travelling School of Photography
    images.: flickr.com/photos/ozzie_traveller/sets/

  5. #5
    Ausphotography Regular
    Threadstarter
    wideangle's Avatar
    Join Date
    28 Sep 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    1,460
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by OzzieTraveller View Post
    G'day WA

    Lots of possibilities here mate ...
    As the pressing of the shutter button controls a myriad of sequential events, it is near impossible to give a categorical yes/no to anything
    So - sorry to say ... it seems like a job for the Canon repair centre to examine & quote on

    Regards, Phil
    Yes, your thoughts are what I have been thinking as well, just wondering how much it would be and if it would be worth the repair compared to just getting another camera.

  6. #6
    In Training MarkChap's Avatar
    Join Date
    09 Jan 2008
    Location
    Widgee, Queensland
    Posts
    2,228
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    wild guess, left field - Check that you have not knocked the AF/MF switch on the lens. If the lens is set to MF (manual focus) the camera won't achieve focus and therefore will not take an image.
    Smoke Alarms Save Lives, Install One Today
    I shoot Canon
    Cheers, Mark


  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    04 Nov 2009
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    347
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    What model Camera is it, 50D and earlier have this as an issue. Will half press but not take the photo. Do a Google on 50D shutter button issues.
    I sent my 50D to canon and they repaired it twice under warranty, camera back in a week each time. Otherwise if you are keen fix it yourself see http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CAWGScQeC5g

  8. #8
    Ausphotography Regular
    Threadstarter
    wideangle's Avatar
    Join Date
    28 Sep 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    1,460
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by MarkChap View Post
    wild guess, left field - Check that you have not knocked the AF/MF switch on the lens. If the lens is set to MF (manual focus) the camera won't achieve focus and therefore will not take an image.
    Yeah checked this, but when the lens is in MF, it will take a shot regardless, just may be out of focus as it isn't auto-focused.

  9. #9
    Ausphotography Regular
    Threadstarter
    wideangle's Avatar
    Join Date
    28 Sep 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    1,460
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Old Skool View Post
    What model Camera is it, 50D and earlier have this as an issue. Will half press but not take the photo. Do a Google on 50D shutter button issues.
    I sent my 50D to canon and they repaired it twice under warranty, camera back in a week each time. Otherwise if you are keen fix it yourself see http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CAWGScQeC5g
    Thanks for your feedback, seems like an issue that happens to quite a few then.

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    28 Aug 2008
    Location
    Adelaide
    Posts
    1,913
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by wideangle View Post
    Thanks for your feedback, seems like an issue that happens to quite a few then.
    its a common occurrence on the older 40D too from my experiences

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    19 Jul 2010
    Location
    Mount Isa
    Posts
    224
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Can you take a picture with the lens set to manual focus? If so you may have an autofocus problem which could be lens or body related. It may even be something as easy as cleaning the contacts between the body and lens.

  12. #12
    Ausphotography Regular
    Threadstarter
    wideangle's Avatar
    Join Date
    28 Sep 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    1,460
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by GTP 290 View Post
    Can you take a picture with the lens set to manual focus? If so you may have an autofocus problem which could be lens or body related. It may even be something as easy as cleaning the contacts between the body and lens.
    Nope cannot take photos when the lens is set to manual focus.

  13. #13
    Ausphotography Regular
    Threadstarter
    wideangle's Avatar
    Join Date
    28 Sep 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    1,460
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by GTP 290 View Post
    Can you take a picture with the lens set to manual focus? If so you may have an autofocus problem which could be lens or body related. It may even be something as easy as cleaning the contacts between the body and lens.
    Would have thought that the camera would show up something like "error 99" if there was an error with dirty contacts. Thanks for the suggestion.

  14. #14
    Ausphotography Regular
    Threadstarter
    wideangle's Avatar
    Join Date
    28 Sep 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    1,460
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Back from the dead! OK I have no idea what's happening, but now the camera's shutter is working again. I took the battery in and out and it still didn't work, then moment later it did??!!

  15. #15
    Fishy bricat's Avatar
    Join Date
    06 Apr 2010
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    747
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You do have the latest software updates?

  16. #16
    Ausphotography Regular
    Threadstarter
    wideangle's Avatar
    Join Date
    28 Sep 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    1,460
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by bricat View Post
    You do have the latest software updates?
    The same that came with the camera, and it had been working fine over the 6 years of its life so cannot imagine it would be related to software related updates. Still wondering if it's just a button issue, getting stuck and then coming back to life and slowly getting more stuck over time.

  17. #17
    Drifter, Racer and Picture Taker
    Join Date
    08 Oct 2010
    Location
    Greenwich
    Posts
    1,708
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I have often found that with modern electronic devices that they get locked up occasionally for no good reason.
    Phones, cameras, computers - you name it.

    I have found that a good way to get the device to re-boot is to remove the battery while the device is still switched on, wait 10 or seconds, then put the battery back in and switch the device on.
    Works at least 90% of the time.
    All my photos are taken with recycled pixels.
    Knowledge is knowing that a tomato is a fruit.
    Wisdom, is knowing not to serve it in a fruit salad.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •