User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  1
Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Photoshop CS5 help

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    25 May 2010
    Location
    Armidale
    Posts
    444
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Photoshop CS5 help

    Does anyone know why when I sharpen an image in CS5 and then save it as a JPEG I lose the changes I have made? Once I open the sharpened image it is back to the way it originally was. I need to be able to copy my images to CD and also email them to people who don't have photoshop on their computers. Should I be saving them in a different format? Please help!!!

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    28 Sep 2010
    Location
    brisbane
    Posts
    675
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Flatten the layers and save it as a different name then check
    You can call me Jez

  3. #3
    Arch-Σigmoid Ausphotography Regular ameerat42's Avatar
    Join Date
    18 Sep 2009
    Location
    Nthn Sydney
    Posts
    16,827
    Mentioned
    21 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hmm! It must be like CS2. Assuming you are NOT in Bridge and working on a raw file, then...
    You have an image open and you apply a sharpening filter.
    Once done, select from the menu: File, Save As...
    Locate where you are going to save it to.
    Select the file type, here JPEG, then click OK
    Now give the sharpened file a new name.
    Select the quality level. (I always use maximum, but then...)
    Select OK.

    Otherwise, give us a stepwise description of what you're doing.
    Am.
    Last edited by ameerat42; 25-07-2011 at 4:22pm.
    CC, Image editing OK.

  4. #4
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    25 May 2010
    Location
    Armidale
    Posts
    444
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    What I've been doing is:
    Open image
    CTRL-A (select entire image)
    Filter - sharpen
    File - Save As (I've been saving the image but not changing the file name into a different folder)
    Select maximum in quality level
    Select OK.

    If I have the image open in photoshop as well as in the new folder I have saved it into the difference in sharpness is quite noticeable between the two. The photoshop image is always much sharper.

  5. #5
    Arch-Σigmoid Ausphotography Regular ameerat42's Avatar
    Join Date
    18 Sep 2009
    Location
    Nthn Sydney
    Posts
    16,827
    Mentioned
    21 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    OK. Open Image. Q: What sort of image, like raw, tiff, jpeg? What stage of image is it? Just for interest.
    There should be no need to highlight the WHOLE image. It will work on the whole image anyway.
    OK, even saving the whole (original) image, using the same name but in a different folder should still keep the changes.
    I can't think of anything obvious that would be producing the result you say. (And from your description you are not working in Bridge.)
    (???)
    Am.

  6. #6
    Administrator ricktas's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    15,644
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Where are you saving them to. My guess is you are saving them somewhere else on your computer, so when you go back and open the file, its the original cause the new version is saved elsewhere. So when you go File Save..etc. Make a note of WHERE the file is being saved. Then using explorer (PC), go to that folder and have a look.
    "It is one thing to make a picture of what a person looks like, it is another thing to make a portrait of who they are" - Paul Caponigro

    Constructive Critique of my photographs is always appreciated
    Nikon, etc!

    RICK
    My Photography

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    02 Oct 2010
    Location
    Tyabb
    Posts
    191
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    another thought is that if you are using the 'sharpen' command alone then there will not be a lot of visible difference.
    In the 'Filters' section, try 'smart sharpen' or 'unsharp mask' to allow you to see the diffence that you are making.

    Then as ricktas has suggeste, make sure you are saving the file into a folder that you are confident you can find again.

  8. #8
    Arch-Σigmoid Ausphotography Regular ameerat42's Avatar
    Join Date
    18 Sep 2009
    Location
    Nthn Sydney
    Posts
    16,827
    Mentioned
    21 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hmm! That's what was eluding me last evening. I'd agree it's a distinct possibility, Rick.
    Am.(Can't find the slap-in-the-head icon.)
    Last edited by ameerat42; 26-07-2011 at 9:22am.

  9. #9
    Ausphotography Regular agb's Avatar
    Join Date
    15 Sep 2010
    Location
    Cleveland
    Posts
    825
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Can I ask, why is it necessary to do a Ctrl-A ( select all) before sharpening? I would have thought that this was an unnecessary step in the process. Should not file-open-filter( select the sharpening process) and ok hae been enough?
    The age of entitlement isn't over, it's just over there where you can't get to it.
    When several possibilities exist, the simplest solution is the best.
    "There are no rules" Bruce Barnbaum, The art of Photography
    Graham


  10. #10
    Arch-Σigmoid Ausphotography Regular ameerat42's Avatar
    Join Date
    18 Sep 2009
    Location
    Nthn Sydney
    Posts
    16,827
    Mentioned
    21 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by agb View Post
    Can I ask, why is it necessary to do a Ctrl-A ( select all) before sharpening? I would have thought that this was an unnecessary step in the process. Should not file-open-filter( select the sharpening process) and ok hae been enough?
    Agb. It is. Am.

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    19 Jul 2010
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    87
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Are you sure you're judging the sharpness at 100%? Different programs render images differently when they're shrunk down.
    Damien
    My site

  12. #12
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    25 May 2010
    Location
    Armidale
    Posts
    444
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    agb, thank you for bringing it to my attention that it isn't necessary to CTRL-A before sharpening (even though it only takes a second to do it). As I'm still becoming familiar with the program all these little pointers help. After I save the image I save it into a folder on my computer that I can find so that is no problem but it's when I go back into that image I have saved it certainly doesn't look as sharp as it does when opened in photoshop. Because I email these images to people (I have had someone email them back to me) they don't seem to come across as sharp. Maybe it's just me. I save these as a jpeg normally. Should I be saving them as a different type of file or in a different folder?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •