User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  0
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Any idea - AEB is playing up

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    30 May 2009
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    2,599
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Any idea - AEB is playing up

    I am not sure if this is:
    a) a camera issue;
    b) a canon issue; or
    c) something weird I have done


    At times, when I try to use the AEB (Auto Exposure Bracketing) feature on my 7d. Occasionally, the menu system wont let me set this (that feature is greyed out as though it is not available)

    As best I can figure, this happens only when the 24-105L is attached - and only about 50-60% of the time.

    I can't figure out another reason that contributes.

    It NEVER happens with any other lens - EVER.

    Is there some issue with the lens that may stop the camera from going into AEB mode - I never knew it mattered as AEB varies the shutter speed (nothing to do with the lens).

    Other than this, the lens is working perfectly (so far - touches wood)

    Any ideas?
    Last edited by Scotty72; 23-07-2011 at 3:46pm.
    Canon 7D : Canon EF 70-200mm f:2.8 L IS II USM - Canon EF 24-105 f:4 L IS USM - Canon EF 50mm f:1.8 - Canon EF-s 18-55mm f:3.5-5.6
    Sigma APO 150-500mm f:5-6.3 DG OS HSM
    - Sigma 10-20mm f:3.5 EX DC HSM
    Speedlite 580 EX II - Nissin Di866 II - Yongnuo 460-II x2 - Kenko extension tube set - Canon Extender EF 1.4x II
    Manfroto monopod - SILK 700DX Pro tripod - Remote release - Cokin Z-Pro filter box + Various filters

    Current Social Experiment: CAPRIL - Wearing a cape for the month of April to support Beyond Blue
    Visit me on Flickr

  2. #2
    can't remember Tannin's Avatar
    Join Date
    16 Apr 2007
    Location
    Ballarat
    Posts
    2,895
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    There are several weird-seeming things that prevent AEB from operating, if my memory serves correctly, Scotty. I think one of them is highlight tone priority, and there were a couple of others. Are you using the exact same camera settings with the 24-105 as with your other lenses?

  3. #3
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    30 May 2009
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    2,599
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Tannin View Post
    There are several weird-seeming things that prevent AEB from operating, if my memory serves correctly, Scotty. I think one of them is highlight tone priority, and there were a couple of others. Are you using the exact same camera settings with the 24-105 as with your other lenses?
    Yep. I can be in the middle of a shoot, have another lens on shooting with AEB.

    Turn off camera; change lens to 24-105, turn back on and, when I try to turn AEB back on (it resets when turned off) = no dice. Even if I leave the power on when changing lenses = no deal.

    And, as I shoot RAW, I've not changed any of those types of settings
    Last edited by Scotty72; 23-07-2011 at 5:13pm.

  4. #4
    can't remember Tannin's Avatar
    Join Date
    16 Apr 2007
    Location
    Ballarat
    Posts
    2,895
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ouch! Have you cleaned your contacts?

  5. #5
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    30 May 2009
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    2,599
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yep. Sure have.

    The 24-105 is coping some bad raps lately.

    I can't work out why this would be the case. I didn't think the camera cared about the lens as far as AEB was concerned.

    In fact, just now, I removed the lens (so - no lens attached), set the AEB, took three exposures (no so sharp ).

    So, without a lens the AEB works.

    Why the 24-105 interfers with this (sometimes) is a real

  6. #6
    can't remember Tannin's Avatar
    Join Date
    16 Apr 2007
    Location
    Ballarat
    Posts
    2,895
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'm out of clues, mate. Time to visit Canon, I think.

  7. #7
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    30 May 2009
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    2,599
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Tannin View Post
    I'm out of clues, mate. Time to visit Canon, I think.
    I'm not going anywhere near those [self-edited - maybe I said 'angels'] if I can help it.

    It may be coincidence - it may be a sign the lens is 'near its time'. Who knows but, otherwise, it is working fab.

    Scotty

  8. #8
    can't remember Tannin's Avatar
    Join Date
    16 Apr 2007
    Location
    Ballarat
    Posts
    2,895
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I have sent stuff to Canon in Sydney several times, Scotty, and have always had prompt, courteous, effective service to my complete satisfaction. Every single time. I could wish that it was cheaper, but when was that ever untrue? They do a great job in my (not insignificant) experience.

  9. #9
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    30 May 2009
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    2,599
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Glad YOU have

  10. #10
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    30 May 2009
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    2,599
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I think I may have solved this mystery...

    http://www.ausphotography.net.au/for...388#post894388

    very annoyed

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •