User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  2
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: preset m42 lens ?

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    15 Dec 2009
    Location
    central west
    Posts
    933
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    preset m42 lens ?

    Today I scored a long lens. 400 mm 6.3 m42 ( around 600mm on a crop body ?) I have whacked it on the camera and had a quick play.....now I need some tips? hints ? on how to use it. It is an early preset with the 2 aperture rings.....I have googled it but its not making much sense ....I set the front aperture ring to one f-stop and then the back one to another? How do I know which to set to what? and why?
    and is there some way to tighten up the tripod collar? It seems to be all in one piece but it rotates around the lens
    So if anyone can explain the basics to me I would be eternally grateful
    cheers
    Jan

  2. #2
    Ausphotography Regular
    Join Date
    27 May 2009
    Location
    Northern Beaches - Sydney
    Posts
    748
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I had a preset aperture lens back before time began....

    How it works is you set the back (i think) ring to the aperture you want to shoot at, while the actual aperture stays wide open for focusing. When you want to take the shot, you turn the front ring to match the (preset) back ring, which closes the lens down to the selected aperture. You can get quite good at focus, stop down, shoot, open up again autoamatically.

    I am not sure which ring is the preset, and which stops the lens down, but just see which one actually closes the aperture, and preset with the other one. It allows you to manually close the lens to your selectd aperture without having to take your eye away from the viewfinder.

    Good luck!

    I should add, the camera I had with the pre-set lens was completely manual everything, with no light meter inside. I had to use an external light meter, choose my shutter speed and aperture, then set them on the camera. I am not sure how you would use one on a DSLR. You would have to be in Manual exposure mode, and already know what shutter and aperture you wanted to use... I am not sure if the camera's meter will work with a pre-set lens?
    Last edited by davidd; 21-07-2011 at 8:16pm.
    David

    Nikon D810
    Nikkor AF-S 24-120VR, Nikkor AF-S 16-35VR, Nikkor AF-S 70-300VR, Nikkor AF 50 f1.8
    Tamron 90mm Macro

  3. #3
    Arch-Σigmoid Ausphotography Regular ameerat42's Avatar
    Join Date
    18 Sep 2009
    Location
    Nthn Sydney
    Posts
    14,869
    Mentioned
    16 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I have such a specimen, at present on loan to a friend in the country, so memory must serve. You set one ring - is it the back one? - wide open, then you focus, set your desired shutter speed, and then stop down the front ring until you meter the exposure correctly. That's it. Shoot. Don't expect anything fast to happen. Enjoy the photographic life "as time goes by".

    OK, you can set your camera to Av, or Manual, then make your adjustments, and hope that the shutter speed doesn't drop to several seconds.

    Would you be able to post a pic or 2 of it? Just to verify it's something like the one I have.
    Ta. Am.
    Edited addition. They usually have "quite reasonable" IQ, because they are a fairly simple optical design with very few demands on the optical elements. And they are quite stopped down, (typically f/5.6-f/8) so eliminating lots of otherwise potential lens aberrations.
    Last edited by ameerat42; 21-07-2011 at 7:58pm.
    CC, Image editing OK.

  4. #4
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    15 Dec 2009
    Location
    central west
    Posts
    933
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks guys.......I still dont get it lol but I think I have more of an idea I will play again tomorrow and see if I can work it out. The couple of shots I took today seemed fairly sharp to me.......even when I had it set to 50mm and wasn't quite sure which end to look thru! Batteries are flat so will charge them up and take a few of the lens in my lunch hour I am enjoying my photographic life......love it when time goes by!

  5. #5
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    15 Dec 2009
    Location
    central west
    Posts
    933
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    So I found some info on this lens......http://www.butkus.org/chinon/booklet...mex_lenses.htm its amazing what you can find ! I also had a bit of a play after work...lunch didnt happen today For some reason on my K5 these pictures exif data is incorrect...the data tells me f2.8 when I know thats not possible. I also need to find a thumb screw so the collar doesn't rotate......maybe not a million $ lens but not too shabby to play with!




    cheers
    Jan

  6. #6
    Ausphotography Regular
    Join Date
    27 May 2009
    Location
    Northern Beaches - Sydney
    Posts
    748
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The exif will never be correct for the aperture with this lens, as the camera has no way of knowing what the lens is set to.

  7. #7
    Member KevPride's Avatar
    Join Date
    27 Jun 2008
    Location
    Modbury North
    Posts
    467
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yes they are certainly worth playing with - the optics are usually very sharp - especially if it is a Chinon.
    Regards
    Kevin

    Pentax K3, Pentax Tamron Sigma short glass
    Nikon D500. nikkor 200-500 f5.6.

    http://www.flickr.com/photos/kevpride/

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •