Thread: A brief history of Ausphotography

Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

A brief history of Ausphotography

A member recently commented in a thread about the history of the site:

A history of Ausphotography (AP).

www.ausphotography.net.au first appeared on the 3rd June 2006 after being created by Craig and Melissa Miller(Gypsy), who had looked for a site that suited them, but not finding one decided to create their own. They wanted a site that welcomed absolute beginners alongside the more experienced photographers.

So Ausphotography was born.

On that start-up date, AP had 3 members, and by the end of June 2006 was up to 59 members. The site started to grow from there and by the end of the July 2006 the membership was 94 members. At the end of 2006, the membership had risen to 223. Early on, a competition was run for the existing members to refer other members to the site. The more referrals a member got, the more chance they had of winning as small prize.

I joined AP in June 2007 as member number 659, after using google to find a forum that I liked the ‘feel’ of. Soon after, Craig invited me to take on a moderator role, which I was delighted to accept, cause AP was the photography forum I visited most.

Then in November 2007 Craig posted in the moderators area that he wanted to sell the site and were any mods interested. As I was the newest mod at that time, I sat back. After a couple of weeks, there wasn’t any interest in taking the site over, so I thought, I cannot let this close down, and after a couple of phone calls, I purchased AP from Craig and Melissa. Then reality hit and I thought ‘crap, I have no idea how to run a website’, but with help from Craig, Melissa and the mods, the change-over happened smoothly.

Today (July 2011), AP has over 14,000 members and is still growing at an average of 10-15 new members every day.