User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  1
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Remote camera control??

  1. #1
    Member inmotion's Avatar
    Join Date
    01 Oct 2009
    Location
    Adelaide
    Posts
    153
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Remote camera control??

    I Wish to remotely trigger a camera within 20-40 meters
    Can this be done from a second camera?
    eg set up a close camera with wide angle and fire it with a second body using say a 70-200? so two types of shot are captured
    cheers jim

  2. #2
    A royal pain in the bum! arthurking83's Avatar
    Join Date
    04 Jun 2006
    Location
    the worst house, in the best street
    Posts
    7,710
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Sounds weird, but not that I'm aware of.

    Unless you have some strange mouse trap setup where the camera with the 70-200 is set to fall over and land on the exposure release of the camera with the wide angle lens.. I dare say .... No!

    What you can do tho, is acquire some type of remote trigger system, such as a third party wireless remote, or a flash triggering system.
    (personally, I'd be inclined to get the wireless remote devices.. which I have, as I generally don't have much use for remote studio flash triggers).

    Be wary of which thirdparty triggers you get too!
    I have two different types of the Phottix brand, and each have their own unique features and disadvantages.
    The original version I got,(the Cleon) has a wireless system where you set some dip switches to operate on a specific frequency. In some instances this can actually be a bad thing, as you can get cross interference from another trigger source.
    Highly improbable, but the possibility is greater than it is with the Plato trigger, which is supposedly a better system.
    In your case tho, you want this interference, as it will allow you to trigger two cameras at the same time, because you would deliberately set them to operate on the same frequency.
    One remote trigger, two remote recievers, two cameras exposing at the push of a single (wireless) button.

    Alternatively, you could easily wire up a wired solution using easily available parts for a Canon camera.(harder to acquire the correct parts for Nikon cameras).
    Nikon D800E, D300, D70s
    {Nikon} -> 50/1.2 : 500/8(CPU'd) : 105/2.8VR Micro : 180/2.8ais : 105mm f/1.8ais : 24mm/2ais
    {Sigma}; ->10-20/4-5.6 : 50/1.4 : 12-24/4.5-5.6II : 150-600mm|S
    {Tamron}; -> 17-50/2.8 : 28-75/2.8 : 70-200/2.8 : 300/2.8 SP MF : 24-70/2.8VC


  3. #3
    Moderately Underexposed I @ M's Avatar
    Join Date
    04 May 2007
    Location
    Marlo, Far East Gippsland
    Posts
    4,864
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yes, it can be done easily.

    A yongnuo RF602 trigger mounted on the "activating" cameras flash hot shoe can set of the RF602 receiver plugged in as a remote shutter release on the "slave" camera.
    40 to 60 metres would be easily within the capabilities.
    Andrew
    Nikon, Fuji, Nikkor, Sigma, Tamron, Tokina and too many other bits and pieces to list.



  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    12 Feb 2008
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    7,837
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    as andrew says, pocket wizards are the rolls royce solution. You cant do it without this sort of thing, or a long cable (which is common also)
    Darren
    Gear : Nikon Goodness
    Website : http://www.peakactionimages.com
    Please support Precious Hearts
    Constructive Critique of my images always appreciated

  5. #5
    Member
    Threadstarter
    inmotion's Avatar
    Join Date
    01 Oct 2009
    Location
    Adelaide
    Posts
    153
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    thanks Andrew and Kiwi will change battery and try tomorrow--jim

  6. #6
    A royal pain in the bum! arthurking83's Avatar
    Join Date
    04 Jun 2006
    Location
    the worst house, in the best street
    Posts
    7,710
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by I @ M View Post
    Yes, it can be done easily.

    A yongnuo RF602 trigger mounted on the "activating" cameras flash hot shoe can set of the RF602 receiver plugged in as a remote shutter release on the "slave" camera.
    40 to 60 metres would be easily within the capabilities.
    AHA! of course.
    It's the same operation as firing the slave flash, only that you've substituted the slave flash for a slave camera.

    Makes sense. Thanks.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •