User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  0
Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: a mates 450d is not cooperating.. need advice please

  1. #1
    Ausphotography Regular
    Join Date
    28 Oct 2009
    Location
    hobart
    Posts
    626
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    a mates 450d is not cooperating.. need advice please

    this is what his sms said
    " dude you are awesome "


    oh and this...
    " my camera has just stopped taking pics.... the flash pops up like its going to take a shot but doesnt make shutter noise and doesnt take a pic... "

    i have asked him the following...
    is it trying to focus in bad light ?
    try putting in manual focus,..

    are you trying to focus to close ?

    ive walked him through manual / tv and av modes...

    some advice would br great as he wants to gets some shots of his little baby

    cheers
    Last edited by rowdy23; 22-06-2011 at 5:28pm.

  2. #2
    can't remember
    Join Date
    16 Apr 2007
    Location
    Ballarat
    Posts
    2,010
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Good advice. Switch to manual focus first, yep, that's often the cause.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    30 May 2009
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    2,599
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    put the lens in manual focus and try to take a pic...

    if nothing happens, it sounds grim
    Canon 7D : Canon EF 70-200mm f:2.8 L IS II USM - Canon EF 24-105 f:4 L IS USM - Canon EF 50mm f:1.8 - Canon EF-s 18-55mm f:3.5-5.6
    Sigma APO 150-500mm f:5-6.3 DG OS HSM
    - Sigma 10-20mm f:3.5 EX DC HSM
    Speedlite 580 EX II - Nissin Di866 II - Yongnuo 460-II x2 - Kenko extension tube set - Canon Extender EF 1.4x II
    Manfroto monopod - SILK 700DX Pro tripod - Remote release - Cokin Z-Pro filter box + Various filters

    Current Social Experiment: CAPRIL - Wearing a cape for the month of April to support Beyond Blue
    Visit me on Flickr

  4. #4
    Ausphotography Regular
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    28 Oct 2009
    Location
    hobart
    Posts
    626
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    thanks guys.....

    manual focus isnt helping either.....


  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    28 Aug 2008
    Location
    Adelaide
    Posts
    1,913
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    first thing before u do anything, is to remove the battery and re-insert it to reset the camera - if it still doesnt fire then you have a serious problem

    I had a very similar problem on my ancient Pentax DL where upon being switched on the flash would pop up, but I cannot fire or access the menu or do anything. Turns out the circuit boards inside had died. The camera had been dropped in a creek though.

  6. #6
    Ausphotography Regular
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    28 Oct 2009
    Location
    hobart
    Posts
    626
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    great advice grand poobah.

    thanks for your help...
    im heading to my mates now...

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    12 Feb 2008
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    7,837
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Dumb question. There's a card ? It's ok ?
    Darren
    Gear : Nikon Goodness
    Website : http://www.peakactionimages.com
    Please support Precious Hearts
    Constructive Critique of my images always appreciated

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    09 Mar 2010
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    445
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Is he getting the Err99 message? If it only happens when the flash pops up then he has more than likely blown his flash! The reason I know this is that the exact same thing happened to my 450D
    Cheers
    Emma

    Avoid shooting with a 12 gauge shotgun. Use a Canon instead.

    Canon 5D, Canon 7D, 50mm 1.4, 18-55mm, Tamron 17-50mm f2.8 VC, Sigma 70-200mm f2.8, 580EX Speedlight. Facebook

  9. #9
    Ausphotography Regular
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    28 Oct 2009
    Location
    hobart
    Posts
    626
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    thanks again fellas..
    kiwi - yep a card is there... and works fine in my old 450d
    triptych - didnt see any error codes etc..

    i personally think the camera is posessed .....
    it now takes a random shot once the camera is turned on..... it takes a random shot everytime you switch modes........ it went on a 30+ constant photo "phrenzy "

    im thinking my 450d just got a whole lot more valuable..... to him lol

  10. #10
    Administrator ricktas's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    15,213
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by rowdy23 View Post
    thanks again fellas..
    kiwi - yep a card is there... and works fine in my old 450d
    triptych - didnt see any error codes etc..

    i personally think the camera is posessed .....
    it now takes a random shot once the camera is turned on..... it takes a random shot everytime you switch modes........ it went on a 30+ constant photo "phrenzy "

    im thinking my 450d just got a whole lot more valuable..... to him lol
    AHA. this can be a dying shutter mechanism. The 450D is getting old now and how many photos has it taken? From memory the shutter in the 450D was designed for around 100,000 actuations. He may need to get a new shutter mechanism put into the camera..or just buy a newer one like the 600D/1100D etc
    "It is one thing to make a picture of what a person looks like, it is another thing to make a portrait of who they are" - Paul Caponigro

    Constructive Critique of my photographs is always appreciated
    Nikon, etc!

    RICK
    My Photography

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    30 May 2009
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    2,599
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by ricktas View Post
    AHA. this can be a dying shutter mechanism. The 450D is getting old now and how many photos has it taken? From memory the shutter in the 450D was designed for around 100,000 actuations. He may need to get a new shutter mechanism put into the camera..or just buy a newer one like the 600D/1100D etc
    If it is the shutter going / gone, I suspect the cost to replace it might not be worth it - sure, a new shutter but in an ancient camera

  12. #12
    Ausphotography Regular
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    28 Oct 2009
    Location
    hobart
    Posts
    626
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    thanks rik and scotty
    the camera hasnt been used hardly at all.... maybe 3000 shutter releases....
    i did mention to weigh up getting a new one or repair..... id go 600d... as it has hd vid etc

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •