User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  1
Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Firefox 4 and those damn incompatible add-ons (a solution)

  1. #1
    Administrator ricktas's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    15,128
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Firefox 4 and those damn incompatible add-ons (a solution)

    have you (like me and many others) upgraded to Firefox version 4 to find most of your add-ons, that you loved, won't work under FF4.

    Well I have the solution for you:

    Warning: do this at your own risk, I take no responsibility if you stuff it up


    1. Type about:config in your Firefox browser address bar and agree to the warning message.

    2. Now right click inside the browser, choose New –> Boolean, type the preference name as extensions.checkCompatibility.4.0, click OK and set it to False.

    That’s it.

    Your old add-ons will work with Firefox 4 and you will also be able to download and install any of the other incompatible add-ons from the Internet.

    I now have my EXIF viewer and Histogram Viewer Add-Ons back. ENJOY

    Note: you may have to google to find some of the add-ons as they often will not appear via the Firefox Add-ons menu. For example, inside FF4 when I went to add-ons and searched for histogram it did not find my viewer, but googling 'firefox histogram add-on' did!
    Last edited by ricktas; 01-06-2011 at 1:27pm.
    "It is one thing to make a picture of what a person looks like, it is another thing to make a portrait of who they are" - Paul Caponigro

    Constructive Critique of my photographs is always appreciated
    Nikon, etc!

    RICK
    My Photography

  2. #2
    Way Down Yonder in the Paw Paw Patch jim's Avatar
    Join Date
    27 Jun 2007
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    1,529
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by ricktas View Post
    Your old add-ons will work with Firefox 4 ...
    Unless they don't.
    All constructive criticism accepted with gratitude.


  3. #3
    Administrator
    Threadstarter
    ricktas's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    15,128
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by jim View Post
    Unless they don't.
    But that is the point of this. Even if they say they are incompatible, you can still install them and they work.

  4. #4
    It's all about the Light!
    Tech Admin
    Kym's Avatar
    Join Date
    15 Jun 2008
    Location
    Modbury, Adelaide
    Posts
    9,633
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It varies, many 3.6 ad-ons will work with 4.0; some don't.
    regards, Kym Gallery Honest & Direct Constructive Critique Appreciated! ©
    Digital & film, Bits of glass covering 10mm to 500mm, and other stuff



  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    13 Nov 2008
    Location
    Brisbane (Northside)
    Posts
    254
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I've had mixed results with this method in the past. It really depends on the plugin and how the dev's have written it.
    Matt.

  6. #6
    Member rsanders's Avatar
    Join Date
    17 Jun 2011
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    5
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I think I would have to try this one. I am really at wits end with the sluggish 3.6 firefox and I think the upgrade would be really useful if not for the incompatibility with the plug-ins. My main concern is my internet security which I think is really helpful. I have one issue though, will I be able to use the automatic install with this or will firefox block it because it was not supposed to work?

  7. #7
    Administrator
    Threadstarter
    ricktas's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    15,128
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by rsanders View Post
    I think I would have to try this one. I am really at wits end with the sluggish 3.6 firefox and I think the upgrade would be really useful if not for the incompatibility with the plug-ins. My main concern is my internet security which I think is really helpful. I have one issue though, will I be able to use the automatic install with this or will firefox block it because it was not supposed to work?
    I have found some auto-install and others need you to run the file to install them.

  8. #8
    Account Closed reaction's Avatar
    Join Date
    18 Sep 2008
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    792
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    yeh, v4 has been out so long but stuff still doesn't work.
    this will help

  9. #9
    Administrator
    Threadstarter
    ricktas's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    15,128
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by reaction View Post
    yeh, v4 has been out so long but stuff still doesn't work.
    this will help
    And FF5 is just round the corner, I am using it right now

  10. #10
    Account Closed reaction's Avatar
    Join Date
    18 Sep 2008
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    792
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    yeh, I read about FF5 and FF6, what on earth are they thinking!
    nobody will ever catch up!

  11. #11
    Administrator
    Threadstarter
    ricktas's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    15,128
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by reaction View Post
    yeh, I read about FF5 and FF6, what on earth are they thinking!
    nobody will ever catch up!
    At least they are free, and not intrinsically bound to the operating system like our friends Micro$oft.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •