User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  16
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 24

Thread: "A Tutorial Screen Grab"

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    10 Jul 2010
    Location
    Gold Coast
    Posts
    6,346
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    "A Tutorial Screen Grab"

    This can be moved by the Mods if needed , I want to write a Tutorial on processing , I have a problem , To make it easy I would like to use screen grabs to show the ongoing steps, , How do you !! And what is the easiest way to go about doing "Screen Grabs" for the Tute , Help ! , I know Photoshop and LR3 , But I'm lacking some basics , Make it Dummy proof please - Bill, BTW , I'm running XP Pro SP2 and IE8 , Or Firefox if needed
    Last edited by William; 24-05-2011 at 3:56pm.
    Canon : 30D, and sometimes the 5D mkIII , Sigma 10-20, 50mm 1.8, Canon 24-105 f4 L , On loan Sigma 120-400 DG and Canon 17 - 40 f4 L , Cokin Filters




  2. #2
    Member ksolomon's Avatar
    Join Date
    30 Mar 2011
    Location
    Gold Coast
    Posts
    365
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Can't help you Bill with the tech stuff but I look forward to seeing and reading your tutorial
    Kassy
    Nikon D700
    CC Welcome and Appreciated

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    25 Jul 2007
    Location
    Central Coast
    Posts
    772
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Simplest way to do a single "grab" in windows is to click the window you want and press ctrl-alt-prtScrn (print screen). This will put a copy of the screen onto the clipboard, just open PS or MS Paint and paste it in.

    If you are after screen recording software, there are a number of free ones about. I think Microsoft have one called "Expression" or similar.
    A heap of Nikon stuff and some really bright lights!

  4. #4
    Shore Crawler Dylan & Marianne's Avatar
    Join Date
    21 Mar 2009
    Location
    Adelaide
    Posts
    8,506
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Heya Bill - looking forward to the tute!
    What I do is press the PrintScreen button which dumps the screen grab into the computers memory (I recall on one of my old PCs I had to press shift-PrintScreen for some reason)
    If you have CS3 open, open up and create a new image and simply press Ctrl-V for paste and that should be all there is to it.
    Hope that works for you?

    edit : just read ollie's post about Ctrl Alt - I think I had to do that on a previous PC but am running windows 7 and just press the 1 button now.
    Last edited by Dylan & Marianne; 24-05-2011 at 4:16pm.
    Call me Dylan! www.everlookphotography.com | www.everlookphotography.wordpress.com | www.flickr.com/photos/dmtoh
    Canon EOS 5dmk3 : 17-40 F4 L, 70-200F2.8 canon L, 24-70mm canon L, Gitzo Safari +1178 ballhead. |Canon 5dmkII, 16-35mmF2.8 II L, Gitzo 2541 )
    Singh Ray/Hitech/Lee assorted filters, Z pro modified system Cokin holder
    Post : Lightroom 3.6 catalogue -> Export as 16bit TIFF, Edited CS5 -> resized for web.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    25 Jul 2007
    Location
    Central Coast
    Posts
    772
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    @ dtoh, one grabs the entire screen, the other grabs the active window

  6. #6
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    10 Jul 2010
    Location
    Gold Coast
    Posts
    6,346
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'll do it , But I'm still not sure about getting it off the Clip Board , I can type the Tute out out , But the screen grabs would be good , Thanks guys for the help - Bill , BTW , Not tonight, I'm haveing a Senior moment , Bloody visitors with VB

  7. #7
    It's all about the Light!
    Tech Admin
    Kym's Avatar
    Join Date
    15 Jun 2008
    Location
    Modbury, Adelaide
    Posts
    9,641
    Mentioned
    18 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Win 7 has a snipping tool - I use that.

    http://graphicssoft.about.com/od/scr...or_Windows.htm

    I suggest you link in the images for now, when done I'll copy them to our server into a tute folder and link from there.

    I also recommend you post into the Library
    regards, Kym Gallery Honest & Direct Constructive Critique Appreciated! ©
    Digital & film, Bits of glass covering 10mm to 500mm, and other stuff



  8. #8
    Site Rules Breach - Permanent Ban
    Join Date
    03 Aug 2010
    Location
    Coombabah
    Posts
    1,765
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi Bill
    Here is a freebie, for when the hang-over clears over. Hair-of-the-dog works well too

    Screen Hunter software
    http://wisdom-soft.com/products/screenhunter_free.htm

    Cheers
    Col

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    09 Apr 2010
    Location
    Palm Beach
    Posts
    1,043
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If you are having no joy Bill let me know and I will bring a bourbon around and help sort it out
    Andrew

    Mostly Canon gear

  10. #10
    Ausphotography Addict
    Join Date
    07 May 2010
    Location
    Bruthen, East Gippsland
    Posts
    4,652
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Well Bill it's very simple.. With the screen you want, hit "PrtScn" on the keyboard. Then open paint. Press "Ctrl + V" on the keyboard (Paste) to bring up what you just coppied. Use the select tool to select the area you want, and press "Ctrl + C" (Copy). Then go "File" "New" then "Ctrl + V" (Paste) The trick is the white space that is not needed in paint. On the bottom right hand corner of the white bit you will see a blue dot. Hold down the left mouse button on the blue dot, the resize to suit. Easy.
    Bill.jpg
    Last edited by geoffsta; 24-05-2011 at 5:41pm.
    Geoff
    Honesty is best policy.
    CC is always welcome
    Nikon D3000 ... Nikon D90... Nikon D700 Various lenses, Home studio equipment and all the associated stuff
    Flickr

  11. #11
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    10 Jul 2010
    Location
    Gold Coast
    Posts
    6,346
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks Geoff, But I don't have Paint, I hit Print / Screen and nothing happens , Sorry to be a pain , But maybe I have a Keyboard problem , I'm Running CS5 and LR3 in Windows XP Pro SP2 , I'm a Nerd at this
    Last edited by William; 24-05-2011 at 5:58pm.

  12. #12
    It's all about the Light!
    Tech Admin
    Kym's Avatar
    Join Date
    15 Jun 2008
    Location
    Modbury, Adelaide
    Posts
    9,641
    Mentioned
    18 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Try http://www.getpaint.net/ for light weight editing of screen grabs! Mucho betterer than Windoze paint.
    Last edited by Kym; 24-05-2011 at 5:59pm.

  13. #13
    Ausphotography Addict Richard Hall's Avatar
    Join Date
    06 Jan 2007
    Location
    Adelaide
    Posts
    5,286
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by William View Post
    I don't have Paint, I hit Print / Screen and nothing happens , Sorry to be a pain , But maybe I have a Keyboard problem , I'm Running CS5 and LR3 in Windows XP Pro SP2 , I'm a Nerd at this
    After you've hit Print SCRN, open up CS5 and go to: File > New (CTRL+N)

    Change the Preset to clipboard and the dimensions should automagically be filled in with the same resolution as your desktop, click OK.

    Once the new image is opened in CS5, hit CTRL and V to paste the contents of the clipboard (what you just filled with Print SCRN) into CS5.
    Last edited by Richard Hall; 24-05-2011 at 6:10pm.
    www.richardhallphotography.com



    Atheism is Myth-understood

  14. #14
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    10 Jul 2010
    Location
    Gold Coast
    Posts
    6,346
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks guys , Well I got this far Now I just have to plan a few things
    Attached Images Attached Images

  15. #15
    Who me?
    Join Date
    02 Sep 2007
    Location
    Tweed Heads
    Posts
    2,749
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    this should be interesting
    Cheers David.

    Canon 40D/EF-S 17-85 mm IS/Kenko Extenson Tubes/Canon EF 50mm F/1.8 II (nifty fifty)
    Sigma 10-20mm 4-5.6 /Sigma 70-200/ Sigma 1.4 teleconverter/ some Conkin filters | Adobe Photoshop CS6



  16. #16
    Member
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2009
    Location
    Northern Beaches, Sydney
    Posts
    2,338
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Screenhunter suggested above will give you a much smaller file size than hitting PrintScrn, as well as giving you the flexibility as to what to select. It's a great little program and until I upgraded to Windows 7 I used it all the time.

  17. #17
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    10 Jul 2010
    Location
    Gold Coast
    Posts
    6,346
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'm on to it now, Don't expect it to be finished today !! I will post it and Adjust things in the Library Sandpit , With Kym's help , Bit of a bloody mission tho

  18. #18
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    10 Jul 2010
    Location
    Gold Coast
    Posts
    6,346
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Done all the screen grabs , Just got to work out how and where to put it , I'll need to adjust some things tho ,I need somewhere where I can keep on editing for a while to get it right ? And to be able to add comments between images , Of which there are 14 !! So far , Help Kym or Rick
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by William; 26-05-2011 at 5:56pm. Reason: Added test mage

  19. #19
    Account Closed
    Join Date
    07 Nov 2010
    Location
    Sapphire Coast
    Posts
    73
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    This is a great free program, have used it heaps.
    Quote Originally Posted by colinbm View Post
    Hi Bill
    Here is a freebie, for when the hang-over clears over. Hair-of-the-dog works well too

    Screen Hunter software
    http://wisdom-soft.com/products/screenhunter_free.htm

    Cheers
    Col

  20. #20
    Ausphotography Addict
    Join Date
    07 May 2010
    Location
    Bruthen, East Gippsland
    Posts
    4,652
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    So. How did you end up doing it William? You seem to have worked it out well.
    I normally use Word for creating the tutorials. You can resize the pictures to what size you want, and place the text on the left, right or below the image as long as you use "Text wrapping" and "Through".
    Well Done.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •