User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  4
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: 60d Exposure compensation question

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    10 Nov 2010
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    595
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    60d Exposure compensation question

    Hello everyone,
    Not sure if I'm understanding this or not.
    When I'm shooting on manual mode on my 60d I understand how to adjust the shutter speed and the aperture bit how do I adjust the exposure compensation? Does the camera just determine the exposure??
    "I press buttons and hope for the best!"
    Check out my Flickr page


  2. #2
    Site Rules Breach - Permanent Ban
    Join Date
    03 Aug 2010
    Location
    Coombabah
    Posts
    1,765
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi Dani
    Can't answer sorry, but will be interested in the answers :-)
    Any pix of the tarts trip
    Col

  3. #3
    Sunrise Chaser
    Join Date
    10 Jul 2010
    Location
    Gold Coast
    Posts
    6,346
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi Danielle, I have a 30D , When you shoot in manual, in a Canon, Exposure Compensation is dissabled , Because your already playing with Shutter and Aperture to get the right Exposure , You dont need Compensation if your already compensating yourself by adjusting to the Histogram or Lightmeter, Thats my take anyway , Hope this helps - Bill
    Last edited by William; 17-05-2011 at 7:36pm.
    Canon : 30D, and sometimes the 5D mkIII , Sigma 10-20, 50mm 1.8, Canon 24-105 f4 L , On loan Sigma 120-400 DG and Canon 17 - 40 f4 L , Cokin Filters




  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    12 Feb 2008
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    7,837
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Exposure compensation has no effect if in manual, it does effect the meter thru the viewfinder but not the exposure
    Darren
    Gear : Nikon Goodness
    Website : http://www.peakactionimages.com
    Please support Precious Hearts
    Constructive Critique of my images always appreciated

  5. #5
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    10 Nov 2010
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    595
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thankyou, I kinda figured as much. Just wasn't sure. When I looked at the screen I had 1/250 and f5.6 but the exp compensation said -3, so I thought oh oh. Mind u, I got some fabulous shots of the full moon and stars last nite.

    @ col, :-P

  6. #6
    Drifter, Racer and Picture Taker
    Join Date
    08 Oct 2010
    Location
    Greenwich
    Posts
    1,708
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    When you are in Manual Exposure mode, the little bar graph that ususally shows your exposure is actually showing you what the difference is between your settings, and what the camera thinks is the correct exposure.
    If the little needle is showing -3, then the camera thinks you are underexposing by 3 stops.
    If the needle is in the + side, then the camera says that you are overexposing.

    Get the camera set up and play with the lens opening or shutter speed, and watch the little needle move appropriately.

    Taking night shots is a good example, because if you set the exposure that the camera thinks is correct, you'll get a shot that looks almost like daylight, whereas you are usually trying to get just the lights, so you do need to underexpose the photo.
    All my photos are taken with recycled pixels.
    Knowledge is knowing that a tomato is a fruit.
    Wisdom, is knowing not to serve it in a fruit salad.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •