User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  1
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Eye-Fi + 1DMkIII - can I make the photo upload to my computer on the fly directly?

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    06 Jul 2010
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    923
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Eye-Fi + 1DMkIII - can I make the photo upload to my computer on the fly directly?

    I am reading up the info related to Eye-Fi card and I like to idea.... but it seems HAS TO HAS a network/lan connection before you can transfer the photo to the computer....

    Just wonder if anyone have used it? My idea is I am taking photo on-site, while it is automatically upload to the computer to Lightroom or something without me worry about it. And I can instantly see the quality of photo taken on my laptop and do my adjustment accordingly.

  2. #2
    Member Adrian Fischer's Avatar
    Join Date
    11 Aug 2009
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    640
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You have to have a local wifi network. You have the idea right. Thats what its for. I will do both jpg and raw but raw is often impracticle because of file size and time taken to upload.
    ______________________________________________

    Adrian Fischer
    Brisbane, Australia

    Gear: Nikon D80, D300, Nikon 35mm f1.8, 50mm f1.8, 85mm f1.8, 105mm f2.5, 18-200 VR, 70-200 VR, Sigma 28-70mm f2.8, Sigma 50-500, Tonkina 12-24 f4, SB-600, various YongNuo Strobes, various umbrellas, 6 x 300w studio flashes, various softboxes, reflectors, stands, transmitters and receivers.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    06 Nov 2010
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    197
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Adrian Fischer View Post
    You have to have a local wifi network. You have the idea right. Thats what its for. I will do both jpg and raw but raw is often impracticle because of file size and time taken to upload.
    I think it depends on the model. I have a first generation Eye-Fi card, and it only uploads JPEGs, not RAW files.
    --=3 In Veritas Lux E=--
    Bodies: Canon EOS 5D Mk II, Canon EOS 550D
    Lenses: EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II USM, EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM, EF 50mm f/1.4 USM
    Strobist: 2 x Speedlite 580EXII, 4 x Yongnuo RF-603 Radio Tranceivers, Yongnuo ST-E2 IR Transmitter
    3 x Manfrotto Light Stands, 2 x Softboxes, 2 x Bounce Brollies
    Tripod: Vanguard Alta Pro 263AT, PH-50 Panhead

  4. #4
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    06 Jul 2010
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    923
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Where/How do you guys get yours? It looks like I have to go thru their official website to get one? No distributor in Australia?

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    06 Nov 2010
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    197
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I got mine before they realised I was in Australia. Their official position is that Eye-Fi cards are/were unsupported overseas, so they will not sell them here. If you want one, you'll need to grey import one, or get a friend to buy one in the USA and send it over here.

  6. #6
    Member Adrian Fischer's Avatar
    Join Date
    11 Aug 2009
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    640
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I dont have one I often shoot tethered using camera control 2 witha a 5 metre usb extension (boosted or some such word...its a special usb cable). I only have a very small studio and find the cable to work well. If you were in a larger studio then maybe the wifi might be ok but the speed of raw over wifi might be a disadvantage. Hopefully someone here will have some real life experience with one and offer it up.

    Google is your friend:
    ebay
    http://cgi.ebay.com.au/Eye-Fi-Connec...item3f08aa7b02
    (am I allowed to do that?)

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    28 Aug 2008
    Location
    Adelaide
    Posts
    1,913
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    In a professional sense I wouldnt be using these cards, as the upload speed is way too slow over wifi for raw files, or even jpegs. Firewire or at least USB2 is my preferred choice.

  8. #8
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    06 Jul 2010
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    923
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    JM, can you please elaborate a little more about 1D MkIII and Firewire/USB2?

    I know it can connect to a Canon's wireless device - but I have been told that is very low in performance and very high in price....

  9. #9
    Member Cheach's Avatar
    Join Date
    14 Sep 2009
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    62
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    you can also get USB - Cat5 extender to extend your USB cable to ~50 meters.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •