User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  0
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: First attempt at HDR

  1. #1
    Member Pat Redmond's Avatar
    Join Date
    05 Jan 2011
    Location
    West Wyalong
    Posts
    59
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    First attempt at HDR

    Hi Guys,
    This is my first attempt at a HDR image. I took the photo at about 6pm. While it was very overcast, the sky was still bright enough to be blown-out when the street was well exposed. I handheld and shot 3 frames (-3, 0, +3) at rapid. Then I merged them.

    Is there a secret to getting them looking as good as the pros?


  2. #2
    Account Closed
    Join Date
    26 Mar 2011
    Location
    melbourne
    Posts
    48
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    +/- 3 is a pretty big jump in exposures, exp. when shooting handheld... what i do.

    1) shoot aperture priorty. & check your shutter speed for your scene. adjust +/- 1 exposures & do some quick math..

    if your aperture is 1/100 sec then your other expsoures will be will = 1/50 for -1 & 1/200 for +1 ..

    also try to keep your ISO as low as possible as HDR rendering introduces alot of grain.

    hope this helps.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    28 Mar 2011
    Location
    Greenwith, South Austalia
    Posts
    332
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    A pretty good attempt for first time and the image looks natural. Nice saturated colours and good detail and no halos or ghosting - very good for handheld.

    I think the secret to HDR is practice. Shoot more and try some different setting in the processing of your image.

    As Pixelwhip says you have used a pretty big jump in your exposures, maybe try shooting more images, say 5 exposures, with only one stop intervals. You don't have to use all the exposures in the processing but it gives you a little more range when processing.

    I look forward to your next attempt.

    Cheers
    Last edited by smylie; 29-03-2011 at 9:53am.

  4. #4
    Member
    Threadstarter
    Pat Redmond's Avatar
    Join Date
    05 Jan 2011
    Location
    West Wyalong
    Posts
    59
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks for the tips guys! My camera (50D) only seems to have an option for bracketing 3 shots, so to do 5 I would need to manually change exposure - which would rule out handheld. Unless there is another trick...?

    I will have a play and upload another photo.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    22 Jan 2011
    Location
    Goolwa
    Posts
    3,777
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Check your camera because I am sure that you can bracket at a lower +/-
    Mine can bracket at -1/3 and +1/3 or -1/2 and +1/2, which is better that a big jump in the exposure times.
    Someone also said that you can take one photo and make copies with different exposures? Then you use those different copies and merge. don't know if that would work or not (I'm still working all this out too!!).
    Monika
    Equipment: Canon 60D, Nikon FE, Nikkor 50mm 1.8 lens, Fancier FT-662A tripod, 18-55mm kit lens, 55-250mm kit lens, 30mm 1.4 Sigma lens, LR4, PS Elements
    Check out my Flickr photos ... http://www.flickr.com/photos/missmonny/
    ... and then you can like me on www.facebook.com/PhotoByMB or see my shop on http://www.redbubble.com/people/msmonny



  6. #6
    Member
    Threadstarter
    Pat Redmond's Avatar
    Join Date
    05 Jan 2011
    Location
    West Wyalong
    Posts
    59
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The camera can definitely bracket at lower than +/- 3-stops. I think it goes in steps of 1/3 of a stop. But it won't bracket 5 shots - only 3. So I could do -1/3, 0, +1/3 but not -2/3, -1/3, 0, 1/3, 2/3.
    I have tried shooting raw (actually I always shoot raw...) and creating 3 differently exposed images. I'm not sure if there is a disadvantage to this? I guess it feels a bit like cheating, but it does make sense.

    Cheers!

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    22 Apr 2009
    Location
    Aspley, Brisbane
    Posts
    26
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You can bracket as many shots as you like if you do it manually.
    James


    flickr | jameslagden.com | Redbubble




    Canon EOS 5D MkII | Canon EOS 30D | Canon EF 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6 L IS USM | Canon EF 50mm f/1.2 L USM | Canon 100mm f/2.8 Macro | Canon EFS 17-85 | 580 EX II

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    02 Feb 2010
    Location
    Sale
    Posts
    717
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi Pat,

    Good to see you trying out new things and your thinking to compensate for the dynamic range of this scene. This scenes range was not that great (could have been controlled in post processing) due to it been overcast. Where HDR does come into play is when the range is a lot greater than the camera or RAW file can be pushed, like a 10-12 Stops. This technique can be applied in night images to days with dark storm clouds and bright sunlight, etc. As long has the light information is there. So one of the secret the pros use are scenes with dark shadows and bright highlights.

    In your image. If the road was bathed in sunlight and the clouds where dark and stormy would have produced a more dramatic image.

    I fell your technique is fine, all you have to do is apply it to the correct situation.

    Good luck
    Jase

    Comments and critique always welcome.

    Flickr

    Stuff Canon 5D MK II, Canon 30d, Canon 24-105L, Canon 100mm Macro, Canon 50mm f/1.8, Sigma 17-70mm

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •