User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  0
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Problem with CF card

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    12 Feb 2008
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    7,837
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Problem with CF card

    Can anyone help ? When I put my cf card in my card reader it won't open the folder and I get a "you need to first format the device" message

    I put back in camera and I can happily view on LCD and I've been able to load files onto via pc the cable

    Whatcha reckon ?
    Darren
    Gear : Nikon Goodness
    Website : http://www.peakactionimages.com
    Please support Precious Hearts
    Constructive Critique of my images always appreciated

  2. #2
    Account Closed Wayne's Avatar
    Join Date
    07 Dec 2009
    Location
    Eastside
    Posts
    1,639
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Files are not on the /root?

    There is a subfolder containing the images that the reader and PC are not seeing?

  3. #3
    In Training MarkChap's Avatar
    Join Date
    09 Jan 2008
    Location
    Widgee, Queensland
    Posts
    2,228
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    We get this occasionally at work.

    I have found that if you format the card all will be good again

    That is if you have copied the files to your computer
    Smoke Alarms Save Lives, Install One Today
    I shoot Canon
    Cheers, Mark


  4. #4
    Moderately Underexposed I @ M's Avatar
    Join Date
    04 May 2007
    Location
    Marlo, Far East Gippsland
    Posts
    4,864
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Do you normally format in the camera Darren?

    I have heard that the problem can occur when you format in the reader / pc, and in all the time we have had Digital Cameras the problem has never occurred and the cards have always been formatted in the camera.
    Andrew
    Nikon, Fuji, Nikkor, Sigma, Tamron, Tokina and too many other bits and pieces to list.



  5. #5
    Who me? dbax's Avatar
    Join Date
    02 Sep 2007
    Location
    Tweed Heads
    Posts
    2,749
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    agree with the above, early on I had a similar problem after formatting the card with the PC, once I reformatted in camera no problems.
    Cheers David.

    Canon 40D/EF-S 17-85 mm IS/Kenko Extenson Tubes/Canon EF 50mm F/1.8 II (nifty fifty)
    Sigma 10-20mm 4-5.6 /Sigma 70-200/ Sigma 1.4 teleconverter/ some Conkin filters | Adobe Photoshop CS6



  6. #6
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    12 Feb 2008
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    7,837
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I always format in camera before each shoot

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    09 Mar 2010
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    445
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    This has happened to me a few times, I think I can still open the files in Bridge rather than Windows explorer
    Cheers
    Emma

    Avoid shooting with a 12 gauge shotgun. Use a Canon instead.

    Canon 5D, Canon 7D, 50mm 1.4, 18-55mm, Tamron 17-50mm f2.8 VC, Sigma 70-200mm f2.8, 580EX Speedlight. Facebook

  8. #8
    Account Closed
    Join Date
    21 Jul 2010
    Location
    Adelaide
    Posts
    422
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I had a cheapie card reader that wasn't good for my cards. They gradually became corrupt in a way that couldn't be fixed by reformatting.

  9. #9
    A royal pain in the bum! arthurking83's Avatar
    Join Date
    04 Jun 2006
    Location
    the worst house, in the best street
    Posts
    7,701
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If you haven't already, have you tried reading the card directly from the camera too?

    Could be a temporary issue with your computer and the card/card reader.
    Also try a computer reboot as another option, or uplug the card reader if via USB and plug it in again(try different ports).

    Have you done any computer updates recently?(what operating system?)
    Nikon D800E, D300, D70s
    {Nikon} -> 50/1.2 : 500/8(CPU'd) : 105/2.8VR Micro : 180/2.8ais : 105mm f/1.8ais : 24mm/2ais
    {Sigma}; ->10-20/4-5.6 : 50/1.4 : 12-24/4.5-5.6II : 150-600mm|S
    {Tamron}; -> 17-50/2.8 : 28-75/2.8 : 70-200/2.8 : 300/2.8 SP MF : 24-70/2.8VC


  10. #10
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    12 Feb 2008
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    7,837
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yeah, tried two different readers on two different pcs

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •