User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  2
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: 16 bit ???

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    01 Dec 2010
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    77
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    16 bit ???

    I've just tried to import a photo into PSE ....... an error message came up along the lines of

    This file contains 16 bit layers and PSE only supports 8 bit .......

    Why has this happened ? Have I inadvertantly changed some setting on the camera to cause this ??

    When flattened ..... the image looks shyte

    The image is several months old and several thousand have been taken since ........ Why is it so ?

    Any help will be appreciated
    Last edited by dkp; 28-02-2011 at 10:00am. Reason: clarification

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    30 Oct 2006
    Location
    Bris Vegas
    Posts
    1,102
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    hmmm

    whats your camera? and what do you usually set it to??

    M
    www.pbase.com/mcphotographics loooots of pictures!
    hmmm Eq list... 1D II, 5D II, 7D, 100-400 LIS F4.5-5.6, 70-200 F2.8L, 135 F2, 85 F1.8, 24-70 F2.8L, 16-35 F2.8L, 420EX, 580EX II x2 ST-E2 Cir polar filters and much much more all in a neat back pack that kills my back!

    Adobe CS5
    Week 16 Sheep Winner
    If you have a question about car / action / sports photography or Canon Cameras PM me...

  3. #3
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    01 Dec 2010
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    77
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi Clubmanmc,
    it's a canon 7D ........ and can ignorantly say that I have no idea of the bit settings on the camera : )
    I tend to shoot jpeg, but for a wee while was shooting RAW whilst doing course work. This stopped, however whilst we were traveling and I reverted to jpeg early on in the trip. Possibly this image was taken pre the revisiting of jpeg files

  4. #4
    Account Closed
    Join Date
    10 Aug 2008
    Location
    Lake Macquarie
    Posts
    1,413
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    using the RAW converter, you can change back to 8 bit........ down the bottom in the middle their is some small type click on it for other options

  5. #5
    Ausphotography Regular agb's Avatar
    Join Date
    15 Sep 2010
    Location
    Cleveland
    Posts
    817
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Shame to have to take the 7D 14 bit data and downgrade it to 8 bit though.

  6. #6
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    01 Dec 2010
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    77
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    What I dont understand is why this image is 16 bit and there fore confusing for PSE ........ and all my other images are not.
    Why did it happen ? ......

    I agree AGB ...... the 8 bit image is poor compared to the 16 bit





  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    30 Oct 2006
    Location
    Bris Vegas
    Posts
    1,102
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I have a 7D and have never had this issue.. i did use PSE8 for a little while...

    not sure how it can really tell the difference to be honest, as the processed jpg, is only 8 bit as thats all that jpeg can be saved in

    only a tiff or a PSD can be 16 (but i could be wrong)

    M

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    30 Oct 2006
    Location
    Bris Vegas
    Posts
    1,102
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    yep i was wrong...

    you can save a file jpg and 16 bit..

    ummm not sure, as if you shot it in camera it would be 8bit, as you shoot SRGB or Adobe RGB both 8 bit

    :S

    sorry

    M

  9. #9
    Administrator ricktas's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    15,127
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Clubmanmc View Post
    yep i was wrong...

    you can save a file jpg and 16 bit..

    ummm not sure, as if you shot it in camera it would be 8bit, as you shoot SRGB or Adobe RGB both 8 bit

    :S

    sorry

    M
    Umm, no you can't. JPG is an 8 bit format, so if you have a 16 bit image (TIF PSD etc) and go 'file save for web' it is automatically converted down to 8 Bit to save in JPG format. If you have a 16 bit image and use File Save As, you will not have the format JPG available to select. You need to go Image>Mode>8Bit first, and then use file save as. The JPG format is only an 8 Bit format.

    Back to the OP, My guess is that somewhere along the way you have saved a file in a different format (PSD, TIF) and that is the file you were trying to open. You can open a JPG (8bit), change the mode to 16 bit or 32 bit, and then save it again as a PSD etc. I reckon somewhere in the past you have done this, even accidentally, and now have the issue that you do. You should therefore have a copy of that same image in JPG format somewhere on your hard-drive as well, if you haven't accidentally deleted it, as the original should still be around. If it was one of your photos from your RAW attempts, then the RAW file will still exist and you can create a new JPG off that.
    "It is one thing to make a picture of what a person looks like, it is another thing to make a portrait of who they are" - Paul Caponigro

    Constructive Critique of my photographs is always appreciated
    Nikon, etc!

    RICK
    My Photography

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    30 Oct 2006
    Location
    Bris Vegas
    Posts
    1,102
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rick

    i was sure of what i said earlier, but went into CS5 and did the above, and was allowed to save it as a 16 bit file...

    but i checked the file size (of both the saved 8bit jpg and the 16bit jpg) and they were exactly the same...

    so i was confused, instead of standing by what i thought was right, i folded

    cheers for correcting me !

    M

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •