User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  0
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Searching for someone who is good with ADOBE photoshop CS5.

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    10 Dec 2010
    Location
    sydney
    Posts
    455
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Searching for someone who is good with ADOBE photoshop CS5.

    I am in the "trial" period of the program seeing if it is worth it.

    I have a couple of questions on how to do things which I am not sure if/how the program can do.

    I've done a bit of looking but to no avail.

    Is someone here a guru with it?
    +===========================================+
    Canon EOS 550D 18-135 (IS) lens 90-300 lens
    +===========================================+

  2. #2
    Administrator ricktas's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    15,209
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Photoshop is a HUGE program, you will not learn it in a few weeks. I have been using it for years and have no idea how some of the features work. If you are looking for some good tutorials, try www.youtube.com and type in what you want. For example "Photoshop sharpening" and watch the videos. You can pause the video and copy the steps in your own photos.
    "It is one thing to make a picture of what a person looks like, it is another thing to make a portrait of who they are" - Paul Caponigro

    Constructive Critique of my photographs is always appreciated
    Nikon, etc!

    RICK
    My Photography

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    12 Feb 2008
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    7,837
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I agree, get Kelbys book too

    I'd actually ditch cs5 and go with elements anyhow
    Darren
    Gear : Nikon Goodness
    Website : http://www.peakactionimages.com
    Please support Precious Hearts
    Constructive Critique of my images always appreciated

  4. #4
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    10 Dec 2010
    Location
    sydney
    Posts
    455
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks. And again I shall say I understand it isn't something I will "pick up" overnight.

    I am trying it for 30 days and want to see if I can get my head around it before parting with money to buy a half baked program which won't do what I want.


    Indulge me with the question here:

    I have a photo. Let's call it "AB" It has A and B in it.
    I am looking for a "function"/way that I can seperate the photo into two layers giving me:
    Layer A
    and
    Layer B
    That way I can do things with Layer A and not change B. Also do things to B and not change A.

    It seems like a pretty simple concept.

    I can take "AB" and make a new layer and do a cut function and get A or B, but NOT both A and B on different layers.

  5. #5
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    10 Dec 2010
    Location
    sydney
    Posts
    455
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Kiwi, thanks.

    Is what I am wanting to do possible in Elements?

  6. #6
    Administrator ricktas's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    15,209
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    anything like you state is possible, but it also isnt a simple thing to do. It's not a matter of click here and separate. Have a look at the Magic Wand tool, it could be what you seek

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    12 Feb 2008
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    7,837
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yip, but i dont have elements but id be staggered if basic masking and layers isn't supported in elements which is your essential issue here

    So would the free program Some use here called Gimp

    With any software you need to start with a basic understanding, get the fundamentals right then undertake continuos learning

    I'm quite happy to admit that I hardly use, let alone totally understand masking and layers and i consider myself quite capable at most things photographic

  8. #8
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    10 Dec 2010
    Location
    sydney
    Posts
    455
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Kiwi,

    Yeah. The only reason I am trying that program is that I got a copy of Elements with my 300D and it was ok.

    Typically it isn't compatible with the newer 550D.

    I am wanting to play with HDR too and I've read that PS is good at going that - with the required update/patch to get the require (there's that word again: REQUIRED) camera raw thingy.

    I am kind of more for having a specific program to do a specific thing and don't like putting all my eggs in one basket but alas with the size of the images now if I can get one program to do most things I want - with a bit of future compatibility - it would make my life a bit easier.

    Also this thing called windoze is not exactly user friendly and some things conflict with others.

  9. #9
    Administrator ricktas's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    15,209
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    for HDR photomatix is a much better program than using CS5, well that's my opinion anyway

  10. #10
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    10 Dec 2010
    Location
    sydney
    Posts
    455
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rick,

    Thanks. I shall keep it in mind. I know I need to keep an open mind with what to use.

    As I said - and fair enough you weren't to know - I had an old version of Elements and so just though I would give it a go with the newer version.


    Shall look at the Magic wand tool too. I was semi-fixated on the lasoo tool. But that was partly because I was going through the examples in a mag I bought.



    Learning all the time.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •