User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  7
Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: help with manual settings - whats wrong!

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    06 May 2010
    Location
    Newcastle
    Posts
    290
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    help with manual settings - whats wrong!

    Was working hard to get the water balloon burst shot. mostly taken 250, f5, tripod remained in same position, used remote shutter. I don't understand why.. if I don't move the tripod or the A does the DoF seem to change (look at the trees). And, forgot to say I am pretty sure the focus was on the balloon.





    Any help appreciated
    Last edited by aurora; 11-02-2011 at 9:18am.
    Nikon D90, Nikkor 50mm, Nikon 18 - 105mm

  2. #2
    In Training MarkChap's Avatar
    Join Date
    09 Jan 2008
    Location
    Widgee,
    Posts
    2,255
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Don't understand what you mean by "didn't move the "A" "

    I don't think your depth of field has changed at all, I think your focus point has changed, certainly in the last 2 focus is more on the trees than the balloon.
    Did you achieve focus on the balloon and then switch to manual focus so that the camera did not try to re-focus as you pressed the remote release ?? I think that is your main problem.

    Also what ISO were you using, I would up the ISO and probably open up to f4 to get a faster shutter speed.
    Smoke Alarms Save Lives, Install One Today
    I shoot Canon
    Cheers, Mark


  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    08 May 2009
    Location
    Buninyong
    Posts
    1,235
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    What Mark said!
    Mic

    Photography is the art of telling stories with light.

    www.michaelgoulding.com

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    10 Jul 2010
    Location
    Gold Coast
    Posts
    6,346
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'd pre focus on something about where the Balloon wil burst , As Mark said up the ISO to get the fast shutter speed , I'd be looking at 1/1000th of a sec to be sure , Maybe that might help
    Canon : 30D, and sometimes the 5D mkIII , Sigma 10-20, 50mm 1.8, Canon 24-105 f4 L , On loan Sigma 120-400 DG and Canon 17 - 40 f4 L , Cokin Filters




  5. #5
    Administrator ricktas's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    15,641
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by William View Post
    I'd pre focus on something about where the Balloon wil burst , As Mark said up the ISO to get the fast shutter speed , I'd be looking at 1/1000th of a sec to be sure , Maybe that might help
    what focus mode are you using. Not just AF or manual focusing, but single point, multi-point etc. When you pre-focus, if you are using autofocus you need to hold the shutter half way down to maintain that focus. As soon as you focus and let go, when you press the shutter (or remote release) button again, the camera will re-focus. I would suggest switching to 100% manua; focusing for this exercise.
    "It is one thing to make a picture of what a person looks like, it is another thing to make a portrait of who they are" - Paul Caponigro

    Constructive Critique of my photographs is always appreciated
    Nikon, etc!

    RICK
    My Photography

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    04 Apr 2007
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    552
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Use manual exposure settings. Focus manually.

    A higher shutter speed will probably help but if you are using flash then you might be stuck with 1/250 anyway. To add further confusion, flashes don't always freeze action either as many flashes have a relatively long pulse, sometimes as slow as 1/125th second at full power.

    Any time you use any auto settings you are allowing the camera to be fooled by what it thinks is the correct setting, such as focusing on the trees in your example. You know that's the wrong focus point but how is the camera suposed to know? That's why it's often best to use manual settings unless there's a specific reason to use an Auto setting.

    JJ
    Last edited by jjphoto; 11-02-2011 at 10:09am.

  7. #7
    Member James T's Avatar
    Join Date
    14 Jan 2010
    Location
    St Kilda
    Posts
    377
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Autofocus is fine if you have it set to back button focus, as using the cable release won't make the camera re-focus. If you have it on the shutter, then switch to manual as said.

    The depth of field is similar in all of them, you've simply focussed on the trees in the later shots. Easy to tell because the trees are sharper than the water, if it was the depth of field increasing from the water backward, then the water would still be sharper than the trees.

    If you want to freeze the action, shoot with flash. Shoot later / indoors when it's darker, this will allow you to use the flash on a lower power (lower power = shorter flash duration = sharper image). The problem you'll find will be timing, it can be done by hand if you're just experimenting but if you want to get consistent results then sound activated triggers are usually the route people go down (really cheap off Ebay and the like).

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    10 Jul 2010
    Location
    Gold Coast
    Posts
    6,346
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by William View Post
    I'd pre focus on something about where the Balloon wil burst , As Mark said up the ISO to get the fast shutter speed , I'd be looking at 1/1000th of a sec to be sure , Maybe that might help
    Sorry , I should have said Pre-Focus on something , Once you've got focus , Switch the lens to manual Focus , Have fun exprimenting - Bill

  9. #9
    Account Closed
    Join Date
    10 Aug 2008
    Location
    Lake Macquarie
    Posts
    1,413
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    ....... the balloon moved not your point of focus....... you also need a higher shutter speed so increase your ISO to say 500, this will help, and shoot on manual......

    the small square inside the camera viewer must be on your point of focus, if this moves, the camera will focus on the background, so shoot all manual.......

    if the balloon moves how are you going to focus ?

    The balloon must be secure top and bottom to reduce movement when punctured. You should get the desired effect

  10. #10
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    06 May 2010
    Location
    Newcastle
    Posts
    290
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks everyone for the comments, they have been very helpful. I will try again. I didn't use a flash, just relied on the daylight. From what everyone has said I need to switch to manual mode (I had it on AF) and I need to up the ISO. I am starting to 'get it'. I realise that I also had the camera on continuous shooting and it was probably trying to refocus between each shot (just guessing this, I'll have to check the manual to see if it does this or if it just focus on the first shot and continues?).

    Will get out the balloons tomorrow morning when the light is good.

  11. #11
    Member James T's Avatar
    Join Date
    14 Jan 2010
    Location
    St Kilda
    Posts
    377
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If you don't have a flash. Try to find somewhere with strong directional light, ie from the side. This should give you a decent shutter speed (still not fast enough to truly 'freeze' the water though) and afford you some separation from a darker, less distracting background.

  12. #12
    Member itybitypieces's Avatar
    Join Date
    03 Jan 2011
    Location
    newcastle
    Posts
    61
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    just had a look at your exif data for your photos, couldnt get the data for the first shot but photo #2 is 1/200th of a sec with f/5 ISO of 200 photo #3 is 1/250th of a sec with f/6.3 and ISO of 200
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC] K100d super 18-50mm sigma kit lens

  13. #13
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    06 May 2010
    Location
    Newcastle
    Posts
    290
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by itybitypieces View Post
    just had a look at your exif data for your photos, couldnt get the data for the first shot but photo #2 is 1/200th of a sec with f/5 ISO of 200 photo #3 is 1/250th of a sec with f/6.3 and ISO of 200
    Thanks itybity... but...are you saying speed is to slow, and iso needs to be up???

  14. #14
    Member itybitypieces's Avatar
    Join Date
    03 Jan 2011
    Location
    newcastle
    Posts
    61
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    i think yes you do need a faster shutter speed

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •