User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  1
Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Advice on a new PC

  1. #1
    Ausphotography Regular
    Join Date
    19 Jan 2007
    Location
    Perth, Straya
    Posts
    1,232
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Advice on a new PC

    OK. So I've decided to upgrade my 6yo 3GHz Pentium IV machine which just doesn't manage the new file sizes produced from my 7D. Lightroom 3.0 is just chugging along (taking a good 30sec to load an image) and using Nik software or generating HDR is not only slow, but often causes an unrecoverable error.

    I have next week off to purchase the parts and put it together, there is the possibility of purchasing parts online. I've built quite a few PC's in the past so that technical are is not much of a problem.

    To narrow things down a bit I'm hoping others on AP will assist on what might be required for rather quick photographic processing.

    Things I won't need: Monitor, Mouse/keyboard and perhaps a DVD RW.
    "Nature photography is about choosing a location, crawling through dirt, being bitten by insects and occasionally taking a great image". - Wayne Eddy.

    Canon 5D MkIII, Canon 7D, 17-40mm f/4L,
    24-105mm f/4L
    + Canon 70-200mm f/2.8L IS +400mm f/5.6L + Canon 1.4xTC + Canon 100 EF f2.8 USM + 430-EX


  2. #2
    Ausphotography Addict
    Join Date
    07 May 2010
    Location
    Bruthen, East Gippsland
    Posts
    4,652
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    My only advice is, don't get the lastest and greatest CPU, go back to what was the latest greatest last month. You will save $100's. This will allow you extra cash for a better video card.
    Make sure that the motherboard can take heaps of RAM. USB 2.0 - 3.0. Oh, and make sure the power supply has heaps of power.
    Geoff
    Honesty is best policy.
    CC is always welcome
    Nikon D3000 ... Nikon D90... Nikon D700 Various lenses, Home studio equipment and all the associated stuff
    Flickr

  3. #3
    Still in the Circle of Confusion Cage's Avatar
    Join Date
    25 May 2010
    Location
    Hunter Valley
    Posts
    5,351
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I guess you've looked at the upgrade route as opposed to a rebuild?

    As Geoff said, look at what was the latest and greatest yesterday. The PSU is often overlooked as causing bottlenecks.

    I'd start by looking at my motherboard's specs and seeing how far you can push on that platform. A big bottleneck in PP is memory. I'm running 4gb @ 1066 and I'm just about to double it. Also you probably need a minimum of 512MB of memory on your video card, more is better.

    I don't know how savvy you are with various components, but I'm sure if you posted a list of your current set-up, with model nos. for your mobo, video card and RAM, you would get some useful suggestions.
    Cheers
    Kev

    D600 : D7200 and too much stuff to list

  4. #4
    Ausphotography Regular
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    19 Jan 2007
    Location
    Perth, Straya
    Posts
    1,232
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by geoffsta View Post
    My only advice is, don't get the lastest and greatest CPU, go back to what was the latest greatest last month. You will save $100's. This will allow you extra cash for a better video card.
    Thats good advice for alll.

    In the past I have always used the same tactic.

  5. #5
    Ausphotography Addict
    Join Date
    07 May 2010
    Location
    Bruthen, East Gippsland
    Posts
    4,652
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Do a google for "All Needs Computers". They are in WA. The delivery is very quick, and the prices are good. you could get a decent MB & CPU for around $200. They have a special on a 2tb hard drive for $99. Ram is pretty cheap as well.

  6. #6
    Member maximus1964's Avatar
    Join Date
    23 Oct 2010
    Location
    Beaconsfield
    Posts
    5
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Sounds like solid advice. Get a large video card, heaps of RAM, a good PSU and a high end CPU and you'll be fine. Make sure you have a decent monitor too

  7. #7
    Ausphotography Regular
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    19 Jan 2007
    Location
    Perth, Straya
    Posts
    1,232
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by maximus1964 View Post
    Sounds like solid advice. Get a large video card, heaps of RAM, a good PSU and a high end CPU and you'll be fine. Make sure you have a decent monitor too
    So what exactly is heaps of RAM these days?

    I'm running 2 Gig (that's all the board will take). .

    From memory, min requ for LR 3.0 is 2Gig & I think CS5 is about the same.

    I already have a 19" LCD which does the job for now, but something better will be on the horiizon.

  8. #8
    A. P's Culinary Indiscriminant mongo's Avatar
    Join Date
    21 Mar 2009
    Location
    Cronulla, Sydney
    Posts
    8,610
    Mentioned
    12 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Mongo is thinking of doing the same at the moment but is strongly considering the move to a Mac finally. However, this is a big decision and learning curve not to mention expense. Looked into it but not yet decided. Not sure that what Mongo said will be helpful to you Wayne - just more to confuse you. Stick to your current upgrade excercise it will probably be the smoothest way to go. Get the fastest CPUs you can manage ( i 7 ??), lots of fast ram and at least a 1gb dedicated graphics card. Make sure all the bits are compatible too. Good luck.
    Nikon and Pentax user



  9. #9
    It's all about the Light!
    Tech Admin
    Kym's Avatar
    Join Date
    15 Jun 2008
    Location
    Modbury, Adelaide
    Posts
    9,641
    Mentioned
    18 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    http://whirlpool.net.au/wiki/rmp_sg_whirlpoolpcs as a start.

    Then get it cheap from MSY
    regards, Kym Gallery Honest & Direct Constructive Critique Appreciated! ©
    Digital & film, Bits of glass covering 10mm to 500mm, and other stuff



  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    22 Apr 2010
    Location
    Launceston
    Posts
    358
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by enduro View Post
    So what exactly is heaps of RAM these days?

    I'm running 2 Gig (that's all the board will take). .

    From memory, min requ for LR 3.0 is 2Gig & I think CS5 is about the same..
    I just changed out my old PC for s new too - re the RAM I think if you are running a 32bit OS 3Gb is the most you can use no matter how much you put in, go to a 64bit OS and it will use a great deal more, I have 8Gb in mine.
    Also when when the SW manufacturer says you need 1Gb or 2Gb etc that's a minimum not an Ideal. Microsoft for example are notorious for quoting minimum RAM amounts that sure the OS will run on, but it will run abysmally slow at that level.
    My Goal in life is to be as good a person as my dog thinks I am

  11. #11
    A. P's Culinary Indiscriminant mongo's Avatar
    Join Date
    21 Mar 2009
    Location
    Cronulla, Sydney
    Posts
    8,610
    Mentioned
    12 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by enduro View Post
    So what exactly is heaps of RAM these days? .
    Mongo would say, 4gb min.
    Mrs Mongo has 8gb ram in her new machine

  12. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    08 Jan 2009
    Location
    Gold Coast, Queensland
    Posts
    63
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    what is your budget for the new setup/upgrade?

    if it's under $1,000 I can help you with a budget AMD setup that will be amazing.
    www.comptephoto.tumblr.com
    www.flickr.com/photos/jordancompte/


    Canon EOS 7D| Tokina 10-17 f/3.5-5.6| Canon 24-105 F/4 L
    Canon 580 EX II | Canon 430 EX II | Canon ST-E2|
    Photoshop CS5 | Lightroom 3|

  13. #13
    Ausphotography Regular
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    19 Jan 2007
    Location
    Perth, Straya
    Posts
    1,232
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Jordan Compte View Post
    what is your budget for the new setup/upgrade?

    if it's under $1,000 I can help you with a budget AMD setup that will be amazing.
    Looking at under 1K. THis should be easily managable given all I need is what's going in the box. I've never spent more than $800 on a PC (built them myself) and they tend to be very good for about 5 years.

    What AMD components are you considering.

    I'll be needing to consider if I will be heading into the 64bit area too ...

  14. #14
    Member
    Join Date
    26 Nov 2008
    Location
    Booval, Qld (near Ipswich)
    Posts
    2,018
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    My son recently built this for another AP member. Goes like a rocket
    Asus P6X58D-E motherboard, Zotac 8400GS 512Mb GDDR2 video card, Corsair Force Series 120GB solid state drive, 6Gb Corsair CMX6GX3M3A1600C9 Ram, and an Intel CPU i7-950. If your power supply isn't big enough then Cosair VX-550 ATX.

    Should come in close to $1K depending where you get it from. The SSD will really make this thing fly especially if managed correctly.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •