User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  0
Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: flash shadow

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    11 Oct 2010
    Location
    perth
    Posts
    89
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    flash shadow

    i was taking a few shots of this lizard the other night using a 580ex2 flash in one hand and my camera in the other, half the shots turned out ok and the other half had half of black strip on them.
    does any one know what could be happening here?
    i checked to make sure it was not a object in front of the flash and camera, the only thing i can think is it is one of my shutters.
    any help would be good..
    cheers warhammer.......
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    12 Feb 2008
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    7,837
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    your shutter speed was higher than your maximum flash sync speed
    Darren
    Gear : Nikon Goodness
    Website : http://www.peakactionimages.com
    Please support Precious Hearts
    Constructive Critique of my images always appreciated

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    02 Jul 2008
    Location
    Launceston, TAS
    Posts
    335
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by kiwi View Post
    your shutter speed was higher than your maximum flash sync speed
    This.

    EXIF says SS was 1/500.
    Adam.


    AGSPhotos.com

    Using Nikon & PS CS5.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    12 Feb 2008
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    7,837
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    ...and the 7d's maximum flash sync speed is 1/250s, so effectively the shutter is frozen by the flash as it works

    Im not familar whether Canon camera match the brilliance of Nikon allowing you to have a high speed flash sync

  5. #5
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    11 Oct 2010
    Location
    perth
    Posts
    89
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    thanx for the info kiwi and blwnhr.
    so i guess that means that no matter what the situation i cant go over 1/250s yer.....?

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    12 Feb 2008
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    7,837
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Not necessarily, the 7d might have a feature called high speed sync, read your manual or call a friend here

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    14 Jul 2010
    Location
    Bunbury
    Posts
    112
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    warhammer,

    What was said above is almost definately the case. From your exif, it says there was no flash fire. I assume you are getting off-camera using a third party product? If you want to high speed sync, i am pretty sure you will need a proper sync cord (don't quote me on that though).

    You will need to set high speed sync in the 580exII. Check out page 17 of the manual.

  8. #8
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    11 Oct 2010
    Location
    perth
    Posts
    89
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    cheers all, i was using pocket wizards plus 2. and it says 1/250 was max for focal plane shutters and 1/500 for leaf shutters, im guessing my 7D is focal plane shutter.
    its all a learning curve, maybe i should read manuals in more detail more often though....

    how do you read exif, were is it on here..?

  9. #9
    In Training MarkChap's Avatar
    Join Date
    09 Jan 2008
    Location
    Widgee, Queensland
    Posts
    2,234
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Warhammer,
    Using pocket wizards, or any other non TTL, flash trigger on the 7D will only allow a maximum of 1/250 sync speed, if you use the built in speedlite controller on the 7D, you can still only achieve 1/250, but if you use a 580EXII on camera as a master and another Canon flash off camera as a remote, you can then achieve high speed sync, up to the max shutter speed of 1/8000

    And yes your 7D has a focal plane shutter
    Smoke Alarms Save Lives, Install One Today
    I shoot Canon
    Cheers, Mark


  10. #10
    Ausphotography Regular Boo53's Avatar
    Join Date
    08 Mar 2010
    Location
    Seymour
    Posts
    1,972
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by warhammer View Post
    how do you read exif, were is it on here..?
    Warhammer

    you can get an add-on for firefox to read exif https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/3905/

  11. #11
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    11 Oct 2010
    Location
    perth
    Posts
    89
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    cheers markchap and boo53..
    im getting a new mac next week so i will put that on the list of must have stuff installed.

  12. #12
    Member jeffde's Avatar
    Join Date
    19 Nov 2006
    Location
    Central West NSW
    Posts
    509
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi

    The high sync speed is on the flash - press the flash / H button until fl;ash symbol / H appears next to ETTL
    The set your sperture - Then you shutter speed can be more than 1/250 th sec.
    Google - 580ex high speed sync - for more info...
    Jeff - Jeff D Photography
    Canon -
    http://jeffdphoto.ifp3.com/
    www.jeffdphotography.com.au


  13. #13
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    11 Oct 2010
    Location
    perth
    Posts
    89
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    cheers jeffde...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •